We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The drive into Estes Park was very scenic...winding road for most of the trip to the Hotel. The Hotel is grand...elegance and historic. We checked in and the staff were very friendly and professional. We had to change our reservation and they accommodated us without hesitation or question.
The Room we had was perfect for the age of the hotel. The only complaint we had with respect to our room was there was an obvious layer of dust under the bed; on the door panels, window sills and a stand-a-lone electric fan.
It was a Friday, and the hotel was busy. So busy that trying to find a table for food service was next to impossible. We went downstairs to the café shop to get a quick sandwich and they were out of sandwiches so we wound up going to a local Safeway deli.
All in all, the stay was okay. A beautiful hotel and I can't forget to mention the bellman who gave great service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freewilly163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback, we appreciate your business. Although, I have to say Go Oilers Go, based on your logo! (I am a big Edmonton fan!) I have reviewed your comments with our entire staff, as we continously strive to improve both our product and service. I am happy to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable, and we look for the opportunity to host you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,486)
There are newer reviews for Stanley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,844 - 1,850 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had an amazing time at The Stanley Hotel. There were a couple weddings the weekend we went, so they upgraded us to a condo for no charge so we wouldn't be put out. The condos had a private hot tub, full kitchen, and beautiful upgrades. The staff was so nice and helpful, and the scenery is unbeatable. The staff was more than accommodating to us to make our trip unforgettable. The bar had delicious cocktails and the atmosphere was unbeatable. We will definitely be back to The Stanley Hotel soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

I am thrilled to hear how accomodating you found our staff, this is something we work on daily. We certainly appreciate your kind words and business, and absolutely look forward to your return visit! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in room 407, the "second most haunted room" in the hotel and we paid $404.00 per night. Toilet was broken, had to flush it by putting our hand into the tank to pull the stopper up. Room was REALLY small (about 17' x17'), there was a bed, a desk and a dresser, which were crowded into the small space. Bathroom was about 8'x8' and the toilet was right behind the door so if anyone came in while you were on it, they hit your kneecaps. The shower did not have any shelf for soap or shampoo, so we had to put them on the floor, so sanitary... The ONLY elevator for 100 rooms broke down twice, we had to hike up 4 floors to get to our room. TV was broken, the only thing we could watch was a self-serving video of some woman driving the Stanley Steamer car with Country music in the background, we couldn't even turn it off, and had to pull the plug on the TV to turn it off! Breakfast was not included (for $404 per night?), tour of hotel ($17 per person) was by a teenager who must have used the word "kinda" and "Um" 200 times, he was a newbie who told us many times what he DIDN'T know and kept saying "Um, take some pictures." as if he didn't know anything more to say. BTW, no ghosts, just 1:00 a.m. (high?) teen visitors looking for thrills, camping in the hallways. (We told the front desk about them but they just told us that people want to see ghosts....) Overall, our recommendation is to STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE in Estes Park and visit the hotel for the history. It is beautiful and the history is fascinating, but this is a definite no-stay in the hotel recommendation for anyone. Donate the extra $$ you will save to your favorite charity.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else in Estes Park and visit the hotel for the beauty and history. No A/C if you are...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We have reached out to your personal email. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We loved it! The "haunted" was tastefully done and not over the top. We had our 6year old son and he didn't even know the history until we took the tour, which made sleeping much easier! The hotel itself was grand and the surrounding grounds were beautiful. We stayed in room 413, which was on the haunted floor and I was sad not to have seen or heard anything abnormal. I get the impression the rooms are all different. I've noticed many complaints about room sizes but ours was huge! We took the Stanley Tour with Maria, which had the perfect blend of history and haunted background. My hubby and I cannot wait to come back for the ghost tour! The only issue we had was in the restaurant. The service was not the best. The waitress was a moron. My meal came with bacon so I explained I'm a vegetarian and to hold the bacon.... So she brought ham instead. She also screwed up my sons order, my food was cold and I had to seek out beverage refills-this may be specific to the waitress though so take this part of the review lightly. The hotel as a whole was outstanding!

Room Tip: Ask for 413!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karliesjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Room 413 is a fantastic room, it is a deluxe room that is on the top floor and in the corner. Maria is relatively new to the team and it makes me very happy to hear what a great job she is doing. I have shared your comments with our restaurant staff so that we may avoid these mistakes in the future. Thank you very much again for your business and we look forward to playing your host again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at The Stanley for our 1 year anniversary. We had stayed here once before right after Christmas 3 years ago and loved it then (decked out in Christmas trees and lights...beautiful)! This time there were additional great aspects and some new not great aspects. I loved the patio in the back of the hotel with the umbrella coverings and bar! I also loved the front porch/veranda that overlooks Estes Park! They have an awesome cocktail menu too! I could have sat with their 'Elderflower Mule' cocktail in either of those places for hours...so grand! The bar is cool too! We felt like we were Jim Carrey from Dumb and Dumber (which was filmed here)! The hotel lobby is very grand with parlour rooms! It was very busy for the Memorial weekend. There was even a Jack Nicholson look-a-like wondering the property (obviously homage to The Shining...which they play on a channel any time of the day). Elk graze in the yard and there was what looked like a covered pool which would be nice in the summer! It's a short walk to town which was great since parking in town on the holiday weekend was tough.

Down sides- our room, while keeping in mind the history, was shabby. Wall paper peeling, the knob for the bath/shower seemed broken (took a while to even figure it out), didn't seem like the cleaning staff cleaned up the room much between days. Obviously no air conditioning but there were 2 fans thank God! The fourth floor (room 415) gets hot and stuffy even though it was high 60's/low 70's. There was a drop in the ceiling over the bed because of the shape of the roof which made it seem smaller. The bathroom has been updated which made it look nice. I love the old stairs in the hallways! And the old elevator! The bar staff, except for the New Zealand guy on the patio were pretentious and rude. It is pricey for the quality but it's old and you're paying for the mystique of history!

However, the hotel is beautiful and I would stay there again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenpixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your return visit, and candid feedback. I am pleased to hear despite a few shortcomings, that your visit was enjoyable and you will return. I have shared your comments with all departments as we are constantly trying to improve our product and service. We absolutely appreciate your business and look forward to your future return. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is really a special hotel, yes, maybe a little old but historic and classic. My wife got two nights on a Living Social Deal, and it came with a $30 food credit. No resort fee, free parking, great high speed internet (I'm a writer/editor) and lots of cool stuff. This is a hotel that you will always remember. Watched the movie "The Shining" late last night on one of the hotel channels. Lots to explore, funky and old. You will like this place!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a mountain view room. Those rooms tend to be a larger.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otis1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit, we appreciate you making the drive! I am happy to hear that your visit was fantastic and we look forward to hosting your return! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in the superior king with amazing views of the Rocky Mountains. Room was super clean, comfortable beds and pillows. It seems like they are more concerned with tourist customer service than guests. Both nights were spent dealing with the flash of cameras through the windows quite late into the night. The front desk staff were wonderful, the restaurant staff were not. The gift store staff were sort of aloof and unhelpful. The views and history are just awesome and that is where the good points of this review are coming from, but they have some work to do. Worth a stay for sure though.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tibby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit and appreciate your feedback. I have shared your comments with all appropriate departments as we are constantly looking to improve our product and service. I am happy to hear that your overall visit was enjoyable. Thank you again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,056 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
617 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: $214 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing