We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most interesting places we ever stayed.”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Pleasanton, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the most interesting places we ever stayed.”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

For the age and local of the place, very clean and well maintained. If you do stay in certain rooms, expect the unexpected. And don't think things only go bump in the night. We had quite an early morning experience. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic. Thanks, Stanley.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srvfndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Excellent service and Fantastic Food is a wonderful compliment. We enjoy offering a great experience- hurry back please! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    727
    413
    234
    115
See reviews for
625
1,180
80
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casper
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This was our second trip to the Stanley Hotel and it was even better than the first time we went. We got a really good rate through Groupon from the Denver area. The entire experience was professional and very friendly. Reservations were a breeze. The front desk people were excellent. The Cascades restaurant was wonderful. The scallops and the fillet mignon were done to perfection and the wait staff were wonderful. Everything we asked for was given with a smile. Shout out to Kevin our ghost tour guide. He really had a lot of info and you can really tell he loves his job an the Stanley Hotel. Loved the trip an will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sithsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
We take great pride in offering the best in historic lodging. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My wife and I travel to the Stanley at least once a year, usually more. It is our Anniversary Favorite Get-a-way. Don't be concerned about things to do in the area. It's hard to NOT find fun things if you enjoy History, National Forest, Roaming Elk, and Small town feel.

I don't know if Ghosts are your Cup of Tea, but they are to us. We have had many contacts with unusual activities and have taken pictures of apparitions (not merely Orbs). The Hotel has a great Ghost Tour as well. We can assure you that any time you spend at the Stanley and Estes Park Colorado, will be well worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichDeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Exploring Estes Park can be a wonderful time! So happy to hear you enjoyed our history. We love to share our story !
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience- we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We checked in on Thur had the entire front veranda to ourselves, enjoying a beer and beautiful weather. The lil town of Estes Park is not entirely inhabited this early in the season. The only drawback was that in the lobby of The Stanley stood an advertisement for several different ghost tours of the properties, the problem was that even though advertised, we were told the tour we wanted to do was not being given until summer! RUBBISH! Should not advertise what is NOT available, We would have paid the price for the tour or even did the standard ghost tour with additional 'Concert Hall' tour that was advertised but not offered. This time we responded to an offer of stay with us and receive an 'EMF' detector, even with this premium the stay was less expensive than the last 2 stays since we did not request a 'haunted' room. We have stayed in 217 and 401 each of which cost double what our stay this trip cost. The haunted rooms are a treat if you are into that sort of thing, after being in a normal room I'm a bit partial to the haunted rooms and will plan on staying in the Manor House's haunted room next time. We spent 3 nights prior to the night at The Stanley in a hot-tub cabin for 2, shopping and eating at all the fine establishments that were open this time of year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon_Plonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you for your continued business. The early spring is a great time to visit Estes Park. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and look forward to your 4th stay with us! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The Stanley is absolutely amazing. From the friendly staff, comfortable rooms, to the beautiful mountains views from the large porch. Ive been to the Stanley 6x now& plan to go back once i visit CO again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexi3443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
We are so happy to hear about your AMAZING stay! We appreciate your feedback and your business and can not wait to serve you again soon!

Thank you,Thank you,Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Reno, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I love this place. The staff was wonderful and went well beyond their line of duty. The hotel was fantastic and made me feel at home. I wish I could have stayed longer. That is why I am going back in June! I would highly recommend this place to everyone. We went with our 3 girls; ages 9, 12, and 13. They were highly entertained and welcomed there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for the kind review- See you again in June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Small rooms on the 4th floor, creaky floors but full of character. Don't come here with expectations of marble vanities or big party atmosphere. It's very much a turn of the 20th century historic stay with complete wifi and a large screen TV. Large areas are closed to the public but available on the tour. Book the tour well in advance. Don't pay more than $200 a night here unless you book 401 or 217 (THE most haunted rooms here). I stayed across from 401 and was haunted from the moment I arrived. Knocks on my door and scratching on it in the middle of the night. Bring earplugs b/c lots of people walking around snapping photos all night and the walls are thin. Food is EXCELLENT. Bar is small and intimate. Gift shop is totally pricey. Lounge areas and overall location beautiful. Not recommended for solo travelers unless you want to stay up all night in fear!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkthinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us at The Historic Stanley Hotel. Our property enhancement will be wrapping up this May and we are very excited for the end result! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to serving you the next time you come up the canyon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
55 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
473 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
603 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing