We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable fun stay in Estes Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Estes Park KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estes Park KOA
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Affordable fun stay in Estes Park”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We decided to stay here because it was affordable and a "test" camp trip with my 2 year old and 4 year old. We stayed in a one bedroom "Kabin" that had one queen mattress and a bunk bed. The cabin was very clean and rustic. There was a swing, fire pit and picnic table in front. There were public restrooms located close and they were kept very clean. They also had family restrooms which had a shower, toilet and sink. This was perfect and private for us. The staff was helpful and friendly and it was a very nice experience. We only stayed one night, which was enough for us. The playground was dated, but we spent most of the time in Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park, which were both very close. Bottom line is that we would stay there again and probably will when we go to Estes Park again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyfun5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    38
    18
    9
    21
See reviews for
55
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We arrived with 4 adults and 2 teenagers as well as a 5 and 3 year old. We had a reservation and requested for a 8 persone 2 dog site for $80 a night. When we pulled up our heat sank ALL OF US! To see such a run down place. The tire swing was torn up and almost falling off . It looked like a back alley parking lot with no coverage. We went in to check in only to greeted rudley. When we said we had rsvp she really didn't care. So we paid and was led to our site and told to park our cars in another location. To see that we had maybe 8 feet in between our neighbors was shocking. Then oh yes and then when I asked if we could have a campfire we were told they have a community fire ring. Yet their web site dosen't say that. hmmm????? So we had all had it and knew that between the attitudes of the staff and the look of the place with a playground maybe 5 feet from the main highway we had to get a refund and LEAVE fast!!!! So when we left we were told "Good Luck trying to find somewhere else." Well we did. We went to Rocky Mountain National Park and it was breathtaking and cheaper! We got right in and it was just amazing! So Thanks to Estes KOA we had a better weekend then we would have if we staed there. Award winning yeah righ thats why the owner replys a year later to any comments. I am sorry but this was the worst one we ever stayed at. Go to RMNP it will save you the headache.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Campmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Estes Park hotels

Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed in a one room Kamper Kabin. The reason we chose to stay at the KOA is simply because we did not want to pay the high price of staying in a hotel in Estes Park. We were there on a weekend in peak season and even the cheapest "name brand" hotels like the Super 8 were at least $129 a night. The Holiday Inn was almost $200! So, $68 a night seemed like a bargain. I could have easily gotten a nice hotel room for that price in the off season but not peak season on a weekend. We are not "camping people" so this stay was a little bit out of our comfort zone. We mostly did it for our kids who were thrilled to be on their first camping trip. Our cabin was nice and clean and check in was a breeze. Yes, it is a bit dusty but it was ruggedly beautiful. We had a nice mountain view from our deck and it was very peaceful. Despite being full, it was quiet. The shared bathrooms were really clean. The private bathrroms (3 of them) were cleaned daily, but by the evening they were a little worse for wear. (lots of water on the floors and dirt tracked in), but still usable. Our cabin was close to our neighbors but we didn't mind. It was fun talking to and meeting new people. We drove by some other campgrounds and their sites were small and close together as well. I appreciated that KOA was right on the edge of town and so close to everything. We could easily get into town in minutes. I would stay in a cabin again. My kids loved the experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunandfun31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed in the cabins,busy KOA, need to get up early to use showers. Some private showers available.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty3ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

To be fair, Estes Park KOA seems like an OK place if you are RV camping. We had some friends staying there in their RV, and they seemed to enjoy their experience there.
However, DO NOT CAMP at this location. The campsite area is a paying version of the Hoovervilles from "The Grapes of Wrath". There's no shade. It's 30 feet from the main highway (with cars and trucks driving by all hours of the night), separated by some wild river willows. It's dusty and hot, with no pavement. You are 10 feet from your neighbors on all sides. Incredibly, you must pay for this experience, and with KOA's family-unfriendly pricing ($5 more per person per night for more than 2 people), it's more expensive than staying in the campgrounds in Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park ( we paid $50/night for 2 adults/3 kids). If the campgrounds in the park are booked-up, pass this place up and stay at a motel - the sleep you get will more than pay the difference.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lightdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My two grandsons and I stayed in one of the kabins on a recent trip to Estes Park, we really enjoyed our stay there. The kabin was very clean and the workers were friendly and helpful. I loved the swing on the porch.

I would recommend staying at this KOA.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

My wife and I go there on a rainy evening - and instead of putting up our tent we took a cabin. What a mistake!
The cabin had one simple small room with two bunk beds and one big bed - nothing else. And the price was 71$ for one night.

A few hundred meters down the road - as we found out next day - you can have a big and lovely Hotel room with 2 big beds, private bath, TV, internet etc. for 60$. And this includes free breakfast for two people.
We will never stay at KOA Estes Park again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank stringfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
0.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.6 mi away
Columbine Inn
Columbine Inn
#20 of 29 in Estes Park
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
966 reviews
1.2 mi away
Peak To Peak Lodge
Peak To Peak Lodge
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estes Park KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estes Park KOA

Property: Estes Park KOA
Address: 2051 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estes Park KOA campground is located in the beautiful high mountain valley and town of Estes Park, Colorado, gateway to the spectacular and majestic 400+ square mile Rocky Mountain National Park. We are surrounded by high, snow capped mountains rising to 13,000 to 14,000 feet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estes Park Koa Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing