We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Silver Moon Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$115
QualityInn
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Estes Park Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$159
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murphy's River Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Estes(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nicky's Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StoneBrook Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,765)
Filter reviews
2,765 results
Traveler rating
1,106
814
457
259
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,106
814
457
259
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourstephen kingcascades restaurantwhiskey barbeautiful hotelthe main hotelfourth floorhaunted roomghost huntersparanormal activityhaunted hotelscary maryconcert hallgreat historybucket listnight tourhotel tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,506 - 2,511 of 2,765 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2012

If you have the chance to stay in the Stanley, do. We live only 1.5 hrs from Estes and sometimes just go up for lunch or dinner, but staying overnight is so wonderful. Old world charm, amazing views, top-notch service and, of course, many stories of those that have stayed there. Jack Nicholson filmed The Shining here. Halloween is a special time with costume parties -- book very, very early for this time of year. Chirstmas season is beautifully decorated. Estes Park is a tourist town and is crowded in the summer because it's the main entrance to the wonderful Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park -- a must!! Estes is a one-street town with shops, cafes, restaurants and western saloons. Fall is an amazing time because of the elk-mating season (October) - they will be everywhere - even is the streets -- fun time!

Room Tip: Book early around Halloween, Chistmas and the summer. Rooms are all different themes and sizes and have various views -- some of the mountains, some of town and some of the parking lot. The rooms are all wonderful, but ask about the view if that's important to you.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kywood1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

We are proud of our location and our historic charm. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your visit with us! As you mention, any time of year is a good time to come to Estes Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

To fully understand how EstesPark came to be, thanks to the Stanleys. An informative and entertaining History Tour can't be beat. For a Different kind of entertainmennt get on the Ghost Tour also. Many people are aware of the Stephen King connection but many other interesting stories are included. We had extra guests in our room every night, so much so that we recorded our own video recording. This hotel can't be beat for location and importamce to the area. Our personal observations and experiences will never be for gotten. In contrast to this, we were very disapointed with one aspect of the Ghost Tour, at one stairwell we were instructed to take flash photos with "Cell Phones" only, to capture an image of a small childs "energy". True to the guides instructions nothing is seen with conventional cameras, only Cell cameras. Our conclusion was not energy but interference between the cell cameras flashing at the same time. This location needs no tricks to prove activity.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich_N_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Ghosts & History tour which combines information on our history, our connection to the Shining and many ghost stories. We also offer a Concert Hall tour that focuses mainly on paranormal activity. We do encourage still photography of any kind on our tours, and many guests have caught images they just can't explain using all different types of cameras. Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I chose the Stanley hotel as a quick one night getaway from Denver to enjoy our 7-year anniversary. First, we were very pleased to get a discounted rate online. We arrived on a Friday at 3pm and were able to check in right away. We had dinner reservations at the Cascades Restaurant at 6pm so we spent a couple of hours in the bar enjoying a few drinks and winding down from our drive. The bartenders were very friendly and we enjoyed hearing their stories of paranormal activity that takes place in the hotel. Our dinner was AMAZING. We ordered a special bottle of wine that the restaurant manager helped us choose and he even treated us to another bottle of wine, free of charge! We ordered the crabcakes for an app (awesome), then had the ceaser salads with their bread and butter (both awesome). We both ordered the filet and they were cooked perfectly (awesome) and served with a delicous house-made steak sauce (awesome) plus mashed potatoes and vegetables that were equally as delicious. For dessert, we chose the chocolate trio which was just as amazing as the rest of our meal. We enjoyed a nice leisurely dinner without feeling rushed and were able to make it to our 8pm ghost tour. The tour was very informative, we had no real paranormal activity occur on our tour, save for a door that kept closing on its own, but my husband is convinced it was due to the HVAC system. We got back to our room which was quite warm at 70 degrees. This was probably the only thing that kept me from getting a good nights sleep. We just couldn't get the room to cool down. The bed was comfortable, though, and our room, although small, was very adequate for our stay. We didn't hear any footsteps, doors slamming, or voices in the night, although I admit it might've been cool to have the experience. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and we will return to the Stanley Hotel, and especially to the Cascades Restaurant.

Room Tip: The second floor is known as the "dead" floor when it comes to paranormal activity, so if you don't want to worry about ghosts visiting during the night, stay on this floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsh72co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We were given an overnight stay as a Christmas gift from our daughters. We just got back today, Jan. 29, 2012. We checked in around 4:00 p.m. yesterday. We were given room 408 to stay in. Upon entering our room, we instantly felt how cold the room was and realized the heat was evidently not on. The thermostat was reading 50 degrees which was the lowest it would register (it may have actually been colder than that in the room). We kept our down jackets on and waited for the room to warm up. As cold as the room was, we knew it might take awhile for the room to warm up, but after an hour and 15 min. we felt it wasn't getting any warmer and the thermostat was still registering 50. So, we called the front desk and told them our situation. They said they would send someone up to check it out. We had dinner reservations, and left the room to go eat and then see a movie at the theater. As we walked down the hall we saw a hotel maintenance guy and told him our heat was not working. He said they were having that problem with all of the rooms on that side of the building because of the very strong winds. He told us he would check it out, but if he couldn't get it to work, he could put a space heater in our room. We told him we would appreciate that. Well we got back to the hotel about 10:30 last night. We opened the door to our room and saw a very small cube type space heater that he had not bothered to plug in or turn on for us. We got it going right away hoping it would heat up quickly. We stayed in our coats until we went to bed an hour later and slept in sweats, sweatshirts and socks. Things finally started to warm up sometime in the early morning hours. When we got out of bed this morning, we found out we also did not have hot water in the sink or the shower. We let the water run for 30 minutes and it remained cold. We checked out as soon as we were dressed, and told the front desk staff that we were not happy with our stay. He apologized and said that they were having problems with all of the heaters in the rooms on that side of the building. He said they had already told maintenance that the space heaters should have been plugged in and turned on. (Evidently other people had that happen to them too.) So far as the cold water, he said they didn't have other complaints about that. He asked me if we planned to dine somewhere in Estes Park for breakfast. I said we were going to go to the Egg & I. He handed me a plastic card and said "Here, you can get 20% off of your breakfast there with this card". My thoughts were - you should be refunding our room cost instead of giving us a small discount off of an inexpensive breakfast, but I didn't say anything. I'm not a complainer and am not comfortable causing a big stink. I just told them I hope they don't put anyone else in that room tonight if things are not working properly. Well, 5 minutes later we were at the Egg & I and when we mentioned the card we were given which stated "Cascades Restaurant" on it which is the restaurant inside the Stanley, we were told we could not use that card at the Egg & I. The restaurant staff was very nice and called the Stanley Hotel for us. She said she spoke to the restaurant staff as well as the front desk staff and asked about the card we were told we could use at their restaurant since they have no affiliation with The Stanley. She said they told her the card was for The Cascades Restaurant. Why would the hotel staff give us this card and tell us we could get 20% off breakfast at the Egg & I. I asked the lady who I think was the owner or manager if perhaps they gave us the wrong card and she said no, they don't take any kind of card from The Stanley. Needless to say, we will not be returning to The Stanley. It was nice to be back in my warm home and I now plan to go take a hot bath and crawl into my warm bed and hopefully get a much better nice sleep than we did last night!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Thanks to Groupon we were able to stay at the Stanley Hotel at a discounted rate. The room was NOT discounted. We had a back corner room. Huge closet, generous bathroom, two windows and king size bed. The mattress was very comfortable. There were plenty of pillows and an extra blanket. If you want a room with ghosts be sure to ask when you book your room. Be sure to do the ghost tour if you have time during your stay. You get a great history of the Stanley family and the hotel, including ghost sightings. The bar and restaurant are very good. There's even a cafe in the basement for snacks, coffee and gelato.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews