We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed one night over the beautiful Easter weekend and had a lovely experience. The room was one of the haunted ones but didn't experience and paranormal activity - it was too beautiful a day I guess! However, my husband opened the door to go get ice just as the ghost tour group was outside our room with the tour guide telling the haunted stories about out room - 12 people screamed thinking my husband was a ghost! it was hysterical! Ha - perfect timing. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfy. The grounds were interesting and there are several different tours you can take. The restaurant is a little pricey, but, there are cheaper eating places within blocks of the hotel. Estes Park is a real fun place to walk around & lots of interesting shops & such & beautiful scenery all over & so close to the Rocky Mountain Park entrance & you always can see elk around any time of year.

Room Tip: You can request a haunted rooom - the atmosphere is great fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2danemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and recent visit. I am sure that your experience with the tour group was priceless! Easter weekend was definitely gorgeous here, and hopefully your return visit will present more of the same! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,004 - 2,010 of 2,623 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful old hotel in Estes Park, Colorado. Great location. Nice place. Friendly staff. Only one thing that was a problem- Main building has a problem getting HOT water. Shower water were only warm at best. We stayed there when it was very cold so this was a bit of a disappointment to us- no hot showers. I heard from other guests that the other buildings had hot water though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

We appreciate your recent visit to our property. I am happy to hear that our staff was accomodating and your overall experience was enjoyable. We have addressed the engineering issues that you mentioned, and believe all are resolved. Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We came for the Stanley Film Festival and stayed in the hotel itself for two nights. The hotel is an amazing treasure! The location, next to Rocky Mountain National Park and the town of Estes Park, is awesome! We mostly attended films at the film festival but we also did a ghost tour and spent some time in Estes Park. The film festival was really great! Our older teenage kids really liked it too! We seriously had a fantastic time and will come back for the film festival again next year.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is so historic, the rooms can be a little bit noisy at night when you are sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We think our first annual film fest was a success, and we are so pleased that you were able to be apart of this great event! We hope for bigger and better next year! Thank you for your feedback and business! We will see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in a outside sweet and weve heard of tge ghost stories the hotel is very quite at night and as ling as your not loud you do your own ghost hunt I was never a believer untiI stayed the night here the night desk clerk gave of us access to the whole hotel they have nothing to hide if want encounter after life go to the 4 floor the children are up and will speak with alll night I will never forget this place

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for visiting! This place certainly has many "different" visitors! We appreciate your feedback and your business. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We travelled with a group of friends and actually rented one of the condos that the Stanley manages. The condo was nice, but when we return to the Stanley we will stay in the actual Hotel. The hotel is beautiful and most of the employees are excellent! Scott (Bartender) was extremely knowledgable and was really fun to talk to while we were waiting to check-in. He set the trip up for success as he made excellent recommentdations. Alexa(Server) was not our server but came over to talk to us and was very pleasent. The following morning we had an excellent server (name forgotten)- a young man from Moldova. There were a couple less than pleasan individuals, but it happens. The walking tour is excellent if you are at all interested in the history or the paranormal at the Stanley. Even if you are not interested you will have a great time with the tour!!! Spend time in the bar - eat your meals at the hotel restraunt - enjoy the expirience. Enjoy the time you have there and after you check out go to the downtown area and spend an hour or 2 in the shops of Estes Park. We are already planning a return trip and we are lucky to live only a couple hours away!!!

Room Tip: The condos are nice, but we would suggest staying in the hote to get the whole experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsm164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Scotty and Alexa are fantastic employees, as well Andre who served you in the morning. I am happy to hear that you and your friends had a great time at our property, and our sleepy mountain town! We too are anticipating your return! Thank you so much for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary, and we spend the day walking around Estes Park, and then we did the ghost tour at the Stanley and spent the night in their main hotel. It was a fabulous experience. I had to cancel my original dates, due to a death in the family, and the staff was incredibly understanding and helpful in helping me reschedule another date for our visit. The night ghost tour was fun, and the hotel is gorgeous. I would definitely come here again, it was a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyshand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

I am so happy you and your boyfriend had a great time! Our entire team really thrives on being accomodating, it was our pleasure to help. We are excited to have you for next years anniversary! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We arrived in Estes Park mid-week, between two late-April blizzards. I suspect we chose a great time to visit, as there were no crowds, with many of the attractions in the town still closed for the season. The Stanley Hotel was calm, quiet, and very relaxing.

The Stanley Hotel is an absolutely beautiful old hotel. The history of the hotel is well documented in photos and written descriptions at various locations throughout the facility, so it's possible to wander through the common areas to learn about the hotel's past. If you're patient, there is a wide variety of wildlife that appears on the Stanley Hotel property at various times during the day.

The hotel, both common areas and guest rooms, is well maintained. The bar is beautiful, with a very friendly and attentive staff. Our room was clean, with a very comfortable bed and a spotless, well appointed bath with a shower and jetted tub. The view from our huge windows was magnificent. Our only real issue was with excessive heat . . . despite turning the controller off, and opening the windows wide, we were unable to keep the room temperature below 80 degrees. Understanding that the hotel is over 100 years old, and understanding the concept of zone heating for hot water heat, we just opened the windows to cool the room down. (The windows opened easily. The sash cords and weights are obviously well maintained.)

Although architecturally and historically significant, the Stanley Hotel's greatest asset is its staff. Everyone we dealt with was polite, personable, and willing to help. Their front desk staff is incredible. By the time I had finished the remarkably efficient check-in process, I felt as if I'd known the young man at the desk for years, and that I was being greeted as an old friend. Other front desk staff we interacted with displayed the same concern that we were enjoying our stay, as did every staff member we met. Whatever selection and training process the Stanley Hotel uses to hire employees and train them for their jobs should be replicated by other lodging providers.

We would love to return to the Stanley Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1031dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback! I am most proud of our staff's demeanor and abililty to provide you with excellent service! I shared your comments with our engineering team as well, they were very appreciative as typically they "slip through the cracks". We hope to have the pleasure of your return business in the future! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 28 in Estes Park
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 28 in Estes Park
93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: $185 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing