We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Jasper, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have been to Colorado a few times, and though we had seen The Stanley Hotel and had thought about staying sometime, it was not until June of this year that we made the trip. From the second we got there, we were in love with the hotel. The ghost tour was awesome fun, and we learned so much from our guide, Nancy, that we did not know! Our room was a dormer room on the 4th floor, and was small, but the huge flat-screen TV on the wall definitely made up for the size of the room. We had a couple of immediate issues, one with the TV, one with the hot water, and both complaints were handled immediately and professionally and corrected. The hotel is pricey, and we would not stay there more than a couple of nights and only for a special occasion, because of that, but the restaurant and the sandwich shop were delicious, again, pricey, but the food was excellent, and this was a special trip for us, so we indulged ourselves. The housekeeping staff was knowledgeable about the history of the hotel and the sights of Estes Park and beyond, very respectful, and did a good job keeping the hotel looking magnificent. The only tips I could give are: Anyone who wants a special and memorable Rocky Mountain holiday in a great old haunted hotel, should definitely stay at least one night in The Stanley, and if you get a 4th floor room, ask for a room near the fire escape. With the door open, and our room's windows open, the mountain breezes were decadent (and it was an easy way to get around having to bust through a tour group on that popular floor). :0)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy37215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Southern California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I'm a big fan of Stephen King and my husband and I are always game to stay in places that are supposedly haunted, so the Stanley Hotel was a great choice for us. We stayed there for one night a few days after Christmas after flying into Denver. The drive wasn't too bad, even in the winter. The hotel is in Estes Park, which is a quaint touristy town with lots of shops and restaurants, so there were plenty of meal choices in town. When we arrived, signs led us to the back of the hotel, when we really wanted to park in front. The front-desk clerk even commented that the signs were misleading. Our room was a bit small, but had everything we needed. We enjoyed having a flat-screen TV, with one channel devoted to showing the Jack Nicholson version of The Shining continuously. We stayed in a room on the 4th floor, which is supposed to be haunted, but we had no "visitations." By the time we had checked into the hotel, there was only one ghost tour left, which was all booked. We ended up taking a morning ghost tour, which didn't have the same impact as an evening tour. It was interesting, but not as much fun. We did some walking around the property and it's a beautiful old hotel. The elevator is the old-fashioned kind that used to have a person operate it. Hotels like these tend to be on the expensive side, but I think staying for a night can give you a taste of how the affluent of past days used to live.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any discounts when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patty49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in May. During our stay, all the furniture was replaced. We had a huge room in the manor house with brand new furniture at a very reasonable price. My wife's sister, on the other hand, paid twice the price for a room in the main building, only to be upgraded to the Presidential Suite. So she had 5 bedrooms, 4 baths, a full kitchen and living room, laundry and furnished deck overlooking the mountains. The downside was there was nothing historical about it. Our room still had the feel of a 100 year old hotel.

We ate several breakfasts, a lunch and a dinner in the retaurant. Like many Estes Park establishments, they offer game. We tried elk, bison and wild boar meatloaf, buffalo sliders and elk and buffalo sausage. All were excellent, as were the salad, eggs, seafood bisque, etc.

The grounds are magnificent, with a view of the Rockies on a clear day and elk roaming the premises. There is no need to leave the property for a close encounter! We traveled throughout the hotel night and day without problems, posing in front of 217 and getting a shot of Mrs Stanley's ghost at the piano. Part of each evening was spent with a glass of wine in front of one of the 2 large fireplaces in the lobby.

My only small complaint was housekeeping. The same piece of lint sat under the bathroom sink for our entire stay.

This was a great vacation and the Stanley Hotel lived up to its promise for us.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. No 2 rooms are alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BamaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent my 50th birthday at the Stanley this year, it was quite a treat! The day we got there, they were refurnishing all of the rooms, so we had to wait to register into our room, but the hotel staff made up for it by upgrading us to a King room on the 4th floor. It was very nice, brand new bed, with beautiful furnishings.

The entire experience was excellent. We had dinner in the Steamer's Restaurant - it was good, but a little pricey. Regardless, we went there for the experience, so expected to pay a little exra. The overall hotel is a work of art, nestled in a beautiful setting. We went on the ghost tour, which provided a wonderful history of the hotel and was also lots of fun. I captured a picture of an orb during the tour, and others after the tour in our room later that evening. We stayed in room 428. It was very quiet - I don't think anybody else was on the 4th floor except for us. I was not frightened staying there. If there are ghosts that inhabit this hotel, they are there because they love it so much that they don't want to leave. I can't blame them for that!

Before going to the Stanley, I read other reviews that it was rather loud and creaky. Yes it is an old hotel, and the floors creak, but we had quite the opposite experience. It was extremely quiet and we both slept sound - maybe because we were on the top floor.

This was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it to other travelers! I only wish that we could have stayed another day or two. It was the highlight of our entire vacation!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldielocks512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We recently stayed at the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, Colorado. We enjoyed seeing the
hotel and taking the history tour. We stayed in the rooms on both sides of the room that
was the inspiration for the Shining. No Ghosts!! The hotel lacks air conditioning but was
comfortable with the windows open. We woke up in the morning the the sounds of Elk.
I felt like I was in an episode of Northern Exposure with the Elk walking through town and grazing in peoples yards. Definately worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdillon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

What a great place to spent the night. The staff treated us exceptionally well, the room was wonderful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A hearty thanks to the folks at the Stanley for an excellent birthday surprise for my wife!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACRobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, UK.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Setting was perfect. Hotel is recently renovated and very comfortable. Atmosphere is relaxed; service excellent. Food was surprisingly good, and service again spot-on. We had a marvelous relaxing couple of days in between busy business trips. I would come back and invite all my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#6 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#4 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing