We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice tour”
Review of Benefit Street

Benefit Street
Ranked #14 of 118 things to do in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mile of history is packed onto this cobblestone street lined with historic buildings. The Nightingale-Brown House, built in 1792, home to five generations of the Nicholas Brown Family (of Brown University) is a "must see" on the block.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice tour”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

nice historical walking tour. beautiful homes, very well preserved. Interesting learning about some of the first founders of the U.S.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
845 reviews
412 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“House after house from the Colonial and early post-Colonial era, all well maintained”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What would a walking tour of Providence be without a hike down Benefit Street to see its historic homes? I'm attaching a sample of photos from my early morning visit, the second I've made to this street over the years.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful streets in America.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I really wish we had had more time to explore all the streets in Providence's east side, but if you can only walk down one street, Benefit Street is not a bad choice. Nearly all the homes are restored with plaques indicated the year they were built (most dating back to the 1700 and 1800's) and no detail goes unnoticed, including boot scrappers outside many of the front doors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ursulina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Architecture”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice historical and other old houses. We only explored the section nearest Brown University ; we skipped the actual tour on Benefit Street.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronmeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Historic Walk”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you like historic houses dating 1700's and 1800's this is worth seeing. The side streets are just as impressive. On 52 Power St. You will find the John Brown House Museum. It is a great house to tour. It is beautiful and built in 1786. The East Side of Providence is very hilly, so you should be in good shape to walk around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holiday057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benefit Street also viewed

 

Been to Benefit Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing