We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character”
Review of Ponderosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ponderosa Lodge
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Character”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I loved staying at the Ponderosa. Josh was a great host and gave us tips on where to eat & visit. The room was very clean and had 2 windows overlooking the water. The room was good sized. The bed was comfortable, heat worked well. Bathroom towels were nice and thick - Laura Ashley brand if I recall correctly.
Next time I am in Estes Park, will most certainly stay at the Ponderosa. I had a great experience. I'm not sure where all the negative reviews are coming from, I have no complaints at all.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
41
53
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This "lodge" is a mix between an OLD roadside Motel 6 and the Bates Motel. It is close enough to the highway to hear and see all the traffic. The room was super tiny, with the worst mattress I had ever slept on. The sheets were old and of poor quality, which did at least match the quality of the room. The room was very warm and stuffy but we were not allowed to open the screen at night, due to the invasion of wildlife...no AC either. The owner is a strange little man, who brags of his "advanced degrees," which is great but all he really needs to run a lodge in Estes is a cheerful personality...which is apparently not taught in College. Now, none of this would be so bad if we hadn't spent $120+ per night to stay there. Check out time is 10:00am which seemed early when I made the reservation over the phone, but we were packed and ready to go by 8:00am....since we hardly slept a wink on the worn out mattress. Paying anything over $50 per night is overpaying...There are lots of choices in Estes..think long and hard before staying at the Ponderosa Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank maountaingirl914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

First of all I was checked into a room other then the one I paid for, when I was checked into the room the room was filthy full of trash, dirty toilets, dirty linens. The kitchen wasn't fully stocked with coffee, cream, sugar and necessities, etc. The evening was very unpleasant I have children sleeping on the floor and there was mice running all over the place. I was promised a discount for being put into the wrong room and the commitment was never fulfilled. As far as the front desk, owner and staff goes they were very rude because the owner and representative Josh never fulfilled their promise on the discount, Josh was very rude and discourteous and just kept saying the person that I made the reservation with should've never did what she did instead of just taking the initiative to correct mistake and fixing it and apologizing for their actions a company and as a whole. I strongly recommend that no one stays with PONDEROSA LODGE They are very distasteful and don't care how much money and time a person puts into researching different motels, lodges etc and come to a decision that includes them in your stay my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponderosal, Owner at Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Though this review was written a year ago, I thought it was time to respond. In the 22 years I have owned the lodge, I have overbooked a unit three times. Unfortunately, this was one of them. When the conflict was identified, the group was offerred their money back, or the choice of another unit. The unit which they selected was a cabin, larger than the one they had booked, and recently remodelled. The remodel had been completed just a week or two before, and thus was "nearly new". The statements about the condition of the cabin are inaccurate. Further, they received a gift certificate, though mailed a day or two later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you like the smell of cigarettes instead of the mountain air, then this is the place for you! The front desk chick endorses smokers since she herself smokes and has asthma. So, if you're sensitive to the smell of cigarettes, suck it up, and close your balcony door since they won't do a thing about it. It's OK to smoke on the balcony as long as it's not in the room. What about smoke traveling from the balcony to the room?? Doesn't make any sense. Also, make sure you don't talk in the room because apparently the walls are paper thin that you'll be notified of a noise complaint from your next door neighbor. It's also extremely hot and stuffy when the balcony door is closed since there's no air ventilation or AC in the room. I've been to estes park 3 times, and this is the worst place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We arrived in Estes Park on Sat. March 17 without reservations and pulled into Ponderosa Lodge on an impulse. What a lucky find! We were shown two equally lovely rooms ...both well appointed, nicely decorated, and featuring fireplaces, kitchenettes and sliding doors to a deck facing the river (and leading to the riverside whirlpool) for under $100 per night. While there were only two of us, a family could have comfortably used the room since it included a hide-a-bed in the living room area. You can hear some highway traffic, but being there in off-season when it was too cool to leave the sliding door open, this was not a problem.

We felt fortunate to have stumbled upon such a well-maintained property and would happily stay at Ponderosa Lodge again.

Room Tip: We saw two rooms and would have been happy with either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iowa_is_my_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed in many places in Estes Park and finally found the place we will be going back to!! It is a rustic lodge-style situated halfway between Estes Park and the entrance of Rocky Mountain Park (2 miles each way) on Fall River. We stayed in Room 8, which was chosedn for the Queen bed and wood-burning fireplace on the 2nd floor. The room was super clean, and the entire interior of the building was renovated in the last 5 years! It was a GREAT stay with warm hospitality. Every room opens up to the Fall River with its own balcony. Maryann, the manager, is a gem and very welcoming! We will be back several times throughout the year!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The-World-Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allenspark, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Love this lodge!


You'll feel like your in the middle of nowhere once inside the main lodge area but the towns only 2 miles from you!


There are wonderful people who have been here for a long time that care/run the Ponderosa Lodge who are very friendly not to mention great to chat with in the AM while drinking coffee & petting the lodges "security system" shadow. LOL! **Want to know what I'm talking about... go stay there & find out! :)** Beautiful surroundings with the Fall River running along side the lodge, owls hooting at night, catch/release fishing & LOTS of wild life! Room's are very nice, very clean & all have a fireplace! Fall River Rd. (Hwy 34) is right next to the lodge so it's easy to find & very surprising, you can only hear the road VERY, VERY faintly from inside the room while the river at night relaxed me right to sleep.


ONLY reason I will ever stay anywhere else while in Estes Park is if the Ponderosa Lodge is SOLD OUT!

Room Tip: Ground level because your right infront of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MountainWoman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
577 reviews
2.4 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#15 of 78 in Estes Park
222 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
#3 of 20 in Estes Park
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Lodge

Property: Ponderosa Lodge
Address: 1820 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponderosa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing