We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but not comfortable”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The grounds and building are beautiful. For the price I would stay just one night for the experience. There is no air conditioning, and we paid $50. for two people to eat pancakes for breakfast and that was the cheapest meal! Coffee wass $4.00, no complimentary coffee here. Historic? yes, Interesting? Yes. Expensive for what you are experiencing? Yes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amber5151d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

We are sorry to hear that you wer not comfortable during your stay. We do our best to ensure that each guest has a wonderful stay, but it has been a very warm summer so far. We hoe you will give us another chance in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,407 - 2,413 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

One caveat...if you are expecting a cookie cutter hotel with rooms that appear new then you won't want to stay at The Stanley. Our family however enjoyed our stay in 2 rooms in the main hotel. Each room was furnished differently and each bath was different as well. We loved that one bath had an old oval window that we could crank open for a lovely view of the flagpole with the American flag flying in the breeze. Made for great photos. In fact, the entire hotel has so many lovely areas for photos. If you like historic hotels full of character with beautiful public areas then you will love The Stanley.

Our beds were comfy and the only hitch was that the heat did not work in one of our rooms. A call to the front desk brought 2 friendly guys from maintenance to our room within 10 minutes with several small heaters in hand. They plugged those in until they had the heating issue corrected, which took about 30 minutes total. To top it off, later that evening as our teen age sons were exploring the hotel searching for a soft drink machine (they found none) they met the maintenance guys again who were kind enough to get them soft drinks.

The ghost tour was fun and a one-of-a-kind experience. We enjoyed our meal at the Cascades restaurant and although a bit pricey it was delicious. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txmom23boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

We love it when our guests are happy with the charm and character of our hotel. Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts on your stay! Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Well, let's face it. Stephen King's The Shining, along with his army of ghosties and ghoulies did more to revive The Stanley Hotel than a boardroom of public relations people Ever could! The place is bustling with activity, natural and paranormal alike.

My husband, teenage son, and of course myself, were there for only one night, as we were on our way to another destination. Still, what would a night in Estes Park be without a stopover at The Stanley? Oreos without the filling that's what - it simply can't be done. Anyway, we rented a room and stayed the night. (Actually, we rented the room a month in advance - note the sentence in the first paragraph - at this time of year the place is alive with activity. Plan ahead.

To be honest with you. The main draw for us was the ghost tours that are currently being offered. Our guide, Elyse, did such a bang up job you'd have thought she did it full time and wasn't a college student working a summer job. Elyse honey, if you have a calling towards Broadway ever - don't let anything hold you back. You were a terrifically entertaining guide, and a real asset to the hotel staff. We all learned quite a bit about Mr. Stanley, (of Stanley Steamer fame - no Not the vacuum, the Car!), as well as the resident ghosts, of which there are more than a few! The tour lasted two hours, but it was two of the fastest hours I've ever spent. I highly recommend it. I imagine it differs slightly depending on your guide, but I'm sure it would still be good. Whether you believe in ghosts or not, the tour's a lot of fun.

The hotel itself is well cared for, and a beautifully scenic place to visit. Slightly removed from the hustle bustle of Estes Park, it stands, slightly aloof, on rise. The lobby and rooms are lovely, in their antique sort of way. Our room was not in the main building, but in the one that sits just steps away. They look virtually alike. The room had been sufficiently modernized, yet kept it's quaint feel. We had a very comfortable night's sleep, and encountered nothing save pleasant dreams. (The most notoriously haunted rooms are in the main hotel.)

We ate breakfast in the restaurant. The food was fine, though not exceptional. The setting was pleasant. The night before, we had stopped by the bar to try the signature drinks - The Shining inspired, Red Rum - a, maybe too sweet, rum punch, as well as the ever popular Redrum ale - for me, a better choice.

Anyway, it was a fun, if brief, time at The Stanley. See for yourself - who knows? Maybe you'll have a close encounter of the ghostly kind!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Itravel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We traveled to Colorado just to stay in Stanley Hotel. What a disappointment!

The front desk staff is rude, especially Lisa who checked us inn. The lobby is nice, the bar and restaurant are nice as well but pricey. The room we were offered was shabby and small. No refrigerator, no coffee maker, no AC. Old curtains, old windows. The bathtub hot water wasn't working the first night, we've had to ask for repair. There are ghost hunters roaming the hotel all night disturbing your rest. The floors are squeaky, we've had very loud neighbors on the floor above two night in a row - have to call the unfriendly front desk 3-4 times at 2 am and even they can't make them stop.

The only good thing is the property itself and channel 42 where they show The Shining 24/7 ;)

The only helpful and very nice person from the staff was Jesse (tall, dark haired)! He did his best to make us feel good, despite the unpleasant situation. Thank you!

Bottom line: If you want to tour this place - do it. It is an historic site and I'm sure you know the story about Stephen King and room 217 where he got his inspiration about writing The Shining. Do not sleep there unless you have $250 to spare for no particular reason - no breakfast included or any of the "luxury" they advertise.

If the owner of this hotel read this - Please invest some money in renovating your rooms! They are horrible! Also - please teach your staff how to be nice to people.

One thing for sure - we are NOT going back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mila6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Seeing as I've got a touch of 'The Shining' myself let me predict exactly what your trip to the Stanley Hotel will look like.

1. See it from a distance, be the first to say "There it is!"
2. See the security gate, wonder if you can get in.
3. Comment on the beautiful view. Ask friends "Do you really think there is a hedge maze / topiary animals (depending on whether you watched the movie or read the book).
4. Make/Hear first "Redrum" joke
5. Enter reception area, comment on how cool it is that you get to walk the halls of the hotel from "The Shining."
6. Realize that the elevators are for 'Guests Only', comment on how cool it is that you get to stand in the lobby of the hotel from "The Shining"
7. Read the brochure and realize that you are, in fact, not in the actual hotel from "The Shining." That one is in Oregon.
8. Grab a drink in the bar, realize that this IS the hotel from Dumb & Dumber.
9. Snap a picture of yourself in front of the "Man Walks On The Moon." Newspaper on the wall.
10. Leave the hotel and drive away singing "Mock...YEAH, Ing...Yeah."

This is a beautiful stop while in Estes Park. Stop by for a cocktail, a soda or some appetizers, its really a great stop.

p.s. Be warned, if you enjoy your meal or drinks on the front porch you will never again be able to use the term "scenic view" without comparing it to your experience at the Stanley.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank dharma19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I just walked in the door from spending the weekend at the Stanley. I had traveled through Estes Park on the way to Denver some few years ago and had made a mental note that someday I wanted to stay at the huge mansion-like hotel overlooking the town below. Plus, of course, I knew of the hotel's history and role in the Shining and thought it would be fun to one day stay there.
It was mine and my husband's 20th anniversary this past weekend. We paid $150 for our room. I booked it directly through the hotel's web site, and then called to confirm the reservation a day or so later. This seemed to be the way to get the best rate.
Anyway, being from Texas, it never occured to us that any hotel would not have air conditioning. We were in room 411, which is on top floor, and we left our small window open to get a breeze. We noticed as we walked down the halls that most people had left their room doors ajar, so we did the same until we literally went to sleep for the night.
The plug in the bathroom was odd in as that it would not heat up a straight iron or blow dryer past the lowest setting, and although there is a jacuzzi bathtub, the water never got past the point of lukewarm--- and the room was stifling hot. I mention these things because those were all 'technical' issues of things that were wrong with the room.

However, I want to add that we had a wonderful time, and found the staff (contrary to a few other reviews I just got through reading) to be very accommodating. The staff was extremely helpful in my opinion, and while there was a review on here about a horror experience in trying to check out late, we didn't need a late check-out so I cannot vouch for whether or not the staff would have been helpful or not.

Let's get to the point. If you stay here, know in advance that you are paying for the experience of staying at the Stanley. You should NOT go anticipating the latest in modern conveniences. You should expect an old hotel with charm that has a gorgeous view from the front veranda. (Side note: there were drunk 20-something year olds talking very loudly on the veranda all evening long, and it ruined the experience for everyone else. Within a half hour, every other couple who had previously been enjoying the deck had abandoned the porch and these rude guests continued on while ordering multiple rounds of drinks from the bar until one of the females stumbled and could not get up. We could here them all night from our open window, and their languauge was foul and literally laced with all of the words on George Carlin's list, and several people had young children who could hear.)

Anyway, while this may seem like a bad review, I actually am attempting to point out that in SPITE of the hot room, the cold water, the not-up-to-modern-standards plug, the drunken guests on the veranda and the small rooms, we got exactly the experience we were looking for and feel that the experience of staying there vastly outweighed these inconveniences.

When we want modern standards and the utmost in luxury, this would not be our choice. If you want old-world charm, and luxury from a bygone era, you would not find a better choice than this. And no-- we didn't complain to the front desk about these problems because (as I said) we considered them part of the quirkiness of an old hotel. We could have done without the drunk wedding guests who took over the veranda all night, and we should have complained. But that aside, it was lovely and I would stay there again.

Again, I repeat-- do NOT expect the ultra modern luxury of a 5-star hotel. However, you can count on a gorgeous jaw-dropping view of the Rockies, an attentive staff, and a gracious charm akin to spending a weekend at your rich grandmother's house at the turn of the century. If this is what you are looking for, you'll love it. Probably a better fit for the over-50 and more affluent traveler who appreciates the history and will overlook the quirks than it may be for young familes with small children who may be searching for the best value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXTRAVELWRITER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

We are glad to hear that you embraced the character of our historic property. Thanks for the kind words! Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We chose Stanley Hotel in Estes Park for a romantic and luxurious get-away to the Rocky's. Well, it didn't turn out to be so cosy and luxurious after all. While the hotel looks great from outside and the view from its terrace is lovley, the rooms are rather dissapointing. For $200 / night you get a tiny, outdated room in an adjacent building facing a courtyard w/stains in the bathroom. Don't even bother to ask for a late check-out - I had to leave my boyfriend in alone in the ER to come and check out, because 'as sorry as we are, there is nothing we can do' (not even until Noon)! Also, the staff doesn't seem to be eager to provide you w/information about the town and surroundings: first, we were directed to a grocery store close to the park entrance which had nothing but chips and toast; second, we were directed to a closed emergency room. All in all, this staff is certainly neither friendly nor helpful and a courtyard view isn't $200 worth. Go to the hotel to have a beer on the porch and enjoy the view, but this is definitley not the place to stay in Estes Park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AennKaezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalleaSherrill, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

We are sorry to hear of your experience. This does not represent the type of service we hope to provide, particularly in the event of an emergency situation. We would like the opportunity to speak with you further and would like to offer our sincerest apology. Please feel free to contact the hotel and ask for the general manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
89 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
486 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: $181 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing