We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent stay at historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Parker, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay at historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff was friendly and informative. The hotel was beautiful and kept up well. The scenery was excellent. A very enjoyable stay. The grounds were well maintained and made for nice walks in the evenings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments on your recent stay. We hope you will be back to stay in the future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    630
    350
    193
    93
See reviews for
541
992
67
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Classic hotel with good service, beautiful lobby and rooms. Nice view, excellent location, good food and good bar scene. Clean and well run. Obviously expensive, but the experience is worth it. Unique accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments on your recent stay. We hope you will be back to stay in the future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Stanley on a recent visit to hike the Rockies in Estes Park, CO. The hotel sits above the town and is an easy walk to shops and restaurants. The hotel is busy with additional visitors coming for tours of the "haunted" hotel, which can make parking and entrance to the hotel a challenge at times. The rooms are comfortable and typically sized for a historic hotel. The tour of the hotel is highly recommended, our guide was outstanding, I was hesitant to take the tour because I thought it would 'freak me out", but just the opposite occurred, the history was fascinating. The amenities on site could be expanded a bit, but adequate. Highly recommended even for just a day or two, a great place to spend the evening after a day of hiking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments on your recent stay. There is definitely quite the history to the Stanley Hotel! We are always looking for ways to expand our amenities and there are some exciting changes and additions coming in the near future! We hope you will be back to stay in the future!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This would probably be one of our once in a lifetime experiences and we were not disappointed! The rooms, the atmosphere, the staff, everything was great!!!!! Cascades restaurant the the Whiskey Bar were excellent and everyone was so friendly and tolerant of our typical tourist behavior of picture taking. Hope to go back one day, but so excited that the visit we had was so great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments on your recent stay. I am glad we could make one of your "once in a lifetime experiences" special! However, we hope you will be back to stay in the future to do it all over again!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I toured this hotel last weekend when I heard Stephen King had stayed here and it was his inspiration for "The Shining". They also filmed the 1997 miniseries of the book here, and the ski lodge scenes from "Dumb and Dumber". Unfortunately, due to the recent flooding in the area around Estes Park that caused road closures, the official "Shining" tours at night had been cancelled, so we took the standard hotel tour in the afternoon. It was still fun, and the hotel is a gorgeous old building with a lot of history on and off-screen. We had to have a drink at the bar where Jim Carey discovered "We've landed on the moon!", and I had the REDRUM punch, which was really good. I highly recommend stopping in here, at least for a tour, if you're in the Denver or Estes Park area. Next time I'd love to stay a night or two, if time permits. The concierge said the rooms start around $239 a night (and go up for the large, fancy rooms), but go down to about $139 a night on the off-season that starts in November. The waiting list for the infamous room 217 is about 18 months long.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ChristaC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear you had a fun time on the Stanley Tour and had a chance to relax in the Cascades Whiskey Bar! We hope you will stay with us next time you find yourself in the area!

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel has character. It is a little pricey. We were lucky to get the 36% off in the bar/dining room. Food was not consistant though. Wish there would have been a bigger coffee maker in the room 1 cup per adult was not enough. Or at least put coffee in the lobby. Missed the pool-not much at the hotel for kids. we did have a hot tub in our room (which kept my son occupied 1 night).

Room Tip: Look for a view of the mountains. There are now houses out back which ruins the view that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandista46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at tge stanley hotel for what was supposed to be a nice weekend wedding. The stanley first started iut by over charging me for the hotel room by one hundred dollars. They said there was nothing they could do, that it would be back in my account in 5 to 7 business days.Then when we get to the room itself it was dirty the elevator button shocked me and the windows in the hotel room were cracked letting in cold air. They say things are just old. There's a difference between old and non functional. The cascades bar charged me twice. They need to get there act together. Long story short no refund at checkout and still waiting for money yo get back in my account. Horrible weekend don't stay here.... a best Western would be better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse F, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments on your recent stay. We never like to hear that someone did not have a good experience and I would love the opportunity to talk to you more about your stay. Please contact me directly at jfreitas@stanleyhotel.com.

Sincerely,

Jesse Freitas

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing