We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Fantastic Staff all in the Heart of Providence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Fantastic Staff all in the Heart of Providence”
Reviewed December 26, 2010

My friend and I both stayed here for several days in December and had a great time. The hotel is very clean, classy, and centrally located. The hotel staff were all very friendly and professional. "Eddie," who was at the front desk for much of our stay, was very helpful and consistently went above-and-beyond to assist us with everything from finding places to eat to scheduling the hotel shuttle. The breakfast was adequate and my friend and I especially enjoyed the cookies that were available every afternoon (I think between the two of us we ate half of them). The rooms are clean and comfortable and the view from our 9th floor room was very nice. There was coin-op laundry on our floor and free wireless internet. We also utilized the fitness center while we were there. I have stayed in several Hampton Inns across the country (and beyond) over the years and this experience was definitely one of the best. The value for your money can't be beat - we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanDozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    306
    86
    13
    12
See reviews for
379
219
54
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Beautiful and upscale downtown hotel...not your typical Hampton Inn! Wonderful and helpful staff. Beautiflly appointed room and very quiet. Great location within walking distance to most attractions in Providence. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lohfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Great stay.Its in the heart of Providence. About 20 minutes from the airport. Free wireless internet. Bad thing is there is no roomservice but its hampton so its not expected. But good stay.nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t0309999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I could have not picked a better hotel. Great place, great staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingdude81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My son is the freshman of RISD, and I have never been to Providence RI. When I brought my mom who is senior to Providence, I have a bite panic and try to find a nice place, affordable and close to the school. Hampton Inn downtown offered the excellent services including airport pick up and drop off; they even drop off me and my mom to Courtyard Hotel while they fully booked and we can't get a room. Clean and nice place with a lot of details in the building, also friendly and professional services, I will recommend to friends and will stay in the same hotel every time I go to Providence!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambereye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

If you are visiting Providence, this is the place to stay. Everything about the hotel is first rate - the staff, free breakfast (hot entrees every day), cookies in the afternoon, rooms, beds, fitness center, location, business center, free airport shuttle. We had a large room with a king size bed, pullout couch, microwave, and refirgerator. Everything was spotless. The lobby and breakfast area were incredibly beautiful. Our room did not have much of a view, but in this location all we had to do was walk outside for magnificent views. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. It was a short walk to Brown University and RISD as well as to the Providence Place Mall. The elevators were a bit confusing since this is an old building and not all elevators went to all floors. Plus you needed your key to activate the elevator. But all in all, this was one of our best hotel stays ever!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammerammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This is a beautiful, historic building. We had a large room on the 10th floor.
Service was excellent, with very helpful and obliging staff.
The location is right in downcity (they don’t call the centre 'downtown' here). Valet parking is USD25, but why not park the car yourself a 50m walk away at USD10 (though not under cover).
The hot buffet breakfast was excellent.
Coffee was always available in the comfortable lounge.
This was a bit pricier than your average hotel but still excellent value.
(One of 8 accommodations reviewed this holiday)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRobJenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Address: 58 Weybosset St, Providence, RI 02903-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providence
#1 Family Hotel in Providence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown is Providence's newest hotel and we are the only hotel in downtown to offer a free hot breakfast buffet. We are located in the heart of the financial district and are in walking distance to Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, RI School of Design, Providence Place Mall, Waterfire, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Providence Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Hampton Inn Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing