We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated....not worth the price!”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed May 6, 2011

My husband and I have been looking forward to staying at The Stanley Hotel for years. We finally had the opportunity to make the trip. At first I was shocked at the sticker price to stay for one night....$369! This didn't include any extras (breakfast, dinner, ghost tour, etc.) We thought it had to really nice for this price. I booked the trip online and also thought I resevered a ghost tour for 2. We really wanted to go on tour in the evening. When we got there, we found out the tour tickets hadn't been resevered. The clerk indicated the website is misleading and that we needed to call to make the reservation. The tour was booked so we were out of luck. The next morning we woke to a cold shower. When my husband tried to turn the handle to get hot water, it broke off! This was not the experince we expected for the price. We had a good laugh on our way home. The best part of our stay was the continuous play of "The Shining" on Channel 42. BTW - "The Shining" (the movie) wasn't filmed here. We were suprised to find this out. We can cross it off our "Bucket List", but would never stay here again for the obscene prices they charge and quality of accomodations they provide.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loves2Travel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,575 - 2,581 of 2,658 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

Upon arrival, the staff were friendly, informative and efficient. Our room was sunny and clean with a bed so high and puffy that wooden bedside stairs were provided to help you get into it.

The ghost tour was equal portions of Stanley Hotel history and Stanley Hotel ghost stories. The tour guide was funny and knowledgeable.

The service at their restaurant, Cascades, was friendly and prompt. We ordered a bottle of Tattinger champagne which they didn't have, but they offered a better alternative which more than compensated.

The hotel itself was just what I imagined - old world charm, enormous fire places, sweeping, views of the mountains, and original fittings. It was festive with lights, but the age of the place and the creaking floors were enough for the imagination to work overtime, especially after a few ghost stories.

Dumb and Dumber was filmed here, and Stephen King spent a night in 217 with his wife which inspired The Shining. He wrote the first draft in 7 days!

After a day of hiking or snow shoeing in the Rocky Mountain National Park, it's so nice to come retrun to the warm hospitality and luxury of the Stanley.

We both loved it and plan to return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: room 217 is one of the most haunted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieBrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We went for one night to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. For the bucket list, this is a good place to stay but for comfort and relaxation choose another place to stay. The first room we were given was okay but way over priced. It is billed as mountain views but the windows were dirty and you can not sit by the window and enjoy the view. There was only one comfortable chair to relax in. We opted to go down in scale and it was a nice room but not great. Someone else staying at the hotel banged on our door at 1:30 in the morning. We had our window open to get fresh air and other guests were loud until 3 am.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mytrips001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for staying with The Stanley on your special day!
We are proud to announce our new room furnishings arrive this week. We understand the importance of comfort, so we are excited about our new room enhancements. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

My son and daughter-in-law and I just returned from 3 days at the Stanley. We had all been intrigued by what we had seen on various ghost shows and by the location, so we came for a short break.
The hotel is beautiful and the staff super helpful and friendly. The whole place is beautifully maintained. The restaurant and bar were excellent with very friendly staff. The ghost tour was a hoot; our guide Kevin made it highly entertaining - historical with just enough about the ghost stories to make it fun, not terrifying :-)

We might have even experienced a little ghostly activity ourselves, but very subtle...

The views are stunning. It was off season but felt so cozy. We will always associate our stay with coinciding with the Royal Wedding of Will & Kate, which we watched bits of while there. A magical place with a big flavor of history and mystery.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillerBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

We were delighted to have you stay three days with us here at the Stanley Hotel, the pleasure was all ours! We appreciate you taking time to share your experience at The Stanley- please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

My sister and I stayed there becuase Hollywood effect the hotel has. We went on the Tour and found it very interesting! The guide was new but did a great job. Had she not mentioned to me that she was new I would not have known. The front desk was professional and gave us an upgrade. The room was small but the bathroom was very nice. The showerhead was large and the tub had jets. The night auditor, Kristen, was AMAZING! She answered all our questions and helped us with everything. Great employee!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgirl12286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us at the Historic Stanley Hotel. We areglad you enjoyed your hotel tour and found it interesting- we are proud of our 102 years of history and love to share our story! I am happy that Kristen provided amazing service and made your stay more enjoyable, we love having have her as part of our team.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

we actually stayed in october of 2009,but the date wouldn't go back that far!

we stayed in the same room jason hawes on ghost hunters stayed in,rm #401,and had a lot of activity from the playful spirits there. the closet door opened and closed several times,the t.v. turned itself off and on,the covers were pulled off of us in the night and there was audible whispering in the room.

so if you are looking for a good paranormal experience,the stanlty is the way to go!

Room Tip: request rm#217 or 401 well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank melodieterry75150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Dear Ghost Hunter,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Our happy haunts tend to make the Stanley Hotel a great place for a paranormal investigation. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We loved our stay at The Stanley. it is steeped in history and has such elegant charm. We had a suite room which was huge. The rooms and hotel are very old fashioned but that's part of the point of going there, in my opinion. The Cascades restaurant makes great drinks (with throwbacks to the Shining like "red rum punch") and the food is pretty good too. It was snowing when we went which was a nice touch to the weekend, and the views of the mountains are spectacular.
We also took the ghost tour and it was fascinating to me, as I have always been a huge Stephen King fan. We will definitely be back and do recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel is creaky-maybe a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

We are happy to hear you loved your recent stay with us and invite you to come back again soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 28 in Estes Park
491 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 28 in Estes Park
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: $184 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Groupon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing