We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
1 review
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The Stanley is absolutely amazing. From the friendly staff, comfortable rooms, to the beautiful mountains views from the large porch. Ive been to the Stanley 6x now& plan to go back once i visit CO again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexi3443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
We are so happy to hear about your AMAZING stay! We appreciate your feedback and your business and can not wait to serve you again soon!

Thank you,Thank you,Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    717
    403
    229
    108
See reviews for
605
1,160
78
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Reno, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I love this place. The staff was wonderful and went well beyond their line of duty. The hotel was fantastic and made me feel at home. I wish I could have stayed longer. That is why I am going back in June! I would highly recommend this place to everyone. We went with our 3 girls; ages 9, 12, and 13. They were highly entertained and welcomed there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for the kind review- See you again in June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Small rooms on the 4th floor, creaky floors but full of character. Don't come here with expectations of marble vanities or big party atmosphere. It's very much a turn of the 20th century historic stay with complete wifi and a large screen TV. Large areas are closed to the public but available on the tour. Book the tour well in advance. Don't pay more than $200 a night here unless you book 401 or 217 (THE most haunted rooms here). I stayed across from 401 and was haunted from the moment I arrived. Knocks on my door and scratching on it in the middle of the night. Bring earplugs b/c lots of people walking around snapping photos all night and the walls are thin. Food is EXCELLENT. Bar is small and intimate. Gift shop is totally pricey. Lounge areas and overall location beautiful. Not recommended for solo travelers unless you want to stay up all night in fear!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkthinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us at The Historic Stanley Hotel. Our property enhancement will be wrapping up this May and we are very excited for the end result! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to serving you the next time you come up the canyon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

If you're older or traveling with young kids, this is probably not going to work for you. Let's just all be honest here, the Stanley is a TOURIST attraction. If you have no intention of walking around at all hours of the night, it's probably not the place for you to stay. Also, if hearing other people walking around at all hours of the night bothers you, go stay somewhere else. That is simply what happens here.

The front desk staff were amazing, even when we were wandering around asking a million questions at 2 o'clock in the morning. They always greeted us with smiles and seemed to really care about giving us answers.

Everyone staying at the hotel that my fiance and I encountered were fun and there to have a good time. I love that people invited us into their rooms to see if we could stir up any "activity." Basically the principle was - if our door is cracked, you are more than welcome to come in. Thank goodness we are so friendly, because we had a lot of fun meeting people from all over who were out to have a good time.

Our room was quite large compared to some others we saw, but it is a historic hotel and who needs a hotel room you can do aerobics in? Not me!

Overall, best experience I have ever had in a "posh" hotel. My fiance and I are now looking into getting married there, since the customer service was so wonderful.

Thank you guys!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcoston101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
We enjoyed having you as our guest! Thank you!

- See you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterset, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We recently stayed at the Stanley Hotel. I would like to say that you
have the most considerate and accommodating staff we have encountered
during our travels to many wonderful locations. We found the people at the
front desk to be especially warm, helpful, sincere and courteous. They were very friendly and we enjoyed visiting with them and found them to be
very entertaining and informative. The bartenders
were equally warm and courteous and took time to talk to us and tell
us so much about the Stanley and how much they enjoyed working there.
Our waitress was a delight and very friendly also. Again
our stay was very memorable and we can't wait to come and stay at the
Stanley again. We will definitely be making a return
trip to the Stanley.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funhomeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Greetings from Estes Park!

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill City, SD
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2011

My husband and I LOVE this hotel. We have always wanted to visit it after seeing it on Ghost Hunters. Besides the whole ghost thing, we were blown away by this hotel. It has been restored to still have that Victorian theme, not to look like some super sleek modern thing. We stayed in the sweet like the Steven King sweet. It was clean and beautifully decorated. We also ate at the hotel restaurant and my husband thinks it's one of the best gourmet meals he's ever had. We will both always remember our stay here. If you're expecting some fancy pants modern hotel, then obviously you will be disappointed, but if you're looking for a beautiful, elegant, historic hotel, this is the spot! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbelczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Stanley Hotel! We enjoyed serving you and appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This hotel........man i can't describe it. It was awesome. The staff was very acomidating and really nice! They really want you to enjoy your stay and want you to return. The scenery was breathtaking. I recomend this hotel to any one. Escpaily those who are into the paranormal.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeghanA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieHoy, Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us! The Stanley Hotel looks forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
463 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
780 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 333 Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9665
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities. Take a ghosts and history tour... Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout the property... Indulge in our full-service spa... Experience Cascades Restaurant... Savor a Starbucks’ Coffee... Or just relax and enjoy the view from your luxurious room, suite or private villa! Come, experience The Stanley Hotel: 7,500 feet above the ordinary in beautiful Estes Park, an hour from Denver and minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.The Stanley Hotel is a luxurious historic landmark hotel in a spectacular mountain-view location, offering old-world charm matched with the latest of modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Estes Park
Stanley Hotel Colorado
Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing