We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay and visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
2 reviews
“Awesome place to stay and visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff was very friendly. Great view and setting. Will go again for sure. Great tours available. Lots of history. Rooms were very comfortable. Very scenic drive up to hotel. Food and drinks were very good and affordable. Staff was very knowledgable about history of hotel and surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your visit, I am happy you had a fantastic time! We look forward to serving you in the future! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    682
    375
    203
    95
See reviews for
568
1,085
73
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iron Mountain, Michigan, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My stay at the Stanley was a letdown.

When we arrived the desk staff was attentive and kind. From there it was all downhill. The rooms leave something to be desired. No soap dish in the shower?

The bartending staff was actually laughable. They know how to chit chat - someone needs to clue them in on keeping a glass full and a bar dry; frankly the worst bar staff I've ever encountered. Who is running the show in the restaraunt and bar?

The hotel offers tours and allows people to walk through for a fee. So, you end up trying to relax while a bunch of gawkers walk around.

I was fully disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cal919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback; we certainly value your business and input. I am disappointed to hear that your experience in our restaurant was below your expectations. I have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage team so that we may improve our service for future guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I chose to stay here to celebrate our 2 year anniversary. As armature ghost hunters we chose the Ghost Adventure Package and took the Night Ghost Tour. When we arrived the lock on our room door was broken and it took a few hours for it to be fixed however the manager on duty gave us a food credit so we could go down and have dinner while it was being fixed. Aside from that our stay was fantastic! The hotel itself was charming and beautiful. Our room was cozy and we had a lovely view. The food at Cascades was delicious and they were even able to accommodate a vegan meal. Our waiter was professional, prompt and friendly. The Night Ghost tour was fun and definitely worth the ticket price. Our tour guide was personable and charismatic. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly, particularly the night clerk and the security guard who kindly found me food in the middle of the night when the restaurant was closed. We even had our own paranormal experiences! It was everything we wanted and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The main building is more but the best place on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I am happy to hear that your vacation was a success! We appreciate your time providing feedback and your business. I am glad that the "experiences" you had haven't frightened you away for next time! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were a part of a tour group staying at the hotel. The first two mornings, none of us had hot water. Patty, the sales team and the owners were amazing in handling the situation. They communicated with us and went over and above to make it right with everyone in our group. We stayed in the Lodge, (apart from the main hotel) the rooms were wonderful, breakfast every morning and snacks every afternoon were great. Sitting on the front porch, looking at the greatest view in the world was the best part of every day. Thanks to the staff for making our trip so special!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front side had a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I would like to thank you and the entire group for your business, and more importantly your patience those couple of days. Certainly, it wasn't an ideal situation, but we were fortunate enough for everyone's understanding. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in an on-property condo so we didn't get the "full" treatment. But we had a great week. Condo was great for our family. Ghost stories were fun, though I'm still not a believer. Elk walking on the property was a special treat. And the location couldn't have been better. Love the hiking in RMNP!

I would have given the property 5-stars were it not for dust in the condo that made it seem like it's not thoroughly cleaned enough.

One recommendation-ask the kitchen to cook the nachos with Chili.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nhg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, the condos are a spacious way to spend a week here and yes, great for families. Our nachos are all fresh ingredients, and the chef smokes the chicken prior to adding to the plate; chili is definitely a different take, and am glad you enjoyed. We look forward to your return, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our room was also on the 3rd floor of the Lodge, next to the main hotel. This property used to be used for overnight single male guests. It cooled off fine at night, and each room had both a table and ceiling fan. We had a suite with a king bed, pull out couch and bathroom. Room size was small, and it was a bit noisy because our room was by the back parking lot, and we had the windows open. The best part of the stay was the free daily breakfast off the lobby with pastries, yogurt, granola, and the best fresh berries ever! You can eat in that room, or take it out on the front porch where you have an awesome view of the mountains. Great spot for day trips into Rocky Mtn. Nat'l park. On site restaurant good, not great. Nighttime ghost tour was fun to do with our teenagers.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the front of the building to avoid parking lot and A/C & kitchen noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieH440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, I am happy that you and your family had a great time. The vies on the veranda are spectacular, and being at the Lodge, very peaceful. Midge and her staff do a great job every morning, and certainly know how to please your belly! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I thought we'd splurge for our first night in a trip through CO and stay here. We had a room in the lodge next to the original hotel, but it probably wasn't much more modern. Our room on the third floor got hot in August, and there's no AC. All are small, and with a king bed, dresser and desk there wasn't even enough room for a rollaway, so we had to move the desk out. (and pay $15+ for the rollaway/nt - to their credit, housekeeping was very prompt in doing all this). I think the website pictures make the rooms look bigger than they are. For some odd reason the room had a walk-in closet as big as the bathroom (which wasn't big either) - why anyone would need a walk-in closet for a vacation stay is beyond me. The wood floors creaked a ton, I'm glad we were on the top floor.

On the positive side, it's a beautiful building, extremely quiet for sleeping, and the lodge portion of the hotel includes a continental breakfast that will beat anything offered by the chains - incredible homemade baked goods, jams, etc. with communal tables that are good for chatting with your fellow guests (or bring it out to the front porch with beautiful views of the Rockies).

When it comes down to it, $300+/nt. (high season) for history just wasn't worth the lack of modern amenities to me, although everyone will judge that slightly differently. I'd soak up the atmosphere next time by getting a drink and sitting on the porch.

Room Tip: The Lodge includes breakfast and (I've heard) slightly more modern rooms. I don't think you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prolix50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, we appreciate your time providing your feedback. The Lodge, is my preference if I were to stay here, as it is much more tranquil and the continental breakfast by Midge is fantastic. I am pleased to see that our staff was most accommodating, and hopefully we will have an opportunity in the future to serve you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing