We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is tired. It badly needs to be remodelled.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
461 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“This place is tired. It badly needs to be remodelled.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable. We slept well, but there was no view and the inn was old and tired. Particularly the corridors were bad. We didn't have a bad time here, it just wasn't what we wanted it to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 46749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. Our corridors were just renovated last year with new carpeting, paint, and fixtures, so I hope you have us confused with another hotel! Our guest rooms begin a two year renovation this winter with an overhaul of the guest bathrooms first, and then the guest room itself by Christmas 2014. I hope you booked hotel direct and received your daily and free $20 breakfast credit for our restaurant.

Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    185
    180
    63
    47
See reviews for
196
196
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at Rocky Mountain Park Inn while in Estes Park for a 4 day RMNP trip during the July 4 long weekend this year. It is very well-located and around a 10 minute walk to the Estes Park Visitor Center from where one can catch the hiker shuttle into the park (as well as other Estes Park shuttles as needed). Thus, it is well-suited to an RMNP-focused trip, though it is not the nearest hotel to downtown Estes Park.

The rooms are comfortable, and one can request a refrigerator and a microwave at the cost of 5 dollars apiece per night, which is quite reasonable and makes for much added convenience. If you book directly (as I did), you get late checkout at 1:00 p.m. and a 20 dollar value is included for use at breakfast in the co-located restaurant (LongZ) which allows for buffet and a la carte options (note: at their prices, 20 dollars should usually suffice for 2 persons, and will be hard to use up for just one). The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. They also provide free-of-charge basic necessities that one may have forgotten and this proved very handy when I found that I had forgotten to pack a toothbrush!

One minor complaint: they mention room service on the hotel website, but it is really conditional on the restaurant not being busy, as I found on trying to order after a long and tiring day of hiking. I found it slightly rude to be told room service was not available because the restaurant was busy, given that room service during specified hours is clearly mentioned on the website (one would normally just expect to be told that the order would take longer under those circumstances).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ek_yayavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, and realized the benefits of booking directly with our website. My apologies to you in regards to room service. That issue has been addressed for your future visit. We'll be greatly updating our guest baths this winter, so please visit us once again.

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked online for just one night and was pleasantly surprised. Very large 2 bed room with comfortable sitting area and clean bathroom. Location a short drive to downtown. Bar and restaurant in hotel. Bar service slow. Didn't try the restaurant. Room was good value for the price we booked online. No elevator and we were on 3rd floor so be prepared for stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. I hope you booked direct and received the complimentary $20 breakfast credit and 1pm check out. Our free beer & wine reception is also a favorite amenity. We have just 20 rooms accesses by stairs, the other 130 have a an elevator or are main level. We havea bellman to help with luggage if needed, too.

Thank you and we hope to see you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

M y room was large and bed was comfortable. I had requested a refrigerator which they provided; however, it stopped working and several items had to be thrown away. Very convenient location. Room was very clean. Would stay again although we prefer a courtesy breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 247zoeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to see you enjoyed our hotel and your stay. We provide a $20 breakfast credit and 1pm checkout with direct to hotel bookings. Our free afternoon wine and beer reception is also a terrific perk unavailable anywhere else in town. Our location just outside of downtown and the riverwalk can't be beat.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The place is very central for families. Hotel is right next to lake Estes. The hotel has a nice lounge and restaurant. The only issue is that restaurant staff appear to be students and can be rough. Rooms are big, though furniture little old.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We absolutely have Estes Park's best location, and renovations are coming this winter. We'll easily have the best restrooms in town in just six more months! I hope you were able to enjoy the free afternoon wine and beer reception and the free $20 breakfast credit with direct to hotel bookings.

Thank you and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our room was large, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was quite slow, somewhat impaired by a large family reunion group that stood around talking with no desire to leave or to even open up access to the breakfast bar. The hotel staff probably should have politely intervened … Our meal ordered from the menu was quite slow. The hotel is in a good location; you can walk to the downtown restaurant area if you like.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. My apologies the crowds in summer. The summer season has just peaked so we'll have more open space in the htoel and around town very soon. I hope you were able to enjoy our free afternoon beer and wine reception and were able to cash in your free $20 breakfast credit from booking hotel web direct. Visit again next year and we'll have lots of room renovations for you to enjoy.

Thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is nice but is older and not too fancy. We spent two nights and got good sleep in a room that was clean and met our needs. There wasn't any kind of view from the room. If you want to feel like you are in the mountains you won't get that here. However, we did have some elk come join us for breakfast. The pool is nice - indoors only. It would be great on a raining or cool day. We had warm and sunny so decided not to use it. But the hot tub was nice after a long day of hiking RMNP.
Didn’t use the bar but did get the breakfast buffet. Better than your typical hotel buffet. Good eggs and bacon and plenty of other choices. It was a good start to the day.

Green Features: They have a good recycling program and other Green signage around. But still have a good number of incandescent lighting.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. Yes, we do enjoy a terrific location in Estes, just outside of downtown and the riverwalk, and across from the Lake Estes Trail. Our rooms will get a little "fancier" next year with planned renovations this winter. Thank you for the kudos on our hard working restaurant staff. I hope you were able to partake in our free afternoon wine and beer reception each day of your stay, as well.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle Inn
0.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Property: Rocky Mountain Park Inn
Address: 101 South Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in May 15, 2017. The Rocky Mountain Park Inn is a 100% nonsmoking hotel with everything under one roof! Enjoy free high speed wireless internet access throughout our hotel. We are the only ISO 14001 (environmentally friendly) certified green hotel in Estes Park and have a recycling bin in every room. Located just 3 blocks from downtown & the riverwalk, and surrounded by two national treasures - Rocky Mountain National Park and Roosevelt National Forest. With no mountain passes to cross, Estes Park's ideal location ensures an easy winter or summer 60-mile drive from metro Denver and Denver International Airport, yet we're only minutes from world-class hiking, biking, rock climbing, and fishing. Adjacent to the Estes Park Conference Center and directly across the street from the 4 mile long concrete trail surrounding Lake Estes, we offer amenities such as a large indoor pool, whirlpool, pool tables and arcade games, and LongZ - A Mountain Grill. Enjoy indoor climbing gyms, snow tubing, sledding, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and plenty of nearby wildlife watching in the winter. Summer brings scooter, boat & bike rentals, as well as National Park tours, mini-golf/go-carts, aerial tramway, fishing and rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rocky Mountain Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Park Hotel Estes Park
Holiday Inn Estes Park
Estes Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing