We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average...for averaged sized people.”
Review of Al Forno

Al Forno
Ranked #13 of 800 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fox Point
Description: telephone #401-273-9760Fodor's choice star rating
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just average...for averaged sized people.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

For averaged sized people I say because if your over 5'5" and decide to wear heels, it can be a bit uncomfortable, so sit at the end of the table. Nice atmosphere but tables are close, overall food was average but pizza was amazing so I gave it a 4 rating. However, a bit pricey for value comparison. Probably first and last time there, limited menu for food and drinks, not for a picky eater!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Female T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    95
    46
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
stonington ct
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Back again after a few years, still good”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stopped on our way thru RI, at 5:30, the dining room full! Sat at bar, great bartender...good Gibson.... The zucchini flowers appetizer was terrific, light Ricotta filling and delicious tempora batter with Pomodoro sauce. The clams Al Forno were also wonderful. We shared the pepperoni pizza...the pepperoni was really delicious, but too much olive oil on the pizza crust..making the entire pizza too oily and the crust not crisp, but soft and a bit soggy....I was disappointed in that...but in all fairness...I am not a big pepperoni pizza fan!
sauce

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmrxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Glad we made the trek”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

When a restaurant gets praised in the food and travel press, it's sometimes tough to live up to the hype. But Al Forno was as special as we had hoped it would be. The service was friendly and efficient, but nicely paced. The famous pizzas -- we got the spicy Margherita pizza -- was very different than you usually find in New England, super thin with light sauce and cheese and a perfectly charred crust. The rustic shape is fun too -- I'm guessing no two pizzas ever look alike. We asked our server for recommendations and she suggested the deconstructed ("Cheaters") lasagna with ribeye meatballs. Wow! Handmade pasta, luscious sauce and the most tender little meatballs. The wine list is terrific and very reasonably priced, with excellent by-the-glass options. If we lived closed I'm guessing we would be at Al Forno weekly.

I'm reserving one star until we've had a chance to try more menu items -- update to follow.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sabrinayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A. East Coast
Level Contributor
168 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“It Starts with the Address”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

What might otherwise be a better than average restaurant is diminished by many small faults. It starts with its address. On its web site, it is listed as being on South Main St. It is and there's a sign on the building but that's the Kitchen entrance. No guidance to go around two blocks to get to the the parking lot and rather obscure entrance. No signage. Even the entrance doesn't look like the entrance.
Opens at 5 with no reservations. Arrive 5 minutes early, wait outside. Meeting someone else, no problem, just wait outside until they arrive. We'll seat you then.
The food was good the service excellent but they need to work on the details. Don't try to find it in the dark. You'll end up in the kitchen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JackRabbit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza anywhere in the world!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have been eating at Al Forno for years, for special occasions and 'just because.' Food has been hearty and creative. Service has been wonderful and atmosphere is bustling.

Because they don't take reservations, being seated in a timely manner can sometimes be a challenge, especially later in the evening. Other than that, always a wonderful experience.

And, finally, the marguerita pizza is the best I've had. Anywhere. Always so crisp and delicious, with a very thin, grilled crust. Pizza anywhere else just doesn't compare.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Forno also viewed

 

Been to Al Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing