We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The staff was helpful & friendly. The room was clean, updated, and nice. We were going to use the shuttle service, but were told the wrong time. No worries though, the woman at the desk called a cab for us (at no charge). The shuttle service van did pick us up after dinner. It was a long wait, & very crowded, but way better than walking! We grabbed a quick breakfast at the small coffee shop literally inside the hotel rather than using room service or going to the restuarant which were both pricey. This place seemed to having everything - pool, workout room, spa, hairdressers, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Jill D,
Thank you for your great review! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. I'm so glad you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle. There can be a bit of a wait especially on a weekend or when there is a WaterFire festival in Providence due to traffic. Our shuttle is a very popular mode of transportation for our guests. I'm glad you found it useful. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Our outdoor lounge, AQUA, opened for the season last night. Hope to see you out there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    368
    172
    61
    31
See reviews for
388
252
52
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived we had a great time !!!! We were checked in by Irving Rios who was awesome.... he upgraded our room and ended up sending cheese and crackers with wine, which was a nice surprise for our anniversary :) Food and drinks were great and the pool/cabana area is beautiful!!!! Great shuttle service too..... We can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer6374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Jennifer6374,
What an awesome review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Irving is great and I have already shared your comments with the whole hotel team! We are looking forward to hosting you again very soon. So glad you had good weather to enjoy AQUA our outdoor lounge. It is pretty amazing, isn't it. See you next time you want to relax &/or celebrate in Providence. Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
238 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a good stay here this weekend for my boyfriends birthday. It was a nice surprise to find a bottle of wine and cheese and crackers waiting for us as we'll as a birthday card when we got back from dinner, always a nice touch. Pretty good locations and they do have a shuttle service although we didn't use it because it isn't that far of a walk to shopping. Only problem was that every time we used the shower, the floors got soaked, as well as the hallway due to some drainage issue. I think they thought it was user error but I could clearly see water coming from a small hole leading under the tub and both times the water didn't make it to the hallway door so there is no way it could've gotten into the hall that way. I just hope that they find the issue soon before it causes too many problems. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amerikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Rikki P,
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you had such a good time and you could celebrate your birthday with us. I do apologize about the shower issue that you had. I'm glad it didn't taint your experience. We hope to see you again soon - before your next birthday, we hope. AQUA, our outdoor lounge, opens today! So see you out there the next time you come to Providence to celebrate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just got back to the UK after a five day stay at this great hotel. It's been a while since my last stay and its great to see nothing has changed. Sure the rooms are fine (large clean with great beds) and the general facilities very good but what makes the difference here are the excellent staff. I've never met a more friendly and welcoming hotel team and the great thing is the consistency of that team. Everytime I go back so many of the same people are still working there which must say something about the hotel. Whilst everyone does a great job, special mention must be given to desk agents Doyle and Roland who always look after me so well. Surely it's time these guys were given associate of the month!!
Also one special tip - go for concierge, the breakfast and service are well worth it.
Business hotels the world over are all the same but the staff at this Marriott really work to make the difference. If you're going to Providence check this place out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deccrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear deccrv,
Thank you for sharing your comments about how much you love our staff and our hotel! I will be sure Doyle and Roland get kudos from the team. It is our pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

A group of friends and I stayed at the Providence Marriott this past weekend and had a great time even though the weather did not cooperate. We had a room facing the lovely pool area, what a treat in the summer! Lounge chairs, indoor/outdoor connected pool, fire pits and bar, sadly it wasn’t open yet but will return during warmer weather. We appreciated the infused water in the lobby during check in, and had a nice drink at the bar the first night before going out.

The room was standard, I was expecting a bit more for this level of Marriott, but was exactly what we asked for, small bathroom with 2 comfortable beds although when we requested a rollaway the second night they did not have any left unfortunately. They could use some updating but nothing that made our stay any less pleasant.

The shuttle service was spectacular, Jared and Juan (I think those were their names) were very accommodating, had great recommendations and amazing customer service! The shuttle was free and picked us up and dropped us of at a variety of different places throughout our stay. All we needed to do was schedule it a half hour prior, and it ran every 30 min until 11:00 pm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HTravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear HeatherPG,
Thank you for your fabulous comments! Our shuttle drivers - Juan and Jarred - are two of our brilliant hosts! We appreciate that you mentioned them and I have already shared your comments with their team. I means so much to our associates when they are mentioned on Trip Advisor.
We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again this summer and that when we do the weather cooperates. Our outdoor lounge AQUA opens this Monday so we'll see you out there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

While the staff is very pleasant, the guest rooms are awful. The heating/cooling system is loud (at times sounds like a helicopter and other times a squealing pig), floors are dirty (and even have sharp objects sticking out), and furnishings are quite worn. I had to be switched from my first room after the engineer tried to fix the thermostat at 11:15 pm. When that didn't work, he ended up removing the entire air conditioner and replaced it with a "newer" model. This second air conditioner kept me up most of the night. I switched rooms and found the second one not as bad as the first, but definitely not a higher rating than "awful." Marriott should be ashamed of itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronbialek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear ronbialek b,
I apologize that you did not have the experience during your stay that we expect for our guests. I would like to discuss this with you further. Please contact me at jdahler@marriottprovidence.com or certainly feel free to call me: 401-553-0409. ~Jen Dahler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked two rooms from priceline. Frontdesk is very helpful and gave us two connected rooms and per our request, not close to highways. The room is clean and the hotel location is convinient. They also have free on site parking

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weijie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Weijietang,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for ranking us so highly in cleanliness, value and service. It was our pleasure to host you. We hope to see you soon out at AQUA! It opens May 20.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Courtyard Providence Downtown
Courtyard Providence Downtown
#10 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Property: Providence Marriott Downtown
Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine in 2014. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Twin River Casino Package, Ultimate Dining Escape, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Martinis & Manicures spa package, Golf Challenge , etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. Marriott Greatroom - and all new meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing