We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stanley is the Hotel that feels like a Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Stanley is the Hotel that feels like a Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

From the Drive through the Mountain pass, the tour on the hotel's historic property, to the hike up the 14er in their backyard, Stanley is absolutely one of the best easily accessible, affordable, and entertaining authentic historical and geological experiences Colorado can offer which accommodates all levels of physical abilities and age groups without discrimination.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susah6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    682
    375
    203
    95
See reviews for
568
1,085
73
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Great tour, I wish I stayed overnight though. Ryan was goofy yet incredibly entertaining. Your very factual yet a twist of spookiness. Takes you to all the hotspots ghost busters. Really neat grounds too (watch out for the elk)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crookedwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Ryan- quirky- yes...but fantastic! He is a very personable gentleman and certainly provides an entertaining tour. We are so pleased to have him apart of our team- his passion and genuine care for all of our guests is amazing. You are correct about the elk- be careful! Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge at The Stanley for a long weekend, and were very happy with our room. The Lodge rooms are small, but the bed was comfortable and the common areas were cozy. Breakfast, as well as the afternoon tea and cookies, was delicious, and a great preparation for a long day of hiking. Staying at the Lodge instead of the main house is a little quieter - you don't have tourists or as many people wandering around. Keep in mind that there is no A/C, so summer months are probably a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mistressj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
The Lodge is definitely a gem, and Midge our innkeeper is fantastic! You are correct that the Lodge is more exclusive and does not have any of the foot traffic that the hotel supports. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and hope that we can play your host again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Janette Aragon deserves recognition for her excellent customer service / prompt response and follow up of our initially negative experience on 9/24/12. We received no info, nor return call from repeated phone messgaes to the Tour Desk. We arrived at the hotel just as a preferred 11:00 (filled) tour started. Upon hearing of our issues, Jeanette reimbursed our parking, bought us a nice lunch while waiting and even provided us with water for the later tour. She made our 41st anniv much more enjoyable especially when we discovered we stayed in room 217 on a previous stay.
However, more / early staff could return calls, work the desk, and a message could announce times, costs and when the desk opens - anticipate guest's questions. But, Janette's genuine and sincere attitude, prompt attention and professionalism are an exceptional reflection of the Stanley Hotel.

Room Tip: Of course Room 217 is the Stephen King room, if you can get it. And take the night Ghost Tour.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Janette is a fantastic employee and we are very fortunate to have her on our staff. While disappointed to hear of our initial shortcomings, I am more pleased that she was able to turn the situation into a positive and memorable one! Thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I are paranormal investigators and chose The Stanley Hotel for our honeymoon. We stayed in a standard room for three nights and a “haunted” or “active” room (401) one night (the “active” rooms are more expensive than standard rooms). This is a beautiful hotel, with beautiful views. The hotel offers tours, covering the haunted areas of the hotel; we chose to not partake in these as our entire stay was on the fourth floor, but those who did take the tour seemed happy with them. We also where there at the right time for the 30th anniversary of, “The Shinning”. There was a Jack Nicholson impersonator that was amazing. There was also an investigation of the concert hall, as it was $60/person (and there is no discount for guests) we decided to stick to our personal investigation. The staff was fine with us exploring the entire grounds at night (as long as we didn’t disturb the other guests) and we were lucky enough to meet the guests that were staying in room 217 who let us hang out in their room with them for like two hours. Our only issues were that while there were flat screens mounted to the wall of our standard room, there was no a/c, fridge or microwave (the TV was in a cabinet in the “active” room, and again no a/c, fridge or microwave).

Room Tip: I believe rooms are cheaper in the "off" season, after October.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianByMarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
There has been reports of a lot of activity recently- hopefully you were able to encounter some during your visit! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your great feedback and have shared your comments with our staff. Not many people get to have the experience of 217, and I am happy that you met some new "neighbors". I hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Stanley. Typical of these old hotels, the room was very small, the bath room was a tight fit, no TV and no AC. In addition to being very small, our room had dormer windows and an extremely slanted ceiling. Thankfully, my wife is 5'3" tall and I'm only 5'8" tall. Any tall person would have knocked themselves out going to the bathroom at night. The hotel itself is very attractive. The restaurant and bar are very good. The grounds are well kept. Parking is free.

Room Tip: Don't get a facing front, dormer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay- we really appreciate your business. Judging your comments, you were staying on the fourth floor, and due to the construction of the building are a little smaller with slanted ceilings. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable experienc in our restaurant and that our staff was accomodating. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for five weeknights at the end of September for our honeymoon and were delighted. The check-in process was a little dicey (the time our room was supposed to be ready kept changing) but that was a very minor issue really. We stayed in room 413 (a deluxe king mountain view room) and i can't recommend that room enough if you're considering the same classification. The view was outstanding! It was a corner room facing both the front courtyard and the mountains on the side. The jacuzzi tub was awesome and the room was very large. We did get a glimpse of some of the standard rooms while they were being cleaned and they were very small. I'm now quite glad that we had a deluxe king for such a long stay.

I can see where the place can get unbearable during the summer. Even in the fall with lows at night in the low 40's/upper 30's our room didn't get below 70 degrees. It was just fine for us. They provide a fan and we left the windows open all the time. It stayed comfy both day and night.

The staff was delightful (especially Jimmie in the bar and Sandi on the tour) and prompt. We visited the bar area almost daily and never had to wait too long for service, even while it was quite busy.

Yes there are tours and they're pretty frequent. However having a corner room kept foot traffic down to a point where i rarely noticed someone going by. And the crowds in the lobby weren't too crazy, the people were nice and didn't invade your space.

I think several people who wrote negative reviews perhaps weren't prepared for the truly historic feel of the hotel. There aren't coffee pots or things like that (there was an iron and hair dryer) but we didn't miss the normal convenience items. That being said I wouldn't want to stay here during the warmer months without the AC.

Just two other small things. We did find used tissues stuffed between the mattress and the bedframe. The bar also ran out of the bacon vodka for the bacon bloody mary's (the ONE drink i was dying to try). The bartender said that they never ever run out of it but didn't say when they would be getting more in. They also were still advertising it all over the hotel. Really very minor issues, i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again :)

Room Tip: If you want to stay on the haunted 4th floor but don't want to pay the price consider room 413...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Lauzon, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your most memorable vacation! You are correct that 413 is a spectacular room- it is one of my favorites! I am so pleased that our staff was able to exceed all of your expectations- although we did have a couple of mistakes while you were here. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we wish you all the best and many years of happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing