We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Providence Marriott Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Providence(Providence)
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Providence Hotel(Providence)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dean Hotel(Providence)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$203
$185
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Christopher Dodge House(Providence)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Providence Biltmore(Providence)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,650)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveler rating
893
434
199
79
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
434
199
79
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolfree parkingbluefin grillethe concierge loungebluefishshuttle servicefront desk staffbusiness meetingthis past weekendthe entire staffupon checkbrown universitynew englandfitness centerfederal hillrhode islandaqua
Filter
Updating list...
1,358 - 1,363 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. Room was big and modern. Bathroom nice and clean. Free coke and water in fridges in the corridors is a major plus. Reception, Doyle, was very helpful. Breakfast buffet was scrumptious. They also have a gift shop in the hotel that serves Starbucks. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear TJ S,
Thank you so much for your great comments about your stay with us! Also, thank you for noting that Doyle was very helpful to you during your stay. I will be sure to share this with him and his team. Great job Doyle! Thank you again and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Standard large-hotel chain homogenous experience really, rooms are a little on the tired side, and our coffee maker was missing, but once we'd convinced them that we needed a coffee *maker* and not more *coffee*, it was swiftly replaced. And then we didn't use it anyway, because it turns out there's a mini Starbucks in the lobby, which is a much better option.

Staff are friendly and extremely helpful, big shout out to Doyle on reception who handled all our needs.

The hotel is a mile or so from the centre of town, and they provide a courtesy shuttle bus to get you in and out. We had a hard time finding somewhere we liked the look of to eat, but ended up at Uno in town, which was excellent.

WiFi is free and reasonably fast, aircon is powerful but noisy, beds are comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is a buffet-style affair, with quite a good selection.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blowback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear blowback,
Thank you for your detailed comments about your stay with us. I will be sure to share them with our team. I will most certainly share your comments with Doyle. He's awesome! Thank you for noting that. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were here for two nights mid-week and felt this is one of the more average Marriott hotels having stayed in others within the group. Help from the front desk really depended on who was on shift as we experienced varying levels of service and attitude. Our room was a little tired, which really sums up the hotel building as a whole, although it still offers good facilities. Air conditioning across the hotel seems outdated and is noisy particularly around the pool area where a continuous blasting of air spoils an otherwise pleasant bar environment. Our stay entitled us to $50 daily food and beverage credit as part of our Travelzoo package. However, many staff were unaware of this offer and had different interpretations of it, which caused embarrassment for us when it came it to paying the bill. Do make use of the free shuttle for hotel guests around the downtown area which is extremely handy and helps if you are new to Providence. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and we made use of the swimming pool. All things considered however, this should be high on the list of the Marriott hotels in need of a makeover.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear JTOT,
Thank you for taking the time to publish your comments on Trip Advisor. I appreciate that you enjoyed our beautiful pool and that you had a restful night's sleep in our comfy REVIVE bed. I was also pleased to read that you made use of our complimentary shuttle. It is quite handy to get around town. I do want to apologize for any confusion about your voucher affiliated with the TravelZoo promotion. I certainly will follow up with our food & beverage team regarding this to be sure that all our associates have a firm understanding about how to charge our promotions. Thank you for your time. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The staff here are excellent. Free wifi was unexpected at a full service Marriott. The speed was excellent. The room was comfortable and AC worked well. The downside was there is not a lot of restaurants near the hotel. The food at the hotel as good.

I had a shuttle ride back to the airport and the front desk called to make sure everything was OK with the return. the hotel does not provide an airport shuttle, but will take guests around downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank engineer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear engineer64,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I will share your comments with our team right away. Our complimentary shuttle service departs the hotel every 30 minutes by reservation. It's range is within a 1.5 mile radius of the hotel. The Airport Shuttle services all the hotels in Providence and is $11 person. Thank you again and hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The woman at the front desk was excellent! I told her I had to be somewhere at 4 and needed to get ready. While their check-in is usually 4, she contacted me personally and I was in my room before 3!
The pool is gorgeous. They have a 24hr workout room which was awesome to use. It had the basics, but well maintained, clean, and did not smell like a typical gym.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bprimadona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear bprimadona,
We are so happy we were able to check you into your room before standard check in time of 4 PM. We know sometimes our guests have events they need to attend before 4 PM so we do our very best to honor early check in requests whenever we can. We appreciate you acknowledging that. Thank you for your positive comments about our staff and the gym as well. Hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews