We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Again! But there are a couple problems...”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I checked in to spend a night "away" in Estes and wanted to stay at the Stanley after seeing the front of it in The Shining. Finding the lobby was a challenge after making a couple of wrong turns - but once we found it the hotel is old, antiqued, and charming. The hotel was not packed with people, and the lobby had cheery fires burning where people were sitting in big overstuffed chairs relaxing. We signed up for the Hotel Tour (or Ghost Tour) that evening. We staid in Room 224 - a nicely updated room. My husband was happy it had a stand fan in the room to block out noise. One problem i saw early on was that I could see a slot in the hallway from where the bottom of our door wasn't meeting up with the frame. I'm a bit paranoid so we put a pillow in front of the door all night.

The ghost tour was fun and it was interesting getting to see some different rooms in the hotel, and hear some fun ghost stories. There were plenty of opportunities to take pictures! The next morning we had a quick breakfast downstairs in the cafe. We both had hot chai teas, he had a breakfast bagel and I had a spinach and cheese croissant. It was all delicious, but rang in at $18. Our room was $214 - a little high priced, but we willingly paid it for our night together. We both agreed we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,667 - 1,673 of 2,527 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Amazing historical hotel at the doorstep of Rocky Mountain National Park. The views cannot be beat. Hotel has been very well kept, since purchased by the most recent owner. It has been kept as historically accurate as possible. Besides, it inspired Stephen King to write The Shining, a win-win for sure.

Room Tip: Room 217, if its not booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great for historic reasons and views but overpriced for what it is. Thin walls, can here your neighbors and no real amenities. If you want to stay there once so be it but not again for this couple!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We certainly appreciate your feedback and your business. We would absolutely love to have you return to our hotel, and should you choose please contact me directly so that I may esnure a great stay. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went to The Stanley via a groupon, Well worth the trip, I would recommend heading out to the National Park and walking through the town. Ghost Tour was ok, more entertaining than scary. The room we were in was hot with no AC but opening the windows made for a comfortable sleep. The Whiskey bar was expensive but that's to be expected. Would go again just for fun.

Room Tip: Next time I might try spending the extra money for a "haunted room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for visiting us! The groupon and living social deals that we have provide for great value. It is great to that your visit was successful, and we look forward to your return! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had our Optimist District 2nd Quarter Conference at the Stanley again this year. Can't possibly recommend this facility highly enough! EVERYONE is professional and friendly. We ended up staying in a Stanley condo this year. Gee, it's rough staying in a gorgeous, luxurious, 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath half million dollar condo instead of a hotel room...... Absolutely the best stay ever. We will be back......as often as we can. We live in Colorado Springs, so it's not too far to go for a great weekend! Love the elk grazing in our yard!

Room Tip: If you want absolute luxury, see if one of the condos is available. If you want to take a pet, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! It was a pleasure hosting you and the entire group this weekend, everyone seemed to have had a great time! We will see you for the 2015 Optimist Conference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We live in Colorado so whenever we go up to visit the park we always think about visiting the Stanley just to see what it's like. So this Valentine's Day we decided to have a little overnight adventure. I love old historic places and so it was fun exploring the hotel and learning about the history. It was also fun to turn on the TV and see The Shining playing. I think it runs 24 hours a day. It was really cold and windy out so it was a good night to stay under the covers and watch the movie. My husband had never seen the whole thing so with the wind howling outside the setting was perfect. The only problem was our room was cold. I didn't mind too much but by the middle of the night I was freezing and didn't want to wake my husband to mess with it.

Room Tip: If anything is wrong with the room, make sure you get the front desk involved. I wish I had called t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable Valentine's Day with us! We do have additional space heaters available for guests who do like it a little warmer in the rooms; absolutely always call the front desk as we can assist with anything. Thank you again for your business, we look forward to another special day with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Had a great time visiting for the day and recieved wonderful service from April in the whiskey bar. Will definitely come back.

Comments on bar service - April was personable, attentive and memorable. The first guy that initially greeted us was not. Will request to be seated in April's area in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We appreciate you coming in for some spirits! We have shared your comments with April and the rest of our restaurant team; we look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,069 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
513 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: $207 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing