We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Court Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Providence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Court Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Old Court Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 5 Providence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“OK for a one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Not one of the best places we stayed on our road trip of New England but OK all the same and would recommend it for a one night stay but not much more.

It's an elegant looking building on a historic and quaint road, which is in a great location near the centre of Providence, best to describe it as shabby chic, which works when it is more of the chic but not so when it's more of the shabby. Huge room, decent sized bathroom but just a little... tired.

Nice adequate breakfast and the staff (couple of young guys when we were there) were very friendly and welcoming.

We were lucky to stay in the lovely city of Providence on Columbus weekend which coincided with the wonderful and magical 'Waterfire' which probably explained why we didn't get a very good night's sleep - very noisy outside but understandable due to the circumstances.

Overall, yes a nice place to stay and good value - certainly the location alone warrants a visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pressure_Drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
36
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently spent four nights at the Old Court Bed and Breakfast. It is in a perfect location near Brown University and the Rhode Island School of Design, as well as close to downtown. There was a nice, adequate breakfast each morning--excellent french toast, eggs and bacon. It was easy to get work done if needed through their wireless connection. Our room was near the back of the building so it was quiet, cozy and very comfortable, although it was cold the first night which was remedied by a space heater. There is complimentary parking, a bit snug if you have a large car. The manager was very helpful; we also had a tour of the whole Inn to see other rooms -- each is different and charming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GValSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were doing a College visit at Brown. Old Court is close by and at the foot of the Hill in front of RISD and Brown. The B&B has parking for its guests, that is behind it and can be quite tight if the B&B is full. For us it worked. Benefit street is historic for the Colonial homes and the street is small and active. The building itself it very old and generally been updated. We had a widow AC unit in our room on the second floor that did run while we were there. Breakfast in the Sitting room was delightful and gave us a chance to meet other guests. They were able to work with my GF requirements but could have done better with my daughter's Vegan requirements. Office was irregularly staffed and almost always friendly. If you enjoy the B&B experience I think you would like Old Court. I would stay again and prefer it to a big hotel in Downtown.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor and did not hear street noise. There are only stairs, which was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a superb 3 day stay recently, when we went to drop our son for a summer program at Brown. Very helpful staff including their manager, Max. Decor is charming, rooms are very clean, quite and exquisitely furnished. Breakfast is very sumptuous including fresh fruit and hor breakfast to order. Free Internet. Our family loved this short stay and hope to turn if our son eventually ends up at Brown.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BhupiJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

When we told people we were heading to Providence, many asked if it was a pit-stop to Cape Cod or Boston, or if we were working... We laughed and said, No - We are actually vacationing in Providence! The area around The Old Court is fantastic and should be explored by more travelers. This was a fantastic place to stay, in an historic neighborhood minutes from downtown and the cool scene near Brown and RISD. The staff were extremely friendly and the room was fantastic. We too stayed in The East Lake Room... OK, to clarify - The sink drained slowly. BIG DEAL!!! Was not a problem at all. The room was very spacious and comfortable (Bed, AC, TV, etc). In the AM we ate a delicious egg dish made fresh by the super friendly staff member, who later recommended some great nearby music stores to check out. They also had fresh fruit, delicious scones, newspapers, hot coffee and really everything you could want to enjoy the morning. Fantastic place to stay in a fantastic (and very underrated!) city.

Room Tip: No elevator, so try to get something closer to ground level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our stay at Old Court Bed & Breakfast was truly delightful--welcoming, warm and helpful without being intrusive. Our room was gorgeous, quiet and comfortable. A really nice bathroom was a surprise since the home itself is a historic gem. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. B & B is perfectly situated for visits to Brown, historic Providence, stopover off of 95.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The inn needs an infusion of money for repairs. The stairs are covered in lumpy carpeting - hence, uneven and unsafe to walk up and down. The downstairs Empire room has an unfinished gas hearth of broken brick, a sagging, uncomfortable mattress, dim lighting, and a window unit that sounds like an 18 wheeler freight truck when the units cycles to cool.

During breakfast, there was never a full pot of coffee. Instead of making enough coffee for all the guests and having it stored in thermos carafes, the staff doles it out cup by cup. They are constantly "brewing another pot" while you wait.

Everything about this place is second rate. Staying at a Motel 6 is on par and much cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilTexasRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Court Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Court Bed and Breakfast

Property: Old Court Bed and Breakfast
Address: 144 Benefit St, Providence, RI 02903-1208
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > College Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Old Court Hotel Providence
Old Court b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing