We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but annoying server.”

Cook & Brown Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Cook & Brown Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #200 of 797 Restaurants in Providence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hope
Cross street: North St
Transit: RIPTA Bus 42. The bus runs to and from Kennedy Plaza in downtown Providence and stops just steps from our doorstep.
Description: Cook & Brown Public House is a modern, New England inspired version of a European Gastropub. This translates to a restaurant with food that is rustic in nature yet refined in technique, and service that is casual and friendly while still maintaining a high level of professionalism and polish. Cook and Brown seats 50-55 people including the bar, which acts more as a dining counter for single diners or those guests who wish for a more casual dining experience.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
241 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good food, but annoying server.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our friends had heard good things about this place, so we went with them on a Saturday evening. It's a relatively small joint, but nicely decorated in a funky industrial-chic type look.

We were given 2 menus: the regular and the tasting menu. The tasting menu was $50, or $75 with pairings, and sounded fairly good but not great (donuts for dessert?!). So we all chose from the regular menu.

The rolls and butter brought to the table were excellent. I had the hake, which came with mussels and was absolutely scrumptious! My wife had the ricotta gnocchi, which were very rich and delicious. The wine list by the glass was rather expensive, but they had an interesting list of unusual craft beers at reasonable prices - the one I got (sorry, can't remember the name right now) was a perfect match for my meal. And none of us ordered dessert since we were returning to my place afterwards for some home-made brownies!

The only unpleasant aspect of our meal was our server, who annoyingly went on and on trying to push things on us: the tasting menu, extra drinks, dessert, etc. She had an annoying way of speaking and spoke way too much - a place like this should be more careful with the help they hire.

All in all, we appreciated the innovative flavors served at Cook & Brown and would go back again for a splurgy night out, but would definitely hope for a different server!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Providence_RITom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a singular trip to Providence, best in New England”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Once again, simply wonderful. Whenever we are in Providence, or for that matter New England, we stop at C&B. We have had several simply magical evenings here. Chef Bolin never disappoints, nor does the restaurant. Cocktails were inspired, a great mix of sweet and bitter across the flavor spectrum. Beer menu excellent, as is the wine list. Chef Bolin cooked for us off menu - highlight was the whole miso butter Giannone Chicken served in a cast iron skillet next to a Hen of the Woods Mushroom (same size as the chicken), foraged that morning, over whole potatoes and skin on garlic with rosemary. OUTSTANDING. The smoked swordfish course was another favorite. The Barolo Chinato Cocchi wine pairing with dessert was out of this world, and a great surprise to find on the menu. 5 stars. On previous visits we've enjoyed the head of a 40 lb sea bass with siracha and flash fried shallots; savory granola (should be sold by the bag); and amazing cod fritter pasta with seafood. The chef and staff work well together; some staff have gone on to their own ventures. The only improvement could be made with the knowledge of the staff. When asking questions they don't seem to know alot off the top of their heads, but need to go and ask. Definitely not an issue, but can take up some time if you have alot of questions. Do not be afraid to speak up; this is a Chef who wants to know your likes and dislikes, and also enjoys having fun in the kitchen. Over several years now and multiple visits, Cook & Brown is consistent in terms of taste, quality, and service. A real winner. We sometimes talk about moving to Providence just to be able to eat here more frequently.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Friday night escape”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

After looking on line for a restaurant with an unique menu, that offered fresh and seasonal fare, we came across Cook & Brown. From the moment you walk in the door person greets you warmly, and you just get the feeling that you are going to be taken care of for the evening. We arrived a little early, so we sat at the bar. The bartenders were informative and friendly, explaining drinks they were making. One of the party had a garlic allergy, and the server worked hand in hand with the kitchen, coming up with some alternatives that were nothing but perfert. I would definitely highly recommend Cook and Brown.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good, but....”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is a very good restaurant in a serious restaurant city...2 couples - they recommended the tasting menu - which we did with wine....pricey and the men hated it. Not enough food - too frou-frou for the guys. The women loved it. The men should have gotten regular entrees- they would have been much happier. Overall the food was delicious and the wine pairings were really nice including the dessert cocktail....

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dandfbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly overrated”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Maybe if I was into the cocktail scene, I would sit at the bar and not care about the full-blown dining room experience. But, that is not the case, so I care about the dining room experience. The tables and chairs are not particularly comfortable. Tables are relatively crammed together. I was with 2 others and we split 1 very good salad, one OK creamed soup (you and I can make a lovely pureed squash soup at our houses) and 3 bad or mediocre entrees. One entree was sent back and after tasting the other 2 at the table, and seeing how mediocre they were (do the cooks use any seasoning BUT salt???), we never replaced the 3rd. Dessert was a trio of creme brulee..."meh".

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank evect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook & Brown Public House also viewed

 

Been to Cook & Brown Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing