We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So impressed with the staff at this hotel!!:)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So impressed with the staff at this hotel!!:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend and I booked a weekend here for a girl’s getaway. We will definitely be back! The hotel itself is pretty expansive – it offers both a restaurant/bar indoors and also Aqua which is outdoors along side it’s indoor/outdoor pool. While relaxing at the pool we received complimentary cold bottles of water, sherbert and an iced face towel to cool off with, which was very impressive and appreciated. The bartenders at Aqua were friendly and quick on their feet. There was a complimentary champagne tasting in the lobby as well as freshly squeezed lemonade which was the perfect end to a hot day at the pool! Our favorite gem this hotel offers is a free shuttle which doesn’t just bring you to and from the airport/trainstation, but will also pick you up/drop you off locally wherever you may want to go. Our shuttle driver Jared was awesome! He was friendly and prompt and at one point went above and beyond because he had dropped us off at a street to go shopping but a lot of the stores were closed so he came back, picked us up and brought us to another neighborhood to try. He’s the best! This hotel is great for families, or couples, or two friends like us who just needed a little getaway to relax and unwind. I would highly recommend this hotel and it’s staff. You can tell they enjoy their job and in turn work hard to ensure the guests enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: I would book a room on the 2nd or third floor - especially in this hot weather to ensure the coolest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladykatie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear ladykatie77,
Wow! Thank you for such a great review! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire hotel team. Our shuttle drivers really aim to please and we agree...Jared is awesome! We look forward to hosting you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    360
    170
    61
    31
See reviews for
381
250
52
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my first trip to Providence and overall I was very happy with our stay.

The best:

The front desk staff were helpful and friendly, offering suggestions on local area places. They were prepared for the holiday weekend.

The pool was very nice, indoor and outdoor, and not too crowded. It did appear to get more crowded on Saturday night, but nothing like I was fearing from some of the reviews I read.

The room was comfortable, although confusing to get to. The hotel is big!

Only complaints:

Location is not very "downtown." It was fine for us because we drove almost everywhere but it would have been too far to walk.

The shuttle was a great option we used to get to the park for fireworks. However, there weren't enough shuttles when it came time to return so we ended up walking the two miles. Doable but not ideal. I'd recommend more than one shuttle running for an event like that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelsie216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear kelsie216,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your stay and thanks for celebrating the holiday with us! We are so pleased to know that we hosted you brilliantly and that our service from the front desk to AQUA was well above average experience. Our outdoor pool lounge, AQUA, is very popular and while it can be busy in the summer, it sure is a fun place to spend some time during your stay - and relaxing. Have you tried the lobster rolls? I do appreciate your feedback about the wait-time for the shuttle after the fireworks display. We make every attempt to explain that our guests to plan to wait a bit for the shuttle on a busy evening. The fireworks display accompanied by the RI Philharmonic is a very popular event in Providence. Traffic can be heavy and that was the case on the evening of the 4th. I do hope we have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend for an anniversary trip. We were upgraded to a poolside room with a terrace due to it being our anniversary. The room was very clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially Jorge who helped us out when we wanted to heat up some leftovers. Location was convenient to the highway which is what we wanted. The pool was very nice. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari_9678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mari_9678,
Thank you for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us. Perhaps you will make this an annual visit. We also thank you for mentioning our beautiful indoor and outdoor connecting pools, how lovely your room was and our convenient location. We will be sure to let Jorge know his help to you was appreciated! We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Marriott for a long weekend in June and we were very impressed by the hotel and the customer service. The room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable, we especially loved the huge pillows! The location isn't directly downtown (about a 10 min walk to mall, restaurants) but the hotel provides a free shuttle and in the one occasion that the shuttle didn't show up when it was supposed to (very busy, Saturday night), a cab was called for us and the hotel covered the charge. The customer service was amazing, especially by Doyle at the front desk. From the moment we arrived he was very nice and told us about a few restaurants/bars we should check out, which was very helpful and we enjoyed every one of his suggestions (especially Hemenway's!!). He also asked for the reason for our trip, which was our anniversary, and when we got back to our room after dinner that night there was a bottle of wine on ice and glasses waiting for us. We were very well taken care of and would definitely stay again at the Marriott if we ever return to Providence (we're from about 8 hours away). The hotel also has a nice bar and a wonderful indoor/outdoor pool area with lots of lounge chairs. Unfortunately the weather was not on our side that weekend so we didn't have a chance to use it but it looked very nice, as did the gym (with personal trainer on site according to a sign). Thank you to the Marriott and especially Doyle for a wonderful stay!
-Melissa & Ryan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryn-Meliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Melissa and Ryan,
Thank you for your awesome comments about your stay with us! We appreciate that you took the time to share them. Also thank you for pointing out that Doyle took such good care of you. He is an excellent host! We hope you can visit us again soon even though you are far away. We look forward to hosting you again when you do visit Providence. Thank you for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very great place to stay. The staff was friendly and courteous. The rooms were very clean, and the property overall was very well taken care of. There is an amazing pool and even a very nice restaurant called Aqua for poolside dining. The breakfast buffet is to die for and was definitely worth the cost, not that it was expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Ryan O,
Thank you for your excellent review! We are so pleased to know that we were brilliant hosts to you. Thank you for sharing your great experiences at AQUA, our cool poolside lounge and about the Bluefin Grille's breakfast buffet. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Isn't a good night's sleep supposed to be the busness a hotel specializes in? The pillow's were either the size of an envelope or a couch..bring your own pillow. Regardless of what questions you asked the hotel staff about services of the hotel such as breakfast, shuttle times, check out, etc. you got a different answer. We requested a room that was not by an elevator. We called to confirm our reservation and reiterated "room not near the elevator" got our key, which was a room right next to an elevator. We were informed that the shuttle runs "every 20 minutes." When we called in advance to ask about the shuttle times of departure we were told we could not take it because we did not make a reservation and the shuttle was full to capacity. We booked a cab through the front desk and waited more than 20 minutes during which time the shuttle came and 3 people got on to an empty shuttle and left. We asked what happened and it was apparent "the right hand outside did not know what the left hand inside was doing!" The hotel was booked that weekend for a celebration weekend which was known to invite a young, party crowd. The hotel did not make adequate preparations for that and consequently, we, the two lone "want to go to sleep after dinner" people could not because there were scores of people coming in and out of the hotel with six-packs, obviously drunk, yelling, banging, pounding walls and floors that the pillows suddenly became much less of a deterent of sleep. We decided we had to leave and take the long drive home at 2 a.m.
The management was not feeling 'our pain.'

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joannebilotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear joannebilotta,
Thank you for your candid comments. We are extremely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have reviewed your comments with our team and will take into account your feedback. We truly appreciate when our guests provide us with feedback about their stay. We utilize each and every review to help us be better hosts to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend here!! All of the staff were just so friendly but we have to mention Sara at the front desk and Jarred the shuttle driver as they seemed to go way overboard to make us feel welcome and insure we had a great time, especially Sara!! Thank you both!!
The rooms are large and well accommodated. The whole place is very well kept and the staff are all so, so friendly. The facility has everything you could ask for! Lounge, restaurant, pool with poolside bar, outdoor lounge area, shops, beauty parlor and exercise room, all right there!!
being located outside of the downtown area has some down side but it keeps the traffic noise at a minimum. The do offer great shuttle services to much of the downtown area.
A definite consideration for your stay in Providence as the cost savings is huge!!
Outstanding breakfast buffet too!!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is level to the parking lots, so you may prefer a higher level to avoid the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveO5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear SteveO5,
What a wonderful review! Thank you for sharing your experience - and thank you for pointing out the excellent service you received. I have already shared your review with the hotel team. Our associates love when they are mentioned in a Trip Advisor review - it's like a badge of honor. Sara and Jarred deserve recognition - they do a great job! I also appreciate that you shared all the amenities our hotel has to offer like the connecting indoor and outdoor pools, our Bluefin Grille restaurant, the salon, the fitness center and AQUA, our outdoor lounge. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#7 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Downtown Providence
Courtyard Providence Downtown
Courtyard Providence Downtown
#10 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Property: Providence Marriott Downtown
Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine in 2014. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Twin River Casino Package, Ultimate Dining Escape, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Martinis & Manicures spa package, Golf Challenge , etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. Marriott Greatroom - and all new meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing