We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful and relaxing get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Littleton, Colorado, United States
1 review
“A beautiful and relaxing get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Brought an out of state friend to Estes and stayed at the Stanley. We had a lovely time. All the staff we dealt with were professional and friendly. We went on the Stanley tour and it made the stay that much more enjoyable. I knew going that the Hotel did not have a/c and did not seem concerned because it was early May, however I would have enjoyed the stay a bit more with it.
We also did The Rocky Mountain Rush tour and would highly recommend it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Our tour team does a fantastic job and am happy you were able to take advantage! We have partnered up with Rocky Mountain Rush Tours, and have gotten great feedback from that as well. We hope to hosting you again in the future when another friend comes to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    687
    378
    207
    96
See reviews for
575
1,090
74
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was a GREAT trip. We love the Stanley, the rooms are being updated, the service is GREAT!!!!

I want to recommend Jeff Gehlhaus at the front desk. He work and worked to get us the room we wanted. He is the type of person that you want representing your company!!

Thank you Jeff!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for haunted rooms. We had good luck with both "haunted and non haunted"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Jeff is a great asset to the team and in his short while made a great impact! I am happy that he made your stay extraordinary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Stanley is, indeed,amarvelous older hotel. The talk of paranormal activivity makes it even more special.The lobby is stunning, and has relaticely nice help. I srayed twice this week. It is the perfect get away from denver. Thw rooms were average, but prettyI hope that they redo a little, but not update too much. Yhe tub abd shower were too short to use, and I'm 5'4". There was a bit of mildew in the shower. Yuck, and under the bed was dusty. The restaurant was okay, but dadly uninspiredod was okay. Itwas pqrtioned by a half wall, so it was loud, and the fod on thar side looked better food wise, and I am a foodie! I love the avant garde. I'd sure love to see the cheff break out of the conf mist food fit for a hotel, and do more inspired things to really make that restaurant turn okay. And raise rhe wall and add a half wall just on to the Cascades area, so thet you don't feeel like tho are eating well in s bar. Anyway, would go back if I were staying in Estes for a quick mini holiday' The night ghost tiour was the best part! They need to add a high tea ib the lobby. That would bring it tio perfection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeypoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. I am happy to hear that your time here was enjoyable, and have also reviewed your feedback with our entire staff. We look forward to you making the trip up the hill in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at the Stanley for the Beyond Reality Event. The staff was great even though they were swamped for the weekend with people attending the convention. Our room was clean and comfortable. We even won a silent auction to stay in Room 1402 and thta was beautiful. It was big and comfortable. For a historical hotel it is well maintained. We will definately be staying again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We were happy to host you and your group, 1302 is a fantastic room, my favorite in the Lodge. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Always enjoyable get-a-way hotel. As an historic hotel, everything seems to stay the same with an excellent staff. Our stay corresponded with Mother's Day, so the Cascade restaurant was very busy all day long. No problem. Our room was at the back of the hotel, so we had extra windows and a little view. We had to wait a long time for hot water to arrive through the old pipes so patience is required. We hung out on the front porch for the view and comfortable seating. You won't find this view anywhere else in the world, so we lingered with a drink for some time.
We walked downtown, through the Visitor Center, across the bridge over the Big Thompson, and around the lake - about a 4 mile easy hike. Elk graze the golf course looking around to see who is walking by.
Easy nice getaway hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor room to reduce noise of late night walking around guests. No AC, so keep the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit, you are correct that the views are unparalleled on the front veranda! I am always pleased to hear that our staff was extremely helpful and made your stay comfortable. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just stayed here one night because of a tight schedule but it was worth the drive from Denver. One of a kind, they don't make these big old hotels like this any more so it is a treat to spend a night in one. The history, the elegance and the wonderful staff make it easy to enjoy. The meal was superb with trout, steak or their special meatloaf all receiving our approval.
Widh we coulf have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were on the back side but had a nice view of the waterfall. Staying in the back means you can pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I am so pleased you decided to make the drive from Denver! Our chef and the culinary team do a fantastic job, everything is fresh! I extremely pleased to hear how wonderful our staff was, this is what we strive for! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This past weekend May 2-5 was my third visit to The Stanley Hotel. The occasion was the first ever Stanley Film Festival. The hotel was just as wonderful as my previous visits (the first being in Sept '09 for my brother's wedding on the premises). Even without the terrific film festival, the atmosphere is electric. Nestled in the valley the panoramic views are amazing. It feels much more secluded that it is, which is a good thing.

And while the hotel may not have every modern convenience or amenity, it definitely makes up in charm plus cool factor. Ghost tours and film festivals aside, few hotels can compare with its location and history. Just being on the grounds makes for an unforgettable experience. The staff are super friendly and helpful, which goes a long way for those that travel a great distance to stay here. After a flight from Chicago then a 2+ hour drive into the mountains, receiving such a warm greeting is such a relief.

I love this hotel and I'm already looking forward to my return trip next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhawk2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We absolutely appreciate your repeat business, and thank you for your kind words about our property and staff. We were thrilled to have the opportunity to host a film fest on property, I'm not sure of anywhere else in the world that could host this event. We hope to see you next for our bigger and better event! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing