We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay in Providence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Boston Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay in Providence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We received a pleasant welcome at reception. The room was attractive and comfortable and included access to the concierge lounge with drinks and snacks in the evening and an excellent buffet breakfast in the morning. We definitly would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParkerBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear ParkerBradford,
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back soon! PS: Our breakfast buffet in the Bluefin Grille is awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    369
    172
    61
    31
See reviews for
388
252
52
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The second Marriott in as many months proves one point. The brand is not what it used to be. The near-luxury and high style have turned into more of an overpriced utility brand with tired hotels, small rooms and amenities that leave a lot to be desired.

This hotel is a good example.
Rooms are clean, the heated indoor pool is great with kids and the free wifi is decent. Free parking is also a nice touch.

But the rooms are small, especially the claustrophobic bathroom. There is no safe in the room, so leaving your laptop or smartphone behind leave you uneasy (especially with the prevalent signs that thefts happened to guests, which the hotel is not responsible for). The final strike against this hotel is the location. It's literally off the freeway with a scenic view of a car wash. Downtown, while close, is not where this hotel is; not waking distance for sure.

For $200 a night, I would rather stay downtown at a Hampton Inn or a Courtyard. The Marriott brand is certainly no longer above those in its offerings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pace_ripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear pace_ripley,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our pool, complimentary WI FI and free parking. We are sorry that you were not happy with the size of your room and in particular the bathroom. Our safes are located behind the front desk rather than in our rooms. We feel responsible to warn our guests about leaving valuable items in plain view in their cars (especially GPS) - this is the signage to which you were referring. We do this upon recommendation of the city as every area in Providence has experienced GPS theft. We do provide easy access to I-95. However, our hotel has many stunning views of the city. I'm sorry you did not have a chance to experience that. We thank you for your loyalty to Marriott in the past and hope that you continue to stay at Marriott properties in the future. When you are planning your next trip to Providence, please feel free to contact me jdahler@marriottprovidence.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
447 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. It is within walking distance to the downtown area (about 1/2 mile) and they do offer a shuttle. The lobby and the room is nice and typical of a full service Marriott. The only downside is it is a little noisy. We had an awful night's sleep because the heating/cooling system in the room constantly adjusted with a loud blower. We finally decided to shut off the heat and then all we heard was street traffic all night because the hotel is located near a hospital and highways.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear kris91,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I sincerely apologize that your heating unit was noisy. We are in the process of completing an overhaul to all HVAC units in the hotel. I am delighted to hear that our location and hotel overall were pleasing to you. I appreciate that you took the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. It helps us get better at delivering first-rate guest experiences. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Marriott Downtown Providence put on a fabulous and fun New Years Eve package! the staff was welcoming and awesome. the rooms great- the bands set up in two ballrooms were terrific. They provide free shuttles to the downtown area-so our whole group of five couples could ride together. The Roomful of Blues and Brass Attack were so good. The Hotel really did a great job making sure this was a fun and memorable evening!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear maureen c,
Happy New Year! What an excellent review! Thank you so much for sharing it with us. We're so pleased that you and your friends had such a great time. Hope to see you again soon for another one of our amazing special events! Thanks again! ~Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am a huge fan of the Marriott Chain this Marriott in Providence is awesome the customer service was excellent the rooms were very cozy,not to far from the Providence Mall and many great restaurants would highly recommend this Marriott to anyone staying in the Providence area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDIESGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear OLDIESGUY,
Thank you for your awesome review! We appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experiences with us. It helps us continue to improve in creating exceptional guest experiences. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We and another couple chose this hotel because of its New Year package featuring a heavy appetizers buffet, music by the Providence band "Room Full of Blues," and overnight accommodations. We had a wonderful stay. The reception was welcoming, the band was superb, and the food exceeded our expectations. We arrived at the buffet a little late and were only able to find a stand-up table in the ballroom. One of the managers on duty, Jack Coppolino, came to our rescue and brought in a regular height table for our party. As we are all in our sixties that made all the difference to our enjoyment of the festivities.

It made for a very nice New Year's celebration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Thomas D,
Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are delighted to know that you and your friends had such a good time at our New Year's Eve Celebration. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor readers. Please be on the look out for future events that we will have in 2013. Hope to see you soon! PS: We're glad Jack was able to assist you and help make your evening more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I chose this Marriott because of the easy access to the highway and closeness to family in the area. The primary reason for this trip was business and I found the hotel very comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and courteous. I had breakfast in the hotel dining room. The dining room staff were great. The food was hot and fresh. Best of all, the coffee was very good, always hot and fresh. The only downside to this stay was that I was not able to control the room temperature to my satisfaction. The hotel system was on " winter" mode and could not be cooled below 68 degrees. the windows did open though to get some cooler and fresh air in the room. I will definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djefla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear djefla,
We were so pleased to hear that your first visit with us was so wonderful. We certainly would like to see you again soon the next time you visit Providence for business or otherwise. I hope you have a Happy New Year and please feel free to contact me directly if you plan on visiting Providence often for business. You may contact me at jdahler@marriottprovidence.com
Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Courtyard Providence Downtown
Courtyard Providence Downtown
#10 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Property: Providence Marriott Downtown
Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine in 2014. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Twin River Casino Package, Ultimate Dining Escape, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Martinis & Manicures spa package, Golf Challenge , etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. Marriott Greatroom - and all new meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing