We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night at the Stanley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Night at the Stanley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Sandi has wanted to stay here since she was a girl visiting Estes Park. What a lovely old restored hotel. There are many "ghost" stories about the hotel but....we didn't see or hear any. It snowed the night we were there and we awoke to a beautiful blanket of white powder covering everything. The hotel is a bit pricy but worth the experience. Don't miss the lounge.....beautiful wood work and the drinks aren't bad either!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    682
    375
    203
    95
See reviews for
567
1,085
72
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel is lovely and in a great location, and genuinely historic. The service was mixed. For example, we got poor directions as to how to find our room, park our car, etc. When we had drinks and an appetizer in the bar, service was very slow, and the two whiskeys from their menu we ordered were not available. We tried to make a reservation in the restaurant, and no one answered the phone. We left a message and no one called us back, and then when we called back, they were full. They did not have a room service menu in the room, nor any information about the hotel, or activities. The television was poor quality picture. However, staff were friendly and kind, if not as competent as we would have liked. They need a concierge. After driving around we found some great hiking trails very nearby which it would have been nice if they had told us about. The natural beauty and great ambiance would bring us back, but we would ask for a bigger room. Comfy bed with great pillows. Our room had a kingsized bed, but only one bed table, and very little room even to pass by the bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajwonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in the Lodge at the Stanley Hotel. Room was average, bathroom had cracked titles, mold on grout, bed sheets had stains, and top of pictures had dust. I expected more from this hotel. Thanks to the ghost for making this a trip to remember. Our bathroom window which had three locks kept opening. Found out from the front desk that room 1302 in the lodge is haunted which was right above us. This hotel does have a lot of old world charm. Been told you if want a ghostly experience make sure you go around the time of a full moon.

Room Tip: Ask to find out if your room is by another haunted room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The rooms, service, and scenery were the Best I have Ever experienced!!!!! I had traveled alone but Never felt alone. Also Thank You to the Spirits there for interacting with Me several times. I can't wait to go back..... I Highly recommend this Hotel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay in four different rooms during our 4-night stay: Rooms 401, 217, 418 and 240. Activity in the haunted rooms were off the charts. Captured great EVPs and even received a slight push from an entity in room 217. Room 240 had a beautiful view of the mountain ranges. It was beyond comfortable with easy access to the main staircase and the elevator — and we got a good night's sleep. We visited during a Ghost Hunter's convention and the Hotel staff were absolutely wonderful in accommodating the large number of people there for the conference.

The front desk service was phenomenal and the staff at the Whiskey Bar were equally hospitable! We WILL be returning!

Room Tip: Plan ahead! If you're interested in a haunted room, there's a wait list!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a Living Social to stay here on a Sunday night in April. We upgraded so that we could stay on the 4th floor, which is supposedly more haunted. The room was clean, with beautiful old furniture. The TV plays "the Shining" movie on a continuous basis and I enjoyed watching the movie because I couldn't quite remember what it was about. Now I have nightmares of Jack Nicholson's face! Anyway, we did a Ghost Tour with Scary Mary and that added to the atmosphere. We also ate at the Cascades Restaurant which was expensive but very good food.
It was not a cheap weekend at all, but it was a lot of fun! It is also next to Estes Park, so that was an added bonus to drive through. Lots of Elk and one big huge turkey!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teapotmarylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge at The Stanley Hotel for 3 nights. Loved the restored rooms! Very comfortable bed. Nice spaciousness. Great staff!!! Midge, the breakfast lady, was awesome!!!
We especially enjoyed the ghost hunting event that we were there for. Go on the weekends, and purchase a ghost hunting excursion with Karl Phieffer.
Highly recommended hotel!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LePlumpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.7 mi away
Appenzell Inn
Appenzell Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing