We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room was large. The bed was more than average comfortable, and extra points for still using real bedsheets instead of one big duvet like a lot of hotels these days.

The free breakfast was hot, and that's the most I can say for it. Coffee was better than average, though. I wish they had real cream, but few restaurants or hotels do these days.


On the downside:

1. The TV remote barely worked, and had no sleep timer.
2. The huge widescreen TV had only standard definition programming and was set to expand everyone to weird proportions. Why bother buying big TV flat panel TVs if you're going to cheap out on the cable?
3. There was a nightlight in the room that could not be turned off and was very annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate your feedback on our TV's, and we do have some HiDef stations, though not all are HD. We will be changing the channels over to include more HD, so I apologize for this inconvenience, as we are in the process of that now. I hope you come back and give us another try, there is a reason we are always a top choice in the city of RI and I hope this does not deter you from staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

A unique place in the heart of Providence, it offers great access to the area; the restaurants within close walking distance are excellent. the young valets were nice and welcoming w/o being syrupy or fake.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Quality First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

I like to say that we are 5 star quality without the high price! We are glad you enjoyed our genuine hospitality, as we focus on guest satisfaction here. Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate you and hope to have you back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Conveninet downtown location, great security, comfortable room, excellent valet parking staff. Booked through price line yet treated us no different than a non-discoount guest. Had just driven in from a long weekend at a 5 star resort in RI. The Hampton Inn bed was just as comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Biff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are glad you chose our hotel! Even though Hamptons can't be 5 star because we are not full service and do not have a restaurant, when you stay with us, our hotel offers all you expect from a 5 star hotel without the extra cost! We may not have a restaurant but there are at least 5 that are under a 5 minute walk away! We are glad you loved it here and especially that you enjoyed our "Cloud 9" beds, that give you the best sleep while being away from home! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the nicest Hampton Inn I've stayed in. Clean, spacious rooms, comfy bed, friendly and helpful staff. The location is a 10-minute walk from the heart of downtown. The only false note was the awful in-room coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank MaeveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are very different from any other Hampton as we are very fortunate to have restored an old bank for our hotel. The cathedral ceilings, chandeliers and marble flooring separate us from the others. It is all the style of a luxury hotel with all the convenience of a Hampton! I am sorry you did not like the coffee in the rooms, but we also offer a different coffee in the lobby which is complimentary 24 hours. We hope you come back soon, we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location in downtown Providence with friendly staff. Large rooms with nice amenities including fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink. My 10 year old grandson and I enjoyed our stay very much. The staff take an interest in their clients and do their outmost to make their stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank GeorgetteMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we expect nothing less! I hope your grandson enjoyed our complimentary cookies that we have out in the afternoon, it is a great added bonus we offer to our guests! Come back soon, we love having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Easy to access using public transportation from the airport or take the shuttle for $10. It was just what you expect from Hampton Inn - breakfast, clean room, mini fridge, etc. We walked to Brown everyday from here in less than ten minutes. There are a ton of brew pubs nearby as well as the Rhode Island School of Design.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickyGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thanks for staying with us! We are in the best location if you want to stay at the hotel that is closest to Providence's best colleges. We are in the heart of downtown and located walking distance from the best schools in the area. We will be your home away from home while visiting your loved ones when they are at school. So we will be happy to have you back to visit any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. The hotel lobby is lovely and the room was very nice. The staff was extremely friendly as well. I realize the location of the hotel is in an area that looks to be in the process of developing and so there was some construction going on. In addition, we were approched several times for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

I'm sorry about all the construction that is going on outside of our hotel, but once it is done we will have a lot of great new places for shopping and dining that will make our location great for you! We hope you come back and stay with us again, we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,875 reviews
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,240 reviews
Fox Point
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
#9 of 13 in Providence
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Address: 58 Weybosset St, Providence, RI 02903-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providence
#1 Best Value Hotel in Providence
#1 Family Hotel in Providence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $127 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown is Providence's newest hotel and we are the only hotel in downtown to offer a free hot breakfast buffet. We are located in the heart of the financial district and are in walking distance to Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, RI School of Design, Providence Place Mall, Waterfire, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Providence Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Hampton Inn Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing