We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven!”
Review of Ponderosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ponderosa Lodge
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed one night only but was the best part of our three week vacation. The rooms are a little small but rustic and cozy. The river is literally just steps from the deck and the sounds of the river combined with the wooded setting made it the most relaxing stay. I will definaty stay there again if I'm in Estes park.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lzfarmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Ponderosa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The room was so clean and yes, outdated, but we didn't research everything about estes park to stay in the room the entire trip. Wanted a clean bed, clean towels, a mini kitchen and great scenery. We got that here. Opened the back door to hear the river and one step out and your looking at it. Kids were in heaven. Close to downtown, too. Josh was awesome to work with. We will stay here every time we come back.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Elyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We started with just 2 nights but as soon as we arrived we fell in Love with the Ponderosa Lodge. Josh and his staff were very friendly and the grounds and rooms were well kept and very clean!!! If you wanted a tip on food or ideas for what to do and see they gave you excellent ideas! We ended up cancelling our next two nights reservations at another hotel and ended up staying 4 nights total at the Ponderosa with Josh and his staff always ready to help or advise us! I can still picture and hear the river which flowed right below our room. If our son wasn't getting married in Denver we would have stayed longer. We will definitely return for a longer stay and have already recommended the Ponderosa to guests at our sons wedding as well as friends!!! If your going to Estes Park the Pondersosa Lodge is the place to stay!!!

Room Tip: If your going to Estes Park the Ponderosa Lodge is definitely the place to stay!!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eg28294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was amazed how uninterested the Manager and Owner was in their investment. The Flood of 2013 must have left them short on cash and interest in the cabins. Carpet ..Dirty
Refrigerator was still filled with half eaten food. Trash bins were not emptied and had prescription boxed from previous guests still in bin... Handles were missing from shower..I feel bad giving this review as I believe they are struggling to get some positive cash flow, but their price was quite high for the lack of cleanliness and quality..Don't believe the Web site..Sub standard..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CIAHypnosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have stayed at the lodge three times and always a nice time. The rooms are spacious, clean and I love hearing the sound of the stream right outside your room. The hot tub sits right along the stream and is very relaxing. Every room we have stayed in has had a fire place, table,kitchenette and balcony over looking the stream. A few minutes from Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park, with plenty to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This past September, my family was displaced from our home, due to the flooding, in Estes Park. Upon seeking temporary housing, I learned that Ponderosa Lodge, at 1820 Fall River Road, in Estes Park, was offering relief to victims of the disaster. I approached the management, of Ponderosa Lodge to inquire about accommodations for my wife, three kids and myself. The response that I received was overwhelmingly warm, supportive and sincere. The manager, Josh, immediately found two rooms that were spacious and comfortable, for my family. He made it a priority to see that we experienced no further inconvenience or difficulty, with regard to housing, as a result of the flooding. After we were settled, Josh provided me with a great deal of information, regarding local, state and federal relief efforts, being conducted in the community. He went far beyond his responsibilities, as a manager, to see that our needs were met. For five days, we stayed in two rooms that were nicely appointed with furniture and decor that exceeded typical lodging accommodations. The rooms were extremely clean and well maintained. The kitchenette had everything that we needed to prepare meals for the five of us. The beds were large and comfortable. If you're visiting, from out of town, you'll appreciate the proximity of the lodge, in relation to the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, just a couple of miles away. At the end of the week, our bill was covered by one of the relief agencies that Josh had referred us to. I'm not sure what the difference was but I know that the agency paid the Ponderosa less than their normal rate. Still, the management and staff treated us like royalty! For clean, comfortable accommodations and genuinely good people, I cn not recommend the Ponderosa Lodge highly enough! Oh yeah, the hot tub sits along side of the river and provides yet another amenity that sets this property apart. Give them a try. You'll be glad that you did! John A.

Room Tip: Try to get as close to the hot tub as possible!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Ponderosa Lodge shares easy access to Rocky Mountain National Park and provides a quiet, serene atmosphere. You can enjoy the feeling of the outdoors by listening to the river and watching the wildlife. The property is clean and a nice place to stay in the Estes Park area. Enjoy your stay!

Lori H.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
323 reviews
2.4 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
1,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#34 of 78 in Estes Park
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#20 of 78 in Estes Park
232 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nicky's Resort
Nicky's Resort
#19 of 29 in Estes Park
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Lodge

Address: 1820 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $92 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponderosa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing