We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came for the ghosts, would stay again for the steak”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Came for the ghosts, would stay again for the steak”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife is a fan of The Shining and i am a fan of Dumb and Dumber so we decided to spent a night at The Stanley. Initially, my wife was a little disappointed to find the hotel in an not-so remote, secluded location. ( there is a mcdonalds within 200m )
However the hotel has a beautiful historic feel and rooms were comfortable and clean. However we found our room to be a little too warm and we couldn't change the thermostat.

We loved the restaurant and had quite possibly the best steak ever! The service was awesome and we loved chatting to the bartender while having some drinks.

One thing to note is to book ahead for the Ghost Tours. We arrived around 4pm but all the tours for that night were booked out.

It's pretty cool that The Shining is playing on constant repeat on one of the tv channels - would be cool to be able to watch Dumb and Dumber too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    708
    397
    222
    102
See reviews for
592
1,141
75
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We go to the Stanley about twice a year for a mini-vacation (it's only about an hour away), and to have easy access to Rocky Mtn Natl Park. No, the rooms do not have air conditioning, so we try to go in the spring or fall. The windows open for fresh mountain air, so nights are ever too hot. We did the hotel tour once and the guide was really good, and talked a lot about the history of the hotel, not just the part about The Shining. They do have a TV channel that shows "The Shining" 24/7, which is entertaining. The Cascades restaurant does have a limited menu, and it's not cheap, but the few times we have eaten there it was very good. We are not really into perfect amenities when we travel -- we love the uniqueness and history of the Stanley, and the access to the GREAT outdoors there. This last time we stayed, our room was missing the book that gives you info about the hotel and surrounding area -- I hope they will supply those again.

Room Tip: In the summer, you might want to avoid rooms that get afternoon sun - the windows are big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HikerSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Small rooms. No exhaust fans in bathrooms. Cascade restaurant is EXTREMELY overpriced. The menu is very very limited. We don't recommend eating at the hotel at all. The restaurant closes at 9. They have a coffee and sweets area in the basement, it's nice. The hotel has one ice machine total. They don't have pop or vending machines. Parking is located in the back of hotel- so it 's a jaunt from your car to the desk, to your room. The hotel does not air conditioning. There was a thermostat in our room but it doesn't do anything. The rooms offer no directory or listings of local places to go, etc..not even a list of room service. The t.v. is a nice lg flat screen. There are several areas outside where the tiles are missing, right on the main walkway from parking to the hotel entrance. We were very surprised to see this. The bed is comfortable. The Shining was not filmed there, but the hotel certainly capitalizes on the fact Stephen King got the idea for the movie there. The drinks we got in the bar were made well but the bartenders were very aloof, as we're most of the staff. We recommend it's something different to explore, maybe do a tour- but don't recommend staying there, and certainly don't recommend dining there. For example: we had a steak sandwich at lunch, it was a huge bun and a grilled (butterflied) steak with some sauce that resembled marinara sauce on it, came with fries and it was $16.00. All in all, average at best place. We won't be back..

Room Tip: Comfort suites is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We recently spent three wonderful nights at The Lodge at the Stanley, a boutique hotel adjacent to the original Stanley Hotel. The accommodations were excellent and the ambience was warm, relaxing and upscale cozy. The Innkeeper Midge made certain each guest felt welcomed and her culinary skills and attention to detail made the continental breakfast fabulous and much anticipated upon arising each morning. Our two small dogs were very welcomed and upon arriving were excited to find Midge's homemade peanut butter and banana dog bones, along with beds and special bowls. Of course, it goes without saying that Estes Park is absolutely gorgeous! A perfect trip to be remembered!

Room Tip: The Lodge does have an additional fee per room but is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearytraveler416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a beautiful hotel in a spectacular mountain setting, but when it comes to service, there's much wanting. When I arrived after a long drive, my first need was a soda. Fortunately, I found an ice machine right outside my room ... but when I asked where one might find a soda dispenser, I was told that guests had to bring my own drinks or order from room service (at an exorbitant price). Quite fortunately there's a Safeway right at the entrance to the drive leading up to the hotel. was the start of three days of excuses about nearly all service requested. The biggest pain (literally) that we ran into, was the broken elevator in the "Lodge," and our room was on the second floor ... and both of us are handicapped. For three days we had to hobble, one stair at a time, up and down the grand staircase, while holding on to the handrail with both hands for support. To be fair, I would probably give the Stanley one more try, just to see if everything was just "bad mojo" for those three days ... but I believe the Stanley seriously needs to learn how guest service in a first-class hotel should be handled. If you're a "ghost Hunter," seriously love the grand hotels of the gilded age, or just want to see the place where Stephen King found his muse for "The Shining," then by all means give it a try ... perhaps your stay will be one without complications. One final note ... if you go in the summer, you should be aware that neither the main hotel nor the Lodge are air conditioned.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is stunning. Just beware that standard rooms are very small so upgrade to a larger room if you can. Staff was wonderful and helped us with all of our questions. Also, at the base of Rocky Mountain national park so a ton of hiking nearby.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A beautiful and historic hotel, we were fortunate to stay in Room 428, one of the haunted rooms and a very large corner room on the 4th floor. The downside, it was very warm in that room. We kept the windows open all the time, even though it was April and not all that warm outside, which kept the room in the low 70's. One fun thing - they have a channel on the TV that plays "The Shining" 24/7. We went to Ghost Stories on Saturday evening with Scary Mary (who absolutely loves her job) and it was a lot of fun. It's an all ages activity, so it's not all that frightening, but a lot of hotel history which was very interesting and entertaining. The not so good - the bar. The servers were busy having their own little personal dramas, right in front of guests. The male servers were far more interested in the attractive young women customers and frequently neglected my husband and I. We did get our drinks - eventually, but it was more of a hurry up and get them their drinks so we can go back to the girls. The food there was pricy, but delicious. Overall, it was a good stay. We found a Groupon deal for $99 - 119 per night, so it was very affordable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
453 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,013 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing