We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Providence Marriott Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Providence(Providence)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Providence Hotel(Providence)
$268
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$163
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$191
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dean Hotel(Providence)(Great Value!)
$129
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Providence Biltmore(Providence)
$170
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,610)
Filter reviews
1,610 results
Traveler rating
868
423
196
78
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
868
423
196
78
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolfree parkingbluefin grillethe concierge loungebluefishshuttle servicefront desk staffbusiness meetingthis past weekendthe entire staffupon checkbrown universitynew englandfitness centerfederal hillrhode islandaqua
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,555 - 1,560 of 1,610 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2006

We visited Providence last week for Brown Univ. Parents weekend. If you are planning a trip for next year--book early! Everything sells out that weekend and the prices are jacked up.
I felt fortunate to get a room at the Marriot for $174 a night through AAA. (but I think that the prices are still WAY too high all over town. Providence is not THAT desirable and shouldn't be more expensive than Manhattan for heaven's sake!)
Anyway, we were able to check in early to our hotel room. The bed was really nice, comfortable and overflowing with pillows. The toiletries were from Bath and Body Works. There were apples in the lobby all day and chocolate chip cookies at night. It was clean, quiet, convenient, and the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RebeccaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Clean, quiet, pleasant, and relatively convenient. A $1.50 trolley gold line stops right outside the door (the name of the stop is the hotel's name.) Caveats: 1)No breakfast at all, only coffee and coffeemaker in bathroom(!) 2)Housekeeping, while very clean, is untidy: the chambermaid left trash in the bedroom bin (twice)! 3)Inattentiveness: chambermaid left only 1 sugar and many Equals for 2 cups of coffee. After I left a note asking for 2 sugars, she gave them, but did not leave a stirrer. 4)The hotel is not very attractive, just OK as most chains admittedly are. 5)Hotel restaurant serves what seems very weird pan-Asian food, so could not eat there. This is important because Providence is not very easy to navigate, even locals said so. But the hotel is pleasant enough at $144/night (Mon-Thurs; rates go to $200+ NOT for a suite on Fri-Sat)

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tpb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2006

I bidded on a 2.5-star hoping for the Courtyard for it's location. Instead, I got upgraded to the 3-star Marriott upriver.

I took the 8-minute trolley ride from downtown. Check-in was fine. Pleasant and helpful desk clerk, but he sounded as if he was reading from a script.

Had a very nice lunch in the hotel's restaurant. Used the business center computer to catch up on email and internet.

Average room. Very comfortable bed. View of the back lot.

Took the $9 shuttle back to the airport the next morning.

All in all, a pleasant stay for $50+, but I wouldn't choose the location again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank inthe831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2006

We found the Mariott Providence to be a super hotel, offering excellent service, convenience, and very good value. It is super for families but works for business as well. We all loved the indoor-outdoor pool. Even though it's a bit removed from the riverwalk, this hotel is much friendlier, with better amenities and room service, than the Westin. We will certainly stay here next time.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thelivingjuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews