We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to stay at least once!”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Need to stay at least once!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for my daughter's birthday... Full moon.. Friday the 13th...4th floor...fun experience and kind of creepy after looking through photos and talking about our experience... Only the hostess at the bar downstairs the night of the 13th was rude and seemed bothered when asked for the menu... And the room wasn't as clean as I would have liked...also kind of pricey when booking the ghost adventure's package...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubiicela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    718
    404
    229
    108
See reviews for
605
1,162
78
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Booked this room back in February for one night in June. There were 4 of us in the room{5 if you want to include the cowboy ghost}. Stayed in room 428 that was definitely bigger and and had a pull out couch. We did not eat here but did hit the bar hard! LOL! the people running the bar were really nice! We brought our own ghost hunting equipment along and took a bunch of pics. We did a lot of exploring in the middle of the night and probably went to a few spots that we werent suppose to but oh well. When we first got there, there was an elk just grazing right at the hotel. Very cool to see. Overall, very expensive and would like to do it again but would have to see if I could afford it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sphyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel, close of Rocky Mountain National Park, is a treasure. The new owner is in the hotel business, but this one property is his personal property. That is, he alone is responsible and this really shows in all aspects of the hotel. Service is a century old, but what you would have gotten a century ago. Only the Broadmoor, in Colorado Springs comes to mind as a comparison.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryFounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST COVINA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband & I stayed two nights in a Deluxe King. The 8 jetted tub only had 4 jets working. No A/C, only fans. Room was noisy with people slamming doors, kids running all over, especially irritating when overhead. Tub & shower controls leaked & were very difficult to set the hot & cold temp. Nothing in the room in the way of a guide for TV channels, no pens or pads for notes, no instructions on where to find the ice machines and nothing to let you know that the bottled water in the room was complimentary, had to ask at the front desk. The clerk was not very nice, had an attitude like I didn't belong in this hotel. He did, however, print off a channel guide. When I told him about being unhappy with the room, he just said, "We're booked up for the weekend so I cannot change your room."

The second day housekeeping didn't leave any soaps etc. I had to ask for them. We tried to get out of our second nights reservation and were told they had a 72 hour cancellation policy. If I wasn't paying $300.00 a night I would have walked away. This place is over rated and over priced and very weak on amenities. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Not sure there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cruiser8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Stanley. I have looked into the issues you brought to my attention and they have been addressed. Please feel free to contact me personally if you would like to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were assigned a room at The Lodge, which was very comfortable and turned out to be much quieter than the hotel, which was booming. The room was comfortable, and we had a good meal at the Cascade restaurant. We loved the bar...amazing collection of whiskeys. The continental breakfast was fanstastic, and everyone was friendly. In the morning,we had coffee while watching an elk graze on the lawn in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the quiet Lodge rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duson
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I had a great time at the Stanley. I had a blast repeating REDRUM up and down the hall ways, not too loud of course. While there, we also took a booked jeep ride up into the Rockies and loved it. We took the Rocking Rollercoaster tour, WOW. We bought a K2 meter at the front desk just to keep tabs on any Ghost in our room. What fun we had sitting on the front porch with a bottle of bubbly and watched the people mingle about. On the down side, the man running the cafe downstairs was not very friendly. He seemed to get angry when we asked about the K2 meter. We had to ask several employees including the girl who gives the Ghost tours about the meter and even she was not sure where to get it, go figure that one. Finally, the front desk had one. It was for my grandchild back home that loves this Ghost stuff, so you see I had to find it. Over all, WE LOVED OUR STAY.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at The Stanley. I am happy that you enjoyed re-enacting scenes from the shining, sipping champagne on the porch and the jeep tour of RMNP. The K2 meters are available as part of our Ghost Adventure Package, and through our online store www.stanleyhotel.com/gift-shop. We know that you have many choices as to where and how to spend your travel dollars and we want you to know that we value you as a guest and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Frank Wetenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

On our Great Western Trip this was our third stop. We had car trouble and had to delay all our hotels by one day. After getting a rental car I called the Stanley in tears and talked to a gentlemen at the desk and told him what had happened to our new car going through Kansas. He was very kind and said that it was okay to arrive a day late. This took a lot of pressure off of us. When you are driving up to the hotel and Estes State Park you can understand why Stephen King was inspired by the area and how he got his ideas for the Shining. It does feel remote and yes the Stanley is not. Which is kind of nice because the town is very close and has lots of shops and restaurants. When we arrived we found the check in desk easily. The staff was very helpful. They gave us a room on the third floor. When we opened the door we were really surprised. I don't know if this was the best room in the hotel but it had to be at least one of the best. I have to say thank you we were really having a rough go of it and this turned the whole vacation around. The room was clean and beautiful. The old style furnishings, perfect for this era. The view was spectacular. All and all charming. The bathroom had a copper sink. As stated by other travelers the was no air conditioning but there was a ceiling fan. This is a historic hotel. The bed was comfy and to wake up in the morning and see a elk outside grazing where tourist were the night before is remarkable. We did go down for a drink at the whiskey bar. I had a martini and my husband the F.O. Stanley cocktail both were perfect. We toured the hotel on our own and bought souvenirs. The hotel is really something and now has made us want to stay in other historic buildings. We love historic mansions and such but only toured them, never stayed in one. This gave us a whole new experience. We loved it and will always remember this hotel and hope to be back some day in the future. The hotel surprised us one more time and gave us our bar tab for free. Thank you and we hope to see you some day soon.

Room Tip: The third floor was great. We did go up to the fourth floor and it seemed hotter and the floors were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amsirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at The Stanley. I am happy that you enjoyed your room and the service provided by our front desk and bartender. I'm also happy that our pet elk showed up on cue! ;-) We know that you have many choices as to where and how to spend your travel dollars and we want you to know that we value you as a guest and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Frank Wetenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
465 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
781 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing