We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pool & outdoor space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great hotel! Pool side room worked beautifully with ourboys. Cool "tiki " bar, d.j. and firepits outside transported us to another place. Good value in the summer. Free shuttle everywhere was terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachmamaCt_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear beachmamaCT,
Thank you for your awesome review! We're so pleased to know our pool side rooms were a benefit to you and your family. They are a great value and with direct access to the pool - that just can't be beat. Our pool is the only indoor and outdoor connecting pool in the state and we know it draws a lot of people to choose our hotel when they visit Providence. In addition, the nightly summer entertainment at our lounge, AQUA, makes our guests feel like they a truly on an escape vacation. Hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is slightly out of the way but hotel staff were fabulous and told us where to go. They also provided a free shuttle so when we dropped our car back at the car hire they followed us to take us back to the hotel. They told us the most amazing place for dinner and thought it was a superb city. We really landed on our feet but that was just because of the helpfulness of the man on reception.
The hotel was clean, spacious and had the most amazing pool and bar.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear Laura T,
Your praises were just terrific to read! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your wonderful experience at our hotel. We're so pleased that you enjoyed Providence and hope that you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed here twice this past summer, and have stayed at all of the nicer Providence area hotels for the last 6 years or so, on many occasions. This one seems like it wants to be a Marriott but isn't quite there. It is definitely behind the Westin, the Rennaissance, the Hotel Providence (in some respects - but not my favorite).

The staff is pretty nice generally and in some cases, exceptionally nice. The restaurant is OK and can be a bit hectic, overcrowded, dirty on the weekends and when they have weddings (almost every weekend it seemed from what the bellmen were saying). the bellmen were great. the rooms were updated.

the lobby needs a major upgrade. it takes you about 20 years or so. the outdoor pool area is nice but the main problem is that on the weekends, the hotel has marketed the pool area to so many outside groups and individuals (just to come and party at the pool) that you have many more non-Hotel guests at the pool than hotel guests and it can be hard to find seating, which is taken so much by the marketed party goers. The hotel even sets up a desk outside the pool area to take people's daily fee for those coming in. we couldn't use the pool facilties on 3 days of the 5 we were there due to these problems. same with the hot tub. but it is a nice facility outside if you can use it. There is a lot of noise through the room walls at night time when the pool is open on the weekends due to the partying - and scheduled parties - at the pool.

The parking is free which is a plus (can save you about $25 or so over the other big hotels), when you can find a place. again on the weekends, when they have weddings, it is difficult to find parking. There is wired internet but no wireless which i still find strange. Can't get access for your iPad or use your laptop while sitting in easy chair or bed. The television in room kicked off during the middle of a stay and they spent about 1 1/2 hours trying to get it going but couldn't and couldn't switch rooms - again due to the weddings. there was no pay-per-Movies which i also found odd for a full-service Marriott.

I'm a faithful Marriott Rewards member but besides the free parking, really nice door staff and theoretical allure of the pool scene, this one was a dissapointment. Not up to Marriott standards.

I'll be interested

Room Tip: try to get a room not on the pool side. too noisy on weekends in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear barusso,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your experiences at the Providence Marriott Downtown. We appreciate that you travel to Providence so often and are glad you enjoy our fair city. We also appreciate your kind words about our friendly bell staff and our updated rooms.
Our connecting indoor/outdoor pool is very popular with our hotel guests in the summer as is our outdoor lounge called AQUA (voted best in Rhode Island). Our pool is only open to hotel guests on the weekends. AQUA (the outdoor lounge) is open to the public every day as is our restaurant the Bluefin Grille but we take care to be sure our hotel guests always feel welcome.
Our free parking is designed to accommodate all our hotel guests and any function(s) that may be taking place in the hotel. It is available in the free parking lots surrounding the hotel. We apologize that you found difficulty in finding a spot.
We are also pleased to announce to you and TripAdvisor readers that our New Marriott Greatroom is nearly complete - formally know as our lobby. We hope you will come back for a visit so you can see how beautiful and user friendly it is - hi-tech and quite modern. So we hope to see you soon. PS: We are getting wireless throughout the hotel in the next few months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I travel for business all the time and this hotel is one of the best. The staff is outstanding and the rooms are very very clean and comfortable. The food is also good compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Innsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here for three nights for Waterfire. Was difficult to get a parking space in the free car park, think there was a wedding the night we arrived so we had to drive around for 30 minutes.

Common areas could do with updating (lobby was under construction when we stayed but other areas such as restaurant were also tired). Room was fine, a bit dated but clean. No wireless in the room always bugs me - I don't want to sit at a desk on my vacation.

Breakfast was nice, enjoyed the omlette station but nothing else notable. Was included in our rate, don't think we would have paid for it.

Liked the outdoor pool although not nearly enough chairs - at one point we were in the pool and had books, shoes, towels, even a kindle on our 2 chairs and turned around to see one of the pool staff clearing our stuff to move our chairs to another party. Understandable if we had just left towels but we had all our stuff across them. Drinks were a bit weak for the price - I expect more than one small, measured shot of alcohol when I pay over 10 dollars for a cocktail.

Hotel was in walking distance to Waterfire (it is quite a quiet road to get to the main street but we met other groups and lots of cars). It was a really enjoyable experience - atmosphere was great.

Overall, wouldn't be in any rush to stay here again without a reason.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank suny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two days. We absolutely enjoyed our stay. The one drawback was that there was no Wi-Fi connection in the rooms and it's only available in the lobby, which was something we think should be clearly stated in the hotel amenties. It's much more convenient and comfortable to work and surf the web in the comfort of your room than have to go down to the lobby every time something needs to be looked up online. Paying $12 to acess the web from your room isn't the way to go, at least not in this day and age. Also offering free continental breakfast, like most hotels do today, would be a big plus. But otherwise, we were happy with the services and would recommend this hotel to ohers

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear S P,
So glad to hear that you and your husband had such a lovely stay. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback about how we can improve our hotel. We will be offering Wi-Fi in the near future - throughout the hotel. We hope you will come back soon and have another great stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

When we arrived, it was a little confusing to find the check in desk due to construction. A very long walk to the elevators. But other than that, we found it to be a nice hotel. Room and bathroom were clean, beds were very comfortable. Loved the Aqua Bar in the center atrium. Very nice place to relax and hang out on a nice day. Pool scene was lively for a downtown hotel. They had a DJ, lots of tables, couches, a few fire pits. We enjoyed hanging out here in the late afternoon, evening.
Location wasn't the most convienent, but they do have a shuttle that will take you anywhere within a mile and a half.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharoncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen_PVD, Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Sharoncity,
We appreciate your patience during our transformation from our lobby to our NEW Marriott Greatroom. We're so happy you had fun at AQUA (a very popular spot - voted Best Outdoor Lounge in Rhode Island). We also pleased to know that you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle service. While Providence is very pedestrian friendly, we know our guests like the idea of getting to where they need to go (by shuttle) without having to find parking when they get there. Our shuttle service runs every day 7:30 AM - 10 PM with the exception of Sundays when it starts at noon and we extend service until 11 PM on Fridays and Saturdays. Now that our transformation is nearly complete (you must have been there while we had a temporary front desk - New desk is in!!), you must come back and see how beautiful it looks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,766 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Address: 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $168 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Chef's Tasting Escape, Bike Providence Package, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Providence Spa package, Golf Challenge, etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. We offer bicycle rentals or upgrade to our Bike Providence package. Marriott Greatroom - and flexible meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing