We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Providence Marriott Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Providence(Providence)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
$185
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Providence Hotel(Providence)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
$239
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Providence Biltmore(Providence)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dean Hotel(Providence)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dolce Villa(Providence)
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,649)
Filter reviews
1,649 results
Traveler rating
892
434
199
79
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
434
199
79
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolfree parkingbluefin grillethe concierge loungebluefishshuttle servicefront desk staffbusiness meetingthis past weekendthe entire staffupon checkbrown universitynew englandfitness centerfederal hillrhode islandaqua
Filter
Updating list...
1,512 - 1,517 of 1,649 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Driving to this hotel did not leave me with great expectations as the roads in are lined with less desireable neighborhoods. However, once arriving to the hotel - it was like arriving to another world. From almost stepping out of the car - we were greeted with a genuine smile and warm words from anyone who had on a Marriott uniform. The front desk staff was very professional and helpful - again everyone seemed happy to be working and happy we were there for a visit. The room was exceptionally clean - we did not use the pool or any other public amenities, but walking through the hotel the pool was neat to look at (indoor / outdoor). I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. It was quiet - the room large and free parking in downtown Providence - what more could a traveler ask for!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anselsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 21, 2010

Thank you for choosing the Providence Marriott Downtown. We also thank you for your positive feedback. We strive to create memorable experiences for our guests and to earn their trust and loyalty. We will share your comments with our staff in an effort to provide the best service in Providence. Hope to see you again soon! Autumn is a beautiful time of year to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Went for a trip with family to bring back my nephew to school this hotel was conveniently located to the school. Staff were very gracious and accommodations were top notch!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regencyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 9, 2010

Thank you for choosing the Providence Marriott Downtown. We're so glad you had a great stay with us. We appreciate your comments and share them with our staff so we can continue to deliver exceptional guest experiences. We hope that you choose us again when you are visiting your nephew in Providence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

the city of providence is fairly empty on a saturday morning. after a long tedious drive on
I 95, we were warmly welcomed at the front desk. the parking was free on weekends- a pleasant surprise. the beds were wonderfully soft and the pillows were abundant. nice amenities in the bathroom were special, and 2 bottles of water as well as room coffee and tea were great.
we had planned on visiting the risd art museum, but it was closed for august, so we left earlier than planned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hisim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 8, 2010

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Providence Marriott Downtown. We're so pleased to hear that you had such a great experience at our hotel. Your feedback is important to us and we share all guest comments with our staff so we can continue to deliver the best service possible. Come visit us this autumn - the RISD Museum is open and our complimentary shuttle can take you there. We would be happy to help you with these arrangements. Hope to see you soon and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had a gift certificate for the Capital Grill and planned to make a special night with dinner and Fire Water activities along the canal. The Mariott Downtown was a great location for us. We arrived about 11 a.m. - usually too early to check-in, however, our room was ready and we were able to get setttled in. Receptionist was very pleasant and professional. We also booked the courtesy shuttle for a ride to the restaurant - only 5 min. The driver was very nice in making sure we knew how to walk from the restaurant to the canal and offered us his card to call for a pick-up later that night. Since it was such a beautiful night we walked back. It was good that we booked this early. We love to walk when we visit a city we don't know well. We were able to walk (about 20 min.) to the huge shopping mall. There was a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool that unfortunately we didn't have time to use. Our room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable and quite. We travel quite a bit and appreciate a good mattress and nice bedding when away from home. If we have an opportunity to go back to Providence we will stay at the Marriott Downtown again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathylovesseashells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 8, 2010

Thank you for choosing the Providence Marriott Downtown. It's great to hear you had such a wonderful experience and found the services our hotel provides helpful. We hope you return to our hotel soon. Autumn is a beautiful time of year to visit Providence. We appreciate your feedback and intend to share your comments with our staff. Safe travels and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Well this hotel, as other reviewers have said, is not exaclty downtown but it is a nice stroll to downtown so that didn't bother us. The lobby area looks worn out- crumpled pillows, stains on the walls, no flowers or plants to freshen it up... The elevators in our tower (B) smelled pretty bad- they could use some air freshener. The hallways are old and probably haven't been renovated since the hotel opened. The room was recently renovated in the generic marriott style which was absolutely fine. We had a nice view towards the capitol. The pools were great, although there was a wedding reception on the patio both nights we stayed which made it slightly uncomfortable. The concierge was very helpful.
The major problem: When we arrived around 2, we requested a cot in the room, and they said they would bring it up. When we returned to the room again, and there was no cot, we requested one again. Around 7, when we still hadn't recieved one, we found an unused one on the third floor and asked if we could take it, but we were promised that they would bring one up before bedtime. Around 10:30, we still had no cot, so we went down to the front desk and finally one woman came up with a bed and apologized, she said she was the only one working and that's why it took so long. Presumably, the hotel staff were overseeing the weddings and neglecting the other guests, which is unacceptable when paying almost $200 per night. the walls are pretty thin and since the hotel was pretty full there was noise from neighboring rooms early in the morning.
The next day, our room was skipped over from the housekeeping staff. Around four pm, we had to request housekeeping service from the front desk. Later, we called Marriott customer service and they gave us one night free, so that was a good outcome from the story. We might stay again assuming there were no weddings and we got a good rate, although we would most likely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 6, 2010

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Providence Marriott Downtown. Our hotel team appreciates your comments and utilizes them as a training tool to assist our team in improving performance. It is our goal to deliver all that we promise to our guests. The amount of time you had to wait for delivery of your requested cot is not acceptable to us and we apologize that you felt as if our staff were concentrating their efforts towards other guests. We want all our guests to feel valued and appreciated. We hope that you visit again soon and give us a chance to prove that you are receiving the best service in Providence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews