We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wait Staff at Events”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Johnston, Rhode Island
1 review
“Wait Staff at Events”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We recently attended a 50th anniversary party. The wait staff was excellent. Very attentive and helpful, especially Ryan. He was excellent and I would highly recommend him. We attended a reception outside by the pool and that was very nice. It was a nice night and it was very enjoyable. The pool was very busy with people but they kept a section for a reception. Would definitely recommend the Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear L.A.,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It was fantastic to to hear how wonderful it was. We're so please that you had such a good time. Thank you for your recommendation. Hope to see you poolside again this summer!
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    369
    172
    61
    31
See reviews for
388
252
52
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here w/a colleague for church conference. The double-bed room made it convenient & cost effective. It appeared clean & had plenty of free parking. There was also van service available to get to /from RICC & Dunkin Center. Restaurant, bar, convenience store and coffee shop on site. Outdoor pool. Gym. A bit pricey without discounts.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NJGardenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear NJGardenGirl,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that your conference went well and that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our complimentary shuttle is quite convenient. I'm also glad you had time to enjoy our connecting indoor and outdoor pools. We hope you can visit Providence again soon and will choose to stay here. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Have stayed here numerous times due to family in area. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. Common areas are very nice but rooms are starting to show their age. We usually are there during the spring and fall so this was our first summertime visit. Pool area was very busy and sometimes it was difficult to get a lounge chair. On the plus side.....one warm afternoon everyone was offered a complimentary bottle of water while poolside. Breakfast buffet is good but expensive and the wait staff is very efficient. The rates are a bit more than we like to spend but free parking helps over hotels in the center of downtown. There is a Whole Foods a quick drive or walk away which we find very handy. With a gas station next door and easy access to 95 it suits our needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear mjntr,
Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted that you were able to visit us this summer and that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our connecting indoor and outdoor pools are so popular in the summer; I do apologize that you had some difficulty finding a chair by the pool. I am so glad you had such a great time and I thank you for your loyalty over the years. We look forward to seeing you again this fall.
Sincerely, Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I worked with Kristin to book a space at Aqua Bar for a group of us. She and the rest of the staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a great location, especially on a beautiful day, and there was ample parking. Everyone was happy with the food and drinks also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dera AP,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am so pleased that Kristin and the rest of the staff took such good care of you. I will be sure to share your review with the team. We hope you can visit AQUA, our outdoor poolside lounge, again this summer. Come take a salsa class with us at AQUA on Thursdays in July & August.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our entire Family enjoyed our Weekend Stay. As soon as we arrived to the front Desk for check in, they Welcomed us... Very close to 95, plus the Free Parking... The Staff was very knowledgable of the Surrounding area. A Mr. Daniel was a breath of fresh air to speak with while shuttling our Family to the Prov. Mall... Such a pleasant Young Man...very Processional.. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Frederily,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate guest feedback so much. Each week I share every Trip Advisor review with the entire hotel. Our associates strive to be mentioned in a TA review - it's like a badge of honor. It is so important to us what our guests think and experience. Thank you for your feedback. I will certainly share your comments about Daniel to the team.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff at Providence Marriott Downtown sincerely want to make your stay enjoyable. Everyone at asks if they can be doing anything better and truly listens to the answer. From the front desk, to the banquet staff and the management; everyone was kind and polite. The kitchen puts out good food too, even for large numbers of people. Best roasted vegetables I've eaten at a conference, and that was just the side. (Thanks Paul and Ryan H) The property is well maintained, especially the amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DCTraveler20036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear DCTraveler20036,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your excellent experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your conference so much (including the best roasted veggies ever). Our culinary team is exceptional; I thank you for recognizing them and our attentive staff. I will be sure to say kudos to Paul and Ryan H.
Sincerely,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

THANK YOU to Kristin Esper and Jennifer Dahler for inviting James and I for the lovely event at AQUA! We had a BLAST!!! We got to try a little of almost everything. Tacos were our favorite! We cannot wait to come back and continue the pool party!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZOMPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVDRI_JD, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear CZOMPA,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the event at AQUA. AQUA, Providence only outdoor poolside lounge, is great for a host of reasons: the food is amazing, the cocktails are fun and trendy with a touch of classic and the space is so relaxing. We are sure glad you had such a nice time. I will be sure to recognize Kristin and Jennifer for making sure you had such a great experience at AQUA.
Best regards,
Eric Churchill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Courtyard Providence Downtown
Courtyard Providence Downtown
#10 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Property: Providence Marriott Downtown
Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine in 2014. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Twin River Casino Package, Ultimate Dining Escape, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Martinis & Manicures spa package, Golf Challenge , etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. Marriott Greatroom - and all new meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing