We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst stay I ever had in Estes Park was with Ponderosa Lodge”
Review of Ponderosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ponderosa Lodge
Reviewed August 6, 2012

First of all I was checked into a room other then the one I paid for, when I was checked into the room the room was filthy full of trash, dirty toilets, dirty linens. The kitchen wasn't fully stocked with coffee, cream, sugar and necessities, etc. The evening was very unpleasant I have children sleeping on the floor and there was mice running all over the place. I was promised a discount for being put into the wrong room and the commitment was never fulfilled. As far as the front desk, owner and staff goes they were very rude because the owner and representative Josh never fulfilled their promise on the discount, Josh was very rude and discourteous and just kept saying the person that I made the reservation with should've never did what she did instead of just taking the initiative to correct mistake and fixing it and apologizing for their actions a company and as a whole. I strongly recommend that no one stays with PONDEROSA LODGE They are very distasteful and don't care how much money and time a person puts into researching different motels, lodges etc and come to a decision that includes them in your stay my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponderosal, Owner at Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Though this review was written a year ago, I thought it was time to respond. In the 22 years I have owned the lodge, I have overbooked a unit three times. Unfortunately, this was one of them. When the conflict was identified, the group was offerred their money back, or the choice of another unit. The unit which they selected was a cabin, larger than the one they had booked, and recently remodelled. The remodel had been completed just a week or two before, and thus was "nearly new". The statements about the condition of the cabin are inaccurate. Further, they received a gift certificate, though mailed a day or two later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you like the smell of cigarettes instead of the mountain air, then this is the place for you! The front desk chick endorses smokers since she herself smokes and has asthma. So, if you're sensitive to the smell of cigarettes, suck it up, and close your balcony door since they won't do a thing about it. It's OK to smoke on the balcony as long as it's not in the room. What about smoke traveling from the balcony to the room?? Doesn't make any sense. Also, make sure you don't talk in the room because apparently the walls are paper thin that you'll be notified of a noise complaint from your next door neighbor. It's also extremely hot and stuffy when the balcony door is closed since there's no air ventilation or AC in the room. I've been to estes park 3 times, and this is the worst place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eva Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We arrived in Estes Park on Sat. March 17 without reservations and pulled into Ponderosa Lodge on an impulse. What a lucky find! We were shown two equally lovely rooms ...both well appointed, nicely decorated, and featuring fireplaces, kitchenettes and sliding doors to a deck facing the river (and leading to the riverside whirlpool) for under $100 per night. While there were only two of us, a family could have comfortably used the room since it included a hide-a-bed in the living room area. You can hear some highway traffic, but being there in off-season when it was too cool to leave the sliding door open, this was not a problem.

We felt fortunate to have stumbled upon such a well-maintained property and would happily stay at Ponderosa Lodge again.

Room Tip: We saw two rooms and would have been happy with either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iowa_is_my_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed in many places in Estes Park and finally found the place we will be going back to!! It is a rustic lodge-style situated halfway between Estes Park and the entrance of Rocky Mountain Park (2 miles each way) on Fall River. We stayed in Room 8, which was chosedn for the Queen bed and wood-burning fireplace on the 2nd floor. The room was super clean, and the entire interior of the building was renovated in the last 5 years! It was a GREAT stay with warm hospitality. Every room opens up to the Fall River with its own balcony. Maryann, the manager, is a gem and very welcoming! We will be back several times throughout the year!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-World-Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Love this lodge!


You'll feel like your in the middle of nowhere once inside the main lodge area but the towns only 2 miles from you!


There are wonderful people who have been here for a long time that care/run the Ponderosa Lodge who are very friendly not to mention great to chat with in the AM while drinking coffee & petting the lodges "security system" shadow. LOL! **Want to know what I'm talking about... go stay there & find out! :)** Beautiful surroundings with the Fall River running along side the lodge, owls hooting at night, catch/release fishing & LOTS of wild life! Room's are very nice, very clean & all have a fireplace! Fall River Rd. (Hwy 34) is right next to the lodge so it's easy to find & very surprising, you can only hear the road VERY, VERY faintly from inside the room while the river at night relaxed me right to sleep.


ONLY reason I will ever stay anywhere else while in Estes Park is if the Ponderosa Lodge is SOLD OUT!

Room Tip: Ground level because your right infront of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MountainWoman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just spent 2 nights, the room was clean and updated, the stairs to second floor were old and short, a fragile person could fall. The room was in the middle of bldg. and a bit dark and you can hear the highway if door to porch was ajar. Had good coffee and tea in morning. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. Included a microwave and small refrigerator. Also had a fireplace, not easy to start. A good jump start to Rocky Mountain Nat. Park. The price was right for no reservations and the grounds are attractive with a play area for children and a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chi-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

we have been at ponderosa lodge 3 times before we just enjoy comeing back .MaryAnn welcomes you with a warm smile always willing to make your stay here your best. Thank you to mayy ann and her staff for all you do we will always make ponderosa lodge our place to stay when in estes park byron - peggy daniels trenton nebraska

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huskersTrentonNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#21 of 74 in Estes Park
240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 19 in Estes Park
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#13 of 74 in Estes Park
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Timber Creek Chalets
Timber Creek Chalets
#49 of 74 in Estes Park
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nicky's Resort
Nicky's Resort
#19 of 28 in Estes Park
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Lodge

Address: 1820 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $68 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponderosa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing