We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient to town”
Review of Estes Park KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estes Park KOA
Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“convenient to town”
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed in the cabins,busy KOA, need to get up early to use showers. Some private showers available.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty3ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    41
    22
    12
    22
See reviews for
66
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

To be fair, Estes Park KOA seems like an OK place if you are RV camping. We had some friends staying there in their RV, and they seemed to enjoy their experience there.
However, DO NOT CAMP at this location. The campsite area is a paying version of the Hoovervilles from "The Grapes of Wrath". There's no shade. It's 30 feet from the main highway (with cars and trucks driving by all hours of the night), separated by some wild river willows. It's dusty and hot, with no pavement. You are 10 feet from your neighbors on all sides. Incredibly, you must pay for this experience, and with KOA's family-unfriendly pricing ($5 more per person per night for more than 2 people), it's more expensive than staying in the campgrounds in Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park ( we paid $50/night for 2 adults/3 kids). If the campgrounds in the park are booked-up, pass this place up and stay at a motel - the sleep you get will more than pay the difference.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lightdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Estes Park hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My two grandsons and I stayed in one of the kabins on a recent trip to Estes Park, we really enjoyed our stay there. The kabin was very clean and the workers were friendly and helpful. I loved the swing on the porch.

I would recommend staying at this KOA.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

My wife and I go there on a rainy evening - and instead of putting up our tent we took a cabin. What a mistake!
The cabin had one simple small room with two bunk beds and one big bed - nothing else. And the price was 71$ for one night.

A few hundred meters down the road - as we found out next day - you can have a big and lovely Hotel room with 2 big beds, private bath, TV, internet etc. for 60$. And this includes free breakfast for two people.
We will never stay at KOA Estes Park again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank stringfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krum, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Estes Park KOA is a very nice place to stay for not alot of money. It puts you right at the edge of Estes Park proper, and close to the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. The best place I have ever visited, in the USA.

Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank unclegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keighley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

For a solo traveller without a car this spot was perfect for access to the free shuttle service around town. I also fly fish, the KOA has the big Thompson river just over the road and lake Estes is a 5 minute walk.

The site was immaculate with a shower always available when I needed one. Excellent cooking facilities with a bbq on every pitch. The shop has basic supplies with a huge outdoor supplies store just over the road.

The staff team and the welcome I received get 5 stars alone. I was made to feel so welcome and everyone went out of their way to help me. The pancake breakfasts are a must for the days adventures and hiking.

The only drawback is as a solo traveller I had to pay for a whole pitch to myself which could have fit several people on and therefore shared the cost.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamKeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booty454
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed in one of the "Deluxe Cabins". Horrible place. Water pressure so low the toilet only worked half the time. A shower - forget it, as the water pressure is so low you can not take a shower. Avoid this place, as you can get a far better deal at a local hotel and have things that work and actually have service. Don't pay attention to the pictures on the company's web site, as they are not a true representation of the facility.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Booty454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jqturner, Owner at Estes Park KOA, responded to this review, May 9, 2010
This camper's remarks about our water pressure was accurate. We had water pressure problems for a few days during the time this camper was here. We were able to find and correct the problem the morning before this reviewer check-out. We expressed our apologies to this camper at the time and offered him a refund if he wanted to check out early. He preferred to stay.

Estes Park KOA is a award winning, top tier, campground with a strong commitment to customer satisfaction. As we strive for perfection, we count ourselves lucky if we hit excellence. As with all businesses in the accommodation industry nationwide, we strive to please everyone. At the end of the season, after many thousands of campers, if we have had less than 6 unhappy campers, we think we came pretty close to excellence.

Regarding the photos on our website, all photos on our private website of our facilities and campground are a fair and genuine example of the real deal. What you see is what you will get. Granted we took the pictures on nice sunny days. As we make improvements, we make every effort to replace the old photos with newer ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#24 of 29 in Estes Park
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
Columbine Inn
Columbine Inn
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn
3.0 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#35 of 78 in Estes Park
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Estes Mountain Lodge
Estes Mountain Lodge
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estes Park KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estes Park KOA

Property: Estes Park KOA
Address: 2051 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8847
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estes Park KOA campground is located in the beautiful high mountain valley and town of Estes Park, Colorado, gateway to the spectacular and majestic 400+ square mile Rocky Mountain National Park. We are surrounded by high, snow capped mountains rising to 13,000 to 14,000 feet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estes Park Koa Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing