We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mercer Island, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for my son's graduation from Brown. The location of the hotel was terrific, the room, was comfortable, the staff was excellent and the breakfast was good. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Congratulations on your graduation! We are happy you enjoyed our hotel so much and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    310
    91
    14
    13
See reviews for
392
224
56
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A great location and very good hotel, in the city center. The parking is located at the hotel and is reasonable. The location is near the Colleges and Providence Place Mall, Federal Hill and other attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank PSheaMiddletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed our proximity to all Providence's great attractions. Hopefully you were able to enjoy them and visit all the historic parts of Providence as well, including our hotel as it is a very historic building and protected by the RI Historic Society. Thank you for choosing us and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great accommodations. Staff friendly,courteous and helpful. We required extra folding beds, towels, glasses etc. and they were delivered promptly. Our suite was roomy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was available every morning until 10 a.m. Also shuttle service to and from the airport was available. Location is excellent as there are a number of good restaurants very close by. All in all, a very good place to stay downtown.

Room Tip: If going to the graduation at Brown, must book early!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meribelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Congratulations on the graduation! We are happy you chose to stay with us during this special time. I am glad we were able to make you stay a memorable one. Whenever you travel to Providence, we look forward to being your top hotel and taking care of all your needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is one of the best, if not the best Hampton Inn, that I have stayed in. A former church (and before that a bank) was renovated into a nice modern Hampton Inn. It is located in the heart of Providence. It is 10 minutes to the Amtrak station by foot and 10 minutes to Brown University by foot. I stayed here for the Brown graduation and did not hear any noise at all. The rooms were silent, sealed off from the outside world. The AC unit was very quiet and modern. I am a stickler for a silent room when I travel! Staff members were unfailingly friendly. The breakfast is your standard Hampton Inn breakfast, which is high on carbs and sugar but OK since it is free with the room rate. They do not have a restaurant but there are many close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaShrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We are happy that you enjoyed all the great amenities we have to offer along with our proximity to everything in our great city of Providence! We look forward to taking care of you the next time you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location near Brown Univ., wonderful historic bldg. with incredible lobby and over sized rooms....it looks like a botique hotel...buts its a Hampton. CHeck out nearby restaurants, some of the best Italian food going!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are very lucky to have our hotel in such a beautiful building and we are so glad that you noticed all the detailed architecture! You get all the benefits of a Hampton that you have come to know and expect with an added delight when you see our beautiful lobby! We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is a great deal for the nightly rate. It is very close to the city and Johnson & Wales University. My room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was great! I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank llaverme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet that we offer every morning to all our guests! We are so glad you enjoyed it and your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

No one was at the front desk to greet me at check-in. I called for a wake up call for about an hour before I reached someone. The people in the next room had no consideration for others, blasting music at 2am.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am very sorry that you did not have a great stay. We take pride in having excellent service and I can assure you this is not typical of our hotel. We have been in the top 2 on Trip Advisor out of 12 hotels in the area. We hope to have you back so we can show you what we are really all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,549 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
1,053 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Address: 58 Weybosset St, Providence, RI 02903-2817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providence
#1 Family Hotel in Providence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown is Providence's newest hotel and we are the only hotel in downtown to offer a free hot breakfast buffet. We are located in the heart of the financial district and are in walking distance to Providence Performing Arts Center, Providence Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, RI School of Design, Providence Place Mall, Waterfire, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Providence Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown Hotel Providence
Hampton Inn Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing