We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and Beautiful”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed January 23, 2013

WOW, what a view, Great History and lots to do in the area. Close to Hiking and great shops in town. Free Transportation available. Plus the Ghost tours is a must. Once you stay you have to watch Dumb and Dumber the movie which was filmed there. Although no air conditioning we were quite comfortable in August with out it

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hopefully we will see you again this summer! We appreciate your business and were happy to play your host! Dumb and Dumber is (in my humble opinion) a classic comedy, and worth the watch! Our dynamic bartenders dressed as Harry & Lloyd for our Shining Ball in October! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
There are newer reviews for Stanley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,942 - 1,948 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Recently we visited the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park. We decided to stay and have lunch in the restaurant there. The staff were very friendly, the food was awesome and the atmosphere was beyond belief. We were visiting family in Colorado who took us there for a day. They have an older dog (a small jack russel) who has difficulty walking so sits in a doggy stroller. Although dogs were not actually allowed the restaurant allowed us in anyway because she was not walking around free.......this was amazing that they would do that for us and we appreciated it and will never forget the hospitality and service we were given.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Candu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We were happy to play your host for one day, and glad you enjoyed the "northern hospitality"! Our restaurant staff is very accomodating and eager to please! Hopefully, you will make the trip across the pond for an extended time here in Estes Park! My good friend is Dutch, and he has a clever saying- "you ain't much if you ain't dutch." Thank you again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went to the Stanley in mid-December. All of the Christmas decorations were up and the common areas were very pretty. We were on the floor where the child ghosts hang out.
The room is on the small side and the bed, though pretty to look at, wasn't all that comfortable.
I'm gonna tell you, I really didn't sleep well due to the ghosts. I heard children running up and down the halls in the middle of the night....were they real or ghosts, I didn't look outside to be sure.
The hotel loops The Shining on the TV all day--I thought that was pretty funny and added some fun to the stay.
I do recommend staying at the Stanley at least once since it is an Estes Park fixture.
The grounds are lovely and the views are wonderful. Just look out for the ghosts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Stanley Hotel is just gorgeus and First- Class ! It was a filming Location in the Movie " The Shining" ! The Entrance , the Lobby and its Stair Case is grand ! We where there a view years ago just before X-Mas . So with all of the Decorations up, it was extra beautiful. There is a great bar, and a cozy Restaurant. We dined on Elk for the first time. The Service is exellent. We enjoyed shopping in Estes , seing Herds of Elks crossing the road. From the Hotel there is a great View of the Rockies . We took a drive up Trail Ridge Road . Up there you can see the Never Summer Mountains. Thats right, there is always Snow up there. Hence the Name!
We traveled there 6 years ago!

Room Tip: The Rooms are first rate and classy. Choose the one you can afford!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for the return visit! I am happy to hear that this visit was even better than the first time! Hopefully, we will see you before the next six years! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a stay at the Stanley December 23, 2012. I was so excited! At over 7 months pregnant, to me it seemed to be the perfect last "pre-baby getaway" for us. We got to our room, and it was a stifling 83 degrees (which for anyone, not just a pregnant woman, is way too hot and stuffy). We called down to the front desk, and the maintenance guy came within 20 minutes. The heater was stuck in the "ON" position, and he fixed it. So we left, walked around Estes Park, shopped, went to dinner, thinking by the time we get back, the room will have cooled down. WRONG. It was still 83 degrees in our room. I opened both windows as far as they would go (with temps in the single digits). We also opened our room door (not so comfortable as people walk by and peer in on you laying on the bed). My boyfriend then proceeded to go directly to the front desk to try and get the issue resolved. He came back up, and the maintenance guy had been dispatched to our room yet again, who never showed up. We slept uncomfortably, (IN DECEMBER) with no covers, windows as far open as they would go, and we woke up to a room that was STILL too warm at 75 degrees. We then went to breakfast, where a short black hair was fried into my eggs, and my boyfriend's blueberry pancakes were still raw batter in the middle. We said nothing. We then checked out, and mentioned how unhappy we were with our room, and the gal asked why, but then proceeded to cut us off in mid story to say "I'm sorry - please sign here". Once home, my boyfriend emailed a manager with the whole story, from hot room to not-so-attractive breakfast. The response he received was only about the food, and to present the email the next time we eat there for a discount. The food, really? That was the LEAST of our troubles. We were looking for some sort of resolution about our room. Nothing. It was our first and LAST stay at the Stanley.

Room Tip: TIP: Stay somewhere cheaper, and just visit the Stanley, as it is beautiful and historic.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I'd ask that you contact me directly to discuss the opportunities that were not resolved during your visit. Thank you again for your business and I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Legendary hotel!! We were camping in Moraine Park and took a break from roughing it to visit the Stanley. Grabbed a drink and sat on the front porch for a relaxing afternoon!!! We did have a spooky incident when taking a picture in an empty hall!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhgbBirmingham_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

The veranda and cocktails are a perfect blend of relaxation! We are happy that you decided to "unrough" your vacation! Thank you for your business and we look forward to playing your host in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family had drinks in the bar at the Stanley the evening prior to our son's wedding. Nice place to gather although nothing out of the ordinary other than it is the Stanley Hotel. Two people in our party had the bloody mary made with bacon infused vodka. It is topped with a strip of candied bacon. They both loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shtadlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

The bloody mary's are delicious! Thank you for your business and all the best to your son and his wife!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
502 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: $216 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing