We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhode Island School of Design Museum of Art
Ranked #1 of 117 things to do in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This innovative and internationally renowned museum showcases more than 80,000 works of art from Paul Revere's silver and caricatures of 18th century Europe, to French Impressionists and the avant-garde works of recent alumni. A 12th-century Japanese Buddha has its own room with benches for meditating.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ehhh”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Eclectic collection. Lots of square footage but minimal art and displays to capture my interest. I thought there would be displays of students work but there wasn't.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hunterziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    176
    23
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprize”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

On the first floor the exhibits were by students; interesting but not anything special. We were pleasantly surprised and even enthralled with the remainder of the tour. Quite a variety of exhibits and interesting collections. We want to return and spend more time exploring this little treasure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpatrickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
441 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“Superb Museum”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I agree with other reviewers that this museum is a hidden gem in Providence. It was our first visit here and we were in awe at the size of the museum and the wonderful collections it contains. The first floor contains modern art and modern furniture along with terrific graphic art. Many famous works are on display here including Roy Lichtenstein, Andy Warhol, Picasso, as well as furniture, porcelain, silver, clothing and so much more. Masterpieces and iconic art wherever one looks. The second floor contains priceless French impressionists and other period pieces by Van Gogh, Manet, Monet, Gaugain, Seurat, three gorgeous Renoirs, and so many more.. There is also a gallery of many European paintings hung together in a great room, such as one sees in Rome or at the Prado. Additionally, there is a superior collection of ancient Roman and Greek art. On the second floor one can find the Pendleton House, which is a fully preserved early American house filled with famous paintings like Copleys and interesting furniture.

We spent over 2 hours here and felt that there was so much we missed. What amazed me is that a university museum had such a vast collection. We intend to return this year to more fully appreciate what this museum has to offer. A true gem!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Providence”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The RISD Museum is obviously much smaller than some of the more prestigious museums in the region, but the quality of the collection is on a par with the best of them. In other words, there's less to see overall, but there are some really great items in the collection, from ancient to modern. If you find yourself in Providence with some time to kill and you want to check out a Degas or a Monet, or a sarcophagus or a mummy, it's worth a few hours of your day. I went on a Sunday and was not charged admission, but I think they do charge on other days.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
286 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent Selection of Art”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This museum is definitely worth visiting. A great selection of art, although the layout is a bit of a hodge podge. Hard to find your way around the museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhode Island School of Design Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Rhode Island School of Design Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing