We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away with my sister!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott, found it to be easily accessible to highways and downtown Providence, malls shopping and minutes to Twin River Casino! Overall the rooms were tidy and clean, a bit small, beds where full not queens, but comfy! The staff were very friendly and they have a great room you can sit have dinner and drinks and just relax. Food was great too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Karen D,
We are so delighted that you and your sister had such a good time during your stay! We hope that the next time you visit you and your sister select one of our awesome getaway experiences - like our Twin River Experience. We feature one every month and you can find that information on our Special Offers page. We hope you have happy holiday this week and that spring has sprung where you live! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We keep returning to this Marriott because we love the city of Providence and always get the best deal here. It is rare to stay at a hotel in a city and get free parking. The hotel overlooks the state capitol building which is beautiful. It is walking distance to downtown, where the mall, restaurants, civic center and convention center are located. The best service the hotel offers is shuttle service to just about anywhere in the city. The shuttle leaves on the half hour and will drop you off at your destination. The bellman gives you a card so you can call him when you are done. It is so great because you dont have to worry about parking in the city. The hotel itself is nice. The fitness room is adequate, the pool is warm and the hot tub is nice and hot. In the warmer weather, the outdoor pool and surrounding area is fabulous. The front desk staff is pleasant and helpful. On this day, the place was busy hosting several business meetings. We stay here regularly and really like the location. Only complaint, (and it wasn't a big deal) the concierge lounge was not opened for breakfast on a Saturday morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear JanJ50,
Thank you so much for your loyalty and for taking the time to point out all the great thongs our hotel has to offer. Our complimentary shuttle is awesome and our drivers love the city and showing it off to our visitors. Plus, what an efficient way to get around and not have to worry about parking in the city - in addition to our free parking at the hotel - good stuff. We do appreciate that you continue to stay with us regularly and look forward to your next visit with us. Spring time is coming and our outdoor lounge AQUA will be opening before you know it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed two nights while traveling, and found the front desk and well as the hotel staff in general, to be efficient, friendly, and accommodating. Our room was located on the club floor, and was clean, and well-located. We also used their rec center-exercise room. All equipment was clean and in working order. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Michael M,
We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We count on feedback from our guests so we can continue to provide excellent service and experiences for everyone who walks through our front doors. In case you did not find out while you were here - Club Pace, our 24-hour fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, has personal training services available by appointment. Thank you for the great review and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel on 2/16 while celebrating a big birthday of wife’s.
We chose this hotel over a free night at a different hotel for location and amenities and I’m glad we did. Check In was handled very efficiently by Emily who was also very friendly—and our room was ready at noon, 4 hours earlier than posted check in time! In fact everyone on the staff we came in connect with were friendly; housekeepers, maintenance, the shuttle drivers and even the guy who brought us extra towels and blankets at 10 PM. Nice for a change!
We were pleasantly surprised at the knock on our door to find room service delivering a tray of milk & cookies and a card for the birthday girl. Classy !

The indoor saltwater pool and spa were incredibly relaxing and there was an adequate supply of full sized plush towels. The room and bathroom were spotless, not a speck of dust anywhere. The room was a good size and the bed and bedding were pretty comfortable. TV and worked well. I had some trouble with the climate control—couldn’t get cool air to blow and circulate presumably the system was set for the winter to only blow hot, so I just shut the system and opened the window. The bathroom was very small and appeared to be only semi-renovated with some stains on the dropped ceiling and a bit of mildew around the base of the tub. I have experienced worse at $400/night hotels.

We were on the concierge floor, but couldn’t find the concierge suite??

Two huge perks of this hotel:
1) Free parking and 2) free shuttle service to the mall, and other area attractions. ( People, tip your driver, they’re saving you a parking expense downtown!)

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming in to Providence.

Room Tip: Inner rooms overlooking the outdoor pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowieW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear HowieW W,
We are so glad you chose the Providence Marriott Downtown. It was great to hear that Emily started you off on the right foot and that your stay was so great! Our staff love what they do and we appreciate that you noticed that. Our goal is to make sure our guests have an excellent, relaxing and comfortable stay. We sure glad you did! Thank you for appreciating our complimentary shuttle drivers. Our shuttle is awesome (and the guys are too!) so that you don't have to worry about parking in the city. Hope to see you soon and hope the birthday girl is still smiling about her little surprise cookies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent one night here while visiting our son at college. The hotel is centrally located and easy to find. The room was comfortable and the bed was fine but much of the "fit and finish" could use a sprucing-up (smudges of dirt on walls, missing floor tiles in elevator, etc.) The hotel staff was very pleasant, from the front desk reception to the waitress in the restaurant. The breakfast was delicious and we were glad it was included in the cost of the room. It was not an inexpensive hotel, though, and for the cost, I expected the it to be more of a "5 Star" hotel, especially considering the location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Sandy B,
We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope that the next time you visit your son you will stay with us again. Be sure to ask about our complimentary shuttle service. It departs the hotel every 30 minutes by reservation from 7:30 AM - 10 PM (M-TH), 7:30 AM - 11 PM (F&S) and noon until 10 PM (Sun.) and covers a 1.5 mile radius around the hotel - including most area universities. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is nice, well located, but you have to be careful with your bill. My husband, my daugther and myself stayed here from december 28 to december 30 , 2012. We were with some friends BUT DIFFERENT BILLS/ DIFFERENT ROOMS. And the hotel charged to our room's bill 2 breakfast that our friends took. I contacted via email the accounts receivable department, and their answer was that we had to pay for OTHER PEOPLE BREAKFAST. " we will not be making any additional adjustments, and any further efforts made by you to get additional breakfasts for free that you are not entitled to, will be looked at as an attempt to defraud an inkeeper".... that was part of their answer, like if we needed free meals. If you dont want to be treated like this, then DONT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Ana A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you are having some difficulties with your bill. Our Accounting Team is top notch having two team members win Associate of the Year awards in 2012 with the Rhode Island Hospitality Association. I spoke to our team personally and each room in your party received breakfast for two per day included with their rate under the "Two for Breakfast" rate. It appears that there were four guests in one of your party's rooms but unfortunately, only two in that room would be eligible for the complimentary breakfast - not all four. Please feel free to contact me or a member of our Accounting Team to discuss this further if you need further explanation. I hope this helps. You may reach me at jdahler@marriottprovidence.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights here celebrating our Anniversary. What a wonderful time we had. Check-in was quick and the staff were so pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean,neat and spotless. Comfortable bed. We had two meals in Blue Fin and both were wonderful. Indoor/outdoor pool was a welcome respite. Will stay again..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Laurie H,
Thank you for spending your Anniversary Celebration with us! We try to treat all our guests like rock stars - and we are delighted to know we made your stay so special. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,747 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#3 of 13 in Providence
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $174 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Chef's Tasting Escape, Bike Providence Package, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Providence Spa package, Golf Challenge, etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. We offer bicycle rentals or upgrade to our Bike Providence package. Marriott Greatroom - and flexible meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing