We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than I remembered”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Providence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Court Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Providence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Old Court a few years ago. This time, I spent several days there with my daughter. The people at this B&B, from the proprietor to the room service crew, are the most helpful and pleasant I've ever met. The rooms are comfortable, decorated a bit in the "faded glory" style. The breakfast is wonderful, and they'll make things to order for you, within reason. They leave fruit and cookies out all the time for snacks, and there is always juice in the fridge in the dining room. In a few days, you begin to feel like one of the family. Don't have an umbrella? They'll lend you one. Need information about something? They'll go out of their way to find it for you.

The location is ideal, on the East side, but near the river, with plenty of restaurants and cafés in the vicinity. We walked everywhere from there.

A little hint: The receptionist, Randy Bush, does stand-up comedy in clubs in the vicinity. We caught his act one night, and it was really great.

Room Tip: The sizes of the rooms vary a lot. Last time we were in a very small room; this time we had a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvlenci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 136 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were in Providence for a family wedding and many of us stayed at the Old Court which is centrally located in the historical area with walking distance to the Visitors Center where Park Ranger narratives are available. The manager, Max and staff, Randy and Patty of the B & B were most accommodating and served wonderful breakfasts in a spacious dining room which also served as family gathering space . We did have a room on the third floor which was quite a hike up and down but it prepared our legs for Providence hills. Some of the rooms in the B & B could use an updating in décor. I would return just for the hospitality, though.

Room Tip: The Milwaukee room could use some refurbishing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yankee070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I spent 4 nights in late May in the Milwaukee Room at the Old Court B&B, and I was completely satisfied with every aspect of the stay. It's an historic building in line with the 16th-19th century buildings of Benefit Street, with high ceilings and a winding staircase to the third floor. The innkeeper was professional and courteous, clearly committed to a "warm civility" style of service: he and the chef/baker made hot breakfasts to order, and there was lovely organic granola, yogurt, and fresh fruit in addition to homemade scones, cookies, and cakes, coffee, and a full range of teas. A bowl of fruit, juice, and teas were available throughout the day for a pick-me-up. The Milwaukee room was a treasure of old oak furniture, including a sleigh bed and an old corner desk for writing, Free wifi and perfect location as well. Benefit Street is central and much-traveled, and this is a real rooming-house kind of B&B, not someone's home so much as a 3-story historic hotel with a generous breakfast. At breakfasts I met travelers from Europe and the US, locals and far-flung people; I came from New Zealand, and I would be happy to return again to the Old Court.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Old Court for three nights. Our first impression was that the exterior was not particularly well maintained, but we chalked that up to the age of the building. There was no "innkeeper" present, just a revolving staff, who, while cordial, seemed a bit impatient to get us on our way. The office and its activities were in full view of our breakfast table - it seemed odd to have the person on office duty come in to take our breakfast order, then return to his desk and conduct phone business within earshot. We were told the place was completely booked, but we saw only three other individuals once during our entire stay. There was no common area for guests aside from the breakfast room, and there was no comfortable seating in our room; we wanted to sit and read our books, and had to lie on our bed. Toilet tissue and kleenex ran low; we had to ask for more. Sink and toilet were modern and clean, but window sills and bathroom light fixtures were dirty. No place in bathroom for personal items - a small stand or table would have been nice. Adjacent building to the North was unkempt, which made for an ugly view from one of our windows. The third day was quite warm; the air conditioner in our room was incredibly noisy. The utility room with laundry piles was open to view as one started up the stairs. Other than the first morning, the menu was limited; breakfast was generally unremarkable, which, in our experience, is atypical for a B&B. In general, the Old Court lacked a bed and breakfast feel, and we felt it was a poor value (average $209 total per night). Although not horrible, it would be hard to recommend this B&B. On the positive side, the location was near Brown University, and great for walking in some beautiful historic areas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burns M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Recently did a 1 night stay to attend Providence College graduation. Stayed in the Stove room. The room was clean, decent sized, with a comfortable bed. Beautiful tree-lined street, easy to walk to nearby restaurants and bars on North Main St. Breakfast the next morning was unbelievable: fresh fruit, homemade granola, muffins and scones, coffee, juice, PLUS our choice of the following hot food: eggs any style, three types of pancakes, french toast or stuffed french toast, omelette, frittata, bacon, breakfast salad (and I'm probably forgetting something). We would come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My daughter and I made an extended tour -- over several weeks -- to colleges on the East Coast. We stayed at The Old Court B & B in Providence and moved to the Christopher Dodge House for the second night because we were so disappointed with the service, the accommodations, and the lack-luster attitude of the managers of the Old Court. Although certainly convenient to both Brown and RISD, our room smelled like an old shoe. There was a mop and old office equipment stashed under the stairs outside our door and the room itself felt cramped and unloved. Most importantly, the owner/managers acted as if we were there to make their lives easier -- we arrived late (we called in advance to let them know the time of our arrival) and were given no parking directions, no help with our luggage, and a most cursory welcome. As we left in the morning, it seemed as if they couldn't wait to be rid of us -- the feeling was mutual.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aquinnahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If your goal is to be close to Brown, you could not do better than this historic house turned into a bed and breakfast, just a few blocks from campus. Rooms are furnished with antiques but have modern bathrooms and free wifi. The innkeepers couldn't have been more hospitable and helpful. I would also note that while you may pay a bit more here than the rate for a standard room at one of the big chain hotels in downtown Providence, once you add in the price of parking and breakfast, the Old Court B&B may come out ahead -- and it's certainly a much nicer experience. (I will add that it can be a bit of a challenge to fit a larger car into one of the slim spaces in the free parking lot behind the house.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,201 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 13 in Providence
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#6 of 13 in Providence
1,384 reviews
Omni Providence Hotel
#5 of 13 in Providence
2,969 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Court Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Court Bed and Breakfast

Address: 144 Benefit St., Providence, RI 02903
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > College Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Providence
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Old Court b&b
Old Court Hotel Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing