We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Providence(Providence)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Providence Hotel(Providence)
$204
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$239
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$204
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dean Hotel(Providence)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$169
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Providence Biltmore(Providence)
$170
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dolce Villa(Providence)
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveler rating
641
338
95
17
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
338
95
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrown universitygreat locationcomplimentary breakfastthe financial districtvalet parkingthe breakfast areayogurtwithin walking distancehistoric buildingrhode island school of designa great staycollege hillwould stay here againbusiness centercorner roomper nightshuttle service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
756 - 761 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room was large. The bed was more than average comfortable, and extra points for still using real bedsheets instead of one big duvet like a lot of hotels these days.

The free breakfast was hot, and that's the most I can say for it. Coffee was better than average, though. I wish they had real cream, but few restaurants or hotels do these days.


On the downside:

1. The TV remote barely worked, and had no sleep timer.
2. The huge widescreen TV had only standard definition programming and was set to expand everyone to weird proportions. Why bother buying big TV flat panel TVs if you're going to cheap out on the cable?
3. There was a nightlight in the room that could not be turned off and was very annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate your feedback on our TV's, and we do have some HiDef stations, though not all are HD. We will be changing the channels over to include more HD, so I apologize for this inconvenience, as we are in the process of that now. I hope you come back and give us another try, there is a reason we are always a top choice in the city of RI and I hope this does not deter you from staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A unique place in the heart of Providence, it offers great access to the area; the restaurants within close walking distance are excellent. the young valets were nice and welcoming w/o being syrupy or fake.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Quality First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

I like to say that we are 5 star quality without the high price! We are glad you enjoyed our genuine hospitality, as we focus on guest satisfaction here. Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate you and hope to have you back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Conveninet downtown location, great security, comfortable room, excellent valet parking staff. Booked through price line yet treated us no different than a non-discoount guest. Had just driven in from a long weekend at a 5 star resort in RI. The Hampton Inn bed was just as comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Biff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are glad you chose our hotel! Even though Hamptons can't be 5 star because we are not full service and do not have a restaurant, when you stay with us, our hotel offers all you expect from a 5 star hotel without the extra cost! We may not have a restaurant but there are at least 5 that are under a 5 minute walk away! We are glad you loved it here and especially that you enjoyed our "Cloud 9" beds, that give you the best sleep while being away from home! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the nicest Hampton Inn I've stayed in. Clean, spacious rooms, comfy bed, friendly and helpful staff. The location is a 10-minute walk from the heart of downtown. The only false note was the awful in-room coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank MaeveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are very different from any other Hampton as we are very fortunate to have restored an old bank for our hotel. The cathedral ceilings, chandeliers and marble flooring separate us from the others. It is all the style of a luxury hotel with all the convenience of a Hampton! I am sorry you did not like the coffee in the rooms, but we also offer a different coffee in the lobby which is complimentary 24 hours. We hope you come back soon, we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location in downtown Providence with friendly staff. Large rooms with nice amenities including fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink. My 10 year old grandson and I enjoyed our stay very much. The staff take an interest in their clients and do their outmost to make their stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank GeorgetteMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we expect nothing less! I hope your grandson enjoyed our complimentary cookies that we have out in the afternoon, it is a great added bonus we offer to our guests! Come back soon, we love having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews