We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in providence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Londonderry, NH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend in providence”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We decided to spend a weekend in providence, Rhode Island. It was late September, great weather for walking. The city had a water fire that Saturday night. It was quite interesting and very much unique. We enjoyed going to the Italian section of town...federal hill for dinner. The hotel provide a free ride there. The hotel was clean, the lobby inviting, lots of amenities offered. The mattress on our bed was not so comfortable. Time for it to be changed. Bathroom very small.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD_PVDRI, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Cassie C,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service to WaterFire. I am also pleased you were so happy with our location. It's great to stay in a hotel within walking distance to WaterFire and we're so glad you chose us to do just that. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    381
    190
    69
    39
See reviews for
410
264
56
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, ma
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I went with my GF and had a great experience staying there. Staff was professional and helpful. I loved our room and the TV was big. The only problem I had was the noise level since we were on the first floor. Make sure you request a high floor away from the elevators.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blueracermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD_PVDRI, General Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear blueracermon,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was very pleased to know that you loved your room and the service you received from our staff was impressive to you. We look forward to your next visit to Providence. Thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently stayed at the Providence Downtown Marriott as it was one of the race hotels for the Rock N Roll half marathon in Providence. The affordable rate attracted us to the hotel, but the friendly staff, convenient location, beautiful pool, free shuttle will bring us back. We checked into the hotel on Friday and friendly staff checked us in quickly and informed us that all of the guests checked in for the race on Sunday were put on the same floor (and not with the wedding guests) to ensure a quiet stay, and it was. Friday evening the hotel provides a wine and cheese reception in the lobby which was very nice. Every staff member that I had an encounter with was friendly and professional, the service at this hotel was impressive from restaurant recommendations to driving directions. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant so cannot comment. While we were booking the shuttle for our dinner reservation at Camille's (definitely recommend) the front desk staff provided us with a coupon for a free calamari appetizer at the restaurant. The shuttle was always available when we needed it on the weekend and was very convenient. The room very clean, and the beds and pillows very comfortable. Next trip to Providence we will definitely stay at the downtown Providence Marriott!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJORidgeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear KJORidgeway,
Congratulations on completing the race at the Rock N Roll 1/2 Marathon! We understand that a good night's rest is particularly important the night before a race. We made every attempt to keep the runners together in the hotel so your rest was peaceful. Glad you could rest and not worry about any noise. It was our pleasure to pick you up after the race in our complimentary shuttle. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for the recommendation and the 5 star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It's been a long time since We've stayed at a hotel where we have had such friendly front desk service. They continuously gave us directions when we went for walks. We always get lost. There is a free shuttle service that drove us to and back from downtown shops and museums. They printed up info we needed without charge. We requested and got a quiet room. There also is a heated pool, which we didn't use but other folks did use. We honestly , highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room 419, quiet, over looked the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear eleanorz,
Thank you for your 5 star review! Walking around Providence is one of the best ways to take in the sights! We are pleased that our directions were helpful. Next time you stay with us, we will be sure to send you on some more wonderful walking adventures. Thank you again for share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a hotel in providence with a pool for the kids which is why I chose this hotel. I was extremely impressed with the pool, lounge chairs and outdoor courtyard. The room was fine but can definitely use some updating. Bathroom was small but for the $189 / night rate it is really a decent hotel to stay at. I would stay here again in the future simply because of the outdoor amenities. Did not eat at the hotel so have no comment on the restaurants. We ate at Al Forno which I recommend if in Providence.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kthj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Kthj,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our indoor and outdoor connecting pools so much that you will be back again. We look forward to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Traveling for business at the convention center. Stayed for one week. Approximate 1 mile (20ish minute) walk to convention center. Some shuttle service excellent (Jared stood out- thanks!), but some not useful. Shuttle service times not ideal and sometimes pickup times were not reliable.
First room I was assigned in tower D was not good, odd odor and about a five minute walk and elevator ride from front desk. Second room was in tower C and overlooked the pool- it was great! Nice room, mostly clean (tub corners had some mildew/discoloration). Room service wasn't consistent, always received different combinations of fresh towels and coffee. No problems, but just odd.
Business center was very nice. Newer computers with easy access to print things and get online with high speed Internet.
Room service desserts were ordered on multiple nights, but it is not recommended and was well below what I would consider quality. I didn't eat in any of the hotel restaurants, but the desserts were clearly frozen and thawed to be served. I tried the key lime pie, cheesecake and chocolate bundt cake with no desire to finish any of them. Though, room service servers were very nice and attentive to details.
Pool and hot tubare very nice, gym is adequate, spa kept strange hours and I never walked by when they were open.
All in all it is a nice hotel, but I doubt I would stay here again mostly because of the location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinnyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Erinnyne,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize that you were not happy with the desserts you ordered. I am certain that we would have corrected the situation if we had been made aware at the time. I am pleased to know that our room service server was very attentive to your needs. I will also certainly share that you mentioned Jarred for his service when you used our complimentary shuttle. Thank you for all your feedback. I will certainly share it with our team. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just stayed a weekend at the Providence Marriot for a yearly get together with 6 friends. We were extremely impressed with this hotel. The service was exceptional. It was clean and the amenities that they offered were amazing. In our 7 years of yearly getaways, this rates #1. We will gladly recommend it and will return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear jaylbird,
Thank you for your five-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends had such a fabulous time at our hotel. Our staff strive to create brilliant and memorable experiences for our guests. Looking forward to hosting you again next year and the year after that - thanks again for the kudos! Let us know if you need any ideas for fun plans for your 8th year reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,624 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#3 of 13 in Providence
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Property: Providence Marriott Downtown
Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Chef's Tasting Escape, Bike Providence Package, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Providence Spa package, Golf Challenge, etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. We offer bicycle rentals or upgrade to our Bike Providence package. Marriott Greatroom - and flexible meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing