We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,879)
Filter reviews
1,879 results
Traveler rating
1,034
478
219
94
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,034
478
219
94
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool bluefin grille free parking front desk the concierge lounge bluefish shuttle service business meeting the entire staff upon check brown university rhode island fitness center federal hill aqua jack downtown
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 1,879 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We just had our wedding there on July 21st (2018) and we were blown away by how great Nicole (our wedding coordinator at the Marriott) was. She guided us through all the ups and downs of planning a wedding there, and even helped us jump a few hurdles we hadn't expected. The wedding suite was lovely and spacious, and both our ceremony and reception rooms were perfect. On the day of the wedding, Nicole, Jack and Zack kept us at ease with their attention to detail and their gentle (and much needed) humor.

We had considered a number of other hotels in the area for our special day, and visited the major chains, but the Marriott Downtown was our easy first choice. Ample parking for our guests, easy to work with room blocks for our event, and a super friendly staff that always seemed eager to bend over backwards for our needs; from Nicole our coordinator, all the way to the front desk clerks and bellhops. And an extra thanks to our first contact there, Donna, who's good nature made our initial choice that much easier.

We highly recommend the Providence Marriott Downtown for your special day, or even a regular day. I know next time we need a hotel in the Providence area, there is only one call to make.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear Sam S,
Congratulations on your recent wedding!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience. Nicole, Jack and Zack will all be recognized for their amazing service and attention to detail. We are so grateful that of all the choices you have in the area for your wedding that you chose the Providence Marriott Downtown. We hope you had a wonderful honeymoon and we look forward to working with you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

The pool and bar area are amazing! Comfy seating and a firepit. The rooms were comfortable fpr a family of 4. We would have preferred queen sized beds vs. doubles but still comfortable. Breakfast was not included. We ordered room service and it was delicious. Close to the mall and Capitol. The hotel was large enough to host all 3 of our softball teams and their families while we were in the area for New England's Finest tournament.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear Patricia C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We also appreciate that you and your team members chose the Providence Marriott Downtown. We're so glad you enjoyed our indoor and outdoor connecting pools and our poolside lounge and event venue, AQUA. Our Fresh Bites room service is great and we're so please that you and your family enjoyed it. We hope you and your family can visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communciations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We stayed for 2 nights.The hotel/rooms were very clean.Even the corners of the hallway carpets.The weather was beautiful.We loved the indoor/outdoor pool.The fire pits were amazing the outdoor set up was warm and inviting.There was live music ALL weekend long.We had the most AMAZING waitress outside by the pool.Thank you Savannah for a wonderful experience. I had called the front desk because I had lost my credit card by the pool and didn't realize it till the next morning and Savannah had found it and turned it into the front desk (thank goodness).Also I had called the front desk to check about the check out time and had told the front desk how wonderful ALL the staff had been and that I had a fantastic birthday weekend. To my surprise the front desk sent up a full size bottle of champagne,a craft of orange juice and a piece of chocolate cheese cake that said happy birthday I have stayed at a few Marriott in the Rhode island area this by far was the BEST one .I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room tip: very close to Water Fire and downtown
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Laura c,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your birthday celebration experience with us. We are just thrilled that you had such an awesome birthday. We have recognized Savannah for her super star service. We are so happy that you had such a great time at AQUA, Providence's only poolside lounge and event venue. We have weekly live music all summer long so be sure to check our website or FB for more info. Thank you for choosing the Providence Marriott Downtown as your birthday celebration destination!
Best regards,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Although the property is older the people were great. Also the shuttle service takes you everywhere in greater Providence at no charge. You never should rent a car. The ferry even takes you to Newport for $10 each round trip!

We loved our 5 day stay.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dominick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear Dominick S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled that you found our complimentary shuttle service to be so helpful in getting around Providence. The Newport Providence Ferry is awesome and we highly recommend it. Our shuttle takes you right to the ferry landing. We appreciate your kind words about our extraordinary staff. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

I am a frequent traveler and pay attention to the details, so a 5 star review is certainly not the norm for my hotel ratings,

I look for all the things that are not usually up to par:
Air Conditioner, clean room, concierge lounge, bar, restaurant / food, breakfast, room service, etc.

All of these things turned out to be great. The room service was incredible with 24 hours service and even reasonably priced alcohol available. They have both indoor and outdoor pools and a bar by the pool as well. The breakfast buffet was wonderful (I got it free as a platinum), as well as all other food I ate while there. The staff was nice and attentive.

The surprise to me was the quality of the little things. The towels and linens all smelled very fresh (pet peeve) and the room service menu was huge compared to other places I have been in the past, I will be staying there on my next visit for sure.

Room tip: get rooms away from the elevator to avoid hallway noise
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Goodtime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear Goodtime G,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations. Our indoor and outdoor connecting pools are awesome and the reason why we were recently selected as one of the "swankiest" pools in the Northeast by AAA. We are so happy that your loved your breakfast at the Bluefin Grille and that you loved our Fresh Bites rooms service. We appreciate all you comments and look forward to serving you next time.
Best regards,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews