We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, but could be nicer”
Review of Providence River

Providence River
Ranked #30 of 116 things to do in Providence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: River running by Providence's popular Waterplace Park and Riverwalk.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice spot, but could be nicer”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I feel like Providence could do a lot for this area when it is not Waterfire. Is is central to everything and could be a really nice place to walk and play- I just don't feel like it is there yet, and the water is pretty dirty!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    10
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thrissur, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although it is nothing compared to the Charles in Boston or the Hudson in New York CIty. it still has a charm of its own. It is a great place to relax. Just beware of hecklers who keep bothering u asking for spare change. It's a good thing to be generous, but not a nice way to be bothered on a relaxing evening.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SrijitNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Was I in Venice?”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

There are authentic Italian gondolas, the operators wear traditional costume, and sing. At least three restaurants along the river, lots of fish, too. We visited October 13th, on a somewhat chilly but sunny day. I would visit again, in warmer weather

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BurrillvilleBunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Scenic, fun”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A beautiful walkway along the river in the middle of the city. Close by to restaurants and shopping but peaceful and not commercial.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TomR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lounge Boat on Providence River”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We took the Lounge Boat ride (new this year) and it was quite magical - I thought it wouldn't compare with the Gondola ride but it was actually just as much fun - perhaps it was the fact that we were sitting at a table on chairs and were high up - you can see more - we needed to duck to not hit our heads under the bridges (fun) - Rick - the captain and his crew are very personable and couldn't do enough to make our trip enjoyable. Even took our picture and sent it to my e-mail. I recommend it hightly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank giauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Providence River also viewed

 

Been to Providence River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing