We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, this place is REALLY good”
Review of Los Andes

Los Andes
Ranked #2 of 810 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow, this place is REALLY good”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The portions are enormous, the wife's cup of soup is larger than most bowls. There is enough rice , fries on each dish to feed a family. In fact they should cut down the portion and tell you you can ask for more. And then everything tasted superb. The steak I had was incredibly tender. Tongue was extremely well done. Ceviche was fresh, a little too hot for my taste perhaps, but excellent. Too bad there's nothing like this back home in Chicago.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wrx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    187
    29
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbellville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great flavours, huge portions, nice people”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Los Andes was recommended to us, and we were not disappointed.
We did have to wait for a table, but sat at the bar and had a great time chatting with the bartender, and enjoyed a drink.
The food is flavourful and the portions are generous.
Try the stuffed mushroom app - may be the best I've ever had!
Prices are reasonable too.
Definitely worth a visit, although I was told it maybe isn't in a part of town you want to wander around in.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RNHCville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a Trip”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Thank goodness I have friends 15 minutes from this restaurant. When I drive the 300 miles to RI to visit I have one solid requirement - We eat at Los Andes!
I have eaten in the dining room and take out and either ranks as the best meals I have eaten. Get the Ceviche and the beef heart as apps they are phenomenal. The seafood is incredibly fresh. The Jambalaya special is beyond good. The lobster paella is a must eat. Their grilled meat for two dinners are so awe inspiring I had to order one just for me. I plan on eating here as long as my RI friends can stand me or until I can't make the drive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Five star in the barrio ”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

OMG! Phenomenal restaurant in the neighborhood. All the great reviews (you read) multiplied! Great band. Seriously! Does it get better? The mushrooms, the chicken, the soup, the whipped potatoes, the calamari...damn! If you have one place to go on your own in Providence, take uber to the barrio! The owner will be there and make you write an even better review...were that possible.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently goooooood!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Food is always delicious at this restaurant. Drinks too. Everyone is friendly and service is very good. If you are going with a party of more than two,I suggest make reservations. It is usually very busy

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria122805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Andes also viewed

 

Been to Los Andes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing