We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dismally disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Ottsville, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dismally disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The halls, carpets are quite dismal and dirty. When I checked in asked for a nice view, the response was "we are not a view hotel." OK. If you wanted the absolutely worst view you can possibly expect, we got it (photo to be posted). We overlooked the airconditioning units on the roof. Rooms were small and outdated. Finding your room can be a chore, you have to walk through a catacomb maze. The restaurant had a decent buffet breakfast if that's what you like and it was included in the price but it pretty much ended there. Service was abominable. The location is right at the intersection of two main thoroughfares. It is a short walk to downtown though you have to pass by the power plant - another lovely view. Guess you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room with a view - there is none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. If I read your review correctly, you booked our hotel in a non-view priced room (we have no view priced rooms), arrived and were told verbally that we aren't a view hotel, then were somehow surprised when your room didn't have a view. Your room actually faced Lake Estes, but only three foot high HVAC units are in front of the room you mention. There are two other full service hotels in town that sell stunningly beautiful views for twice our price, but you chose the hotel with the better price and no published views and were thereby disppointed by your decision and the lack of an amenity that was never offered.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    185
    180
    63
    47
See reviews for
196
196
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora CO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This used to be the Holiday Inn, and the interior sure shows it. It seems like, at least in the section we stayed in, none of the decor had changed. We'd stayed at the Holiday Inn a couple of years ago, and I could swear the same pictures were on the walls. The carpeting and drapes were the Holiday Inn colors of green and gold, but that was o.k., just not what we were expecting. The room was clean. I wiped the drawers, but there was no dirt or dust, so I could actually use them!, Since we booked directly with the hotel, we got a daily voucher for a free breakfast. They had breads, scrambled eggs, bacon & sausage, hot potatoes, biscuits and gravy, and pancakes. Also generous servings of juices. Nightly "reception" in the lounge with certain wines and beers free from 3:30 until 5:00, I guess subject to change. That was fun because most evenings there were people from all over to share experiences with. It was nice to see total strangers having a good time together. Pet friendly with a $15 per night charge, plus small TAX on dog charge. Easy places for dog walking. Plenty of parking. Friendly, helpful staff. This is a 100% non-smoking hotel. Some areas could use a little updating, but all in all, this was a good stay for us. Also, plenty of parking. Microwaves and fridges available for a charge. Room was quiet and it was nice because we couldn't hear people above us walking or anyone's t.v

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UsTwoCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and our tremendous value! Our hotel public areas were updated just last year. All rooms have new 32" LCD TV's and our hot tub is also new. Of the three full service hotels in town, we are by far the most reasonable, we're air-conditioned, pet-friendly, offer free wi-fi, interior corridors, no deposits and easy cancellation policy, free wine and beer each afternoon, and include a $20 breakfast credit with each direct booking. No other lodging in town can match us!

Hope to see you back soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This place was very nice after a disappointing stay at Brynwood on the river in Estes. Very quiet in the back building on 3rd floor. Only issue we had was the stair climb. Wish there was an elevator for guests with physical limitations. I would not recommend the dining there however, terrible food and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay after being disappointed elsewhere. We have just one floor that requires stairs, however, main level rooms will have the same views. Just let us know if you ever need extra assistance, or if you'd prefer a different floor, location, or view and we'd be happy to accomodate you at no extra charge! Unlike other area lodging, we are staffed 24/7 to help anytime day or night.

Thanks and be sure to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

After first being checked into a room that reminded me of a dark cave that overlooks the pool, which is covered and dark and lots of kids carrying on...We asked to be moved and were lucky enough to be moved to the back building on the 3rd floor that had excellent views of the mountains and tons of sunlight! It pays to complain.

Our new room was clean, comfortable, quiet and worth the price we paid.

The hotel is in a good location just away a bit to escape the hordes of tourists in the center of town. Across the street is an excellent Mexican restaurant with customers that seemed more local than tourists

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We're always happy to accomodate our guests with room type changes, room moves, new locations/views, etc, at no charge. All you have to do is ask! Our size typically allows many choices, so just let us know what you'd prefer and we'll get to work on it. I hope you were able to join us for our free breakfast buffet with your hotel-direct booking and our free afternoon wine and beer reception while you visited beautiful Estes Park.

Thank you and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was a decent hotel, not great, not bad. For the price we got, I was satisfied. I'd say the biggest drawbacks to this hotel are the double beds (not queens), the service at the restaurant for breakfast (slow but fortunately, we booked the room and got $20 voucher toward breakfast each day), and the strange habit of maids not replenishing towels. The pool was a definite hit with the kids, and you can't beat the location in relation to Rocky Mountain National PArk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamreg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to see you saw the value in your stay! We're typically priced 50% less than the other two full service hotels in town, and $100 per night makes a big difference in the budgets of most travelers. We also have the most liberal reservation policies in town with no deposits required, never a minimium stay, and cancellations are accepted right up until 6pm the day of arrival when booking directly with us. These policies are nearly impossible to find in Estes.

Hope to see you once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our stay was average. we have no complaints. The pillows and bed were very comfy. We would stay again if the price is right! We go to Estes a few times a year and it was nice to be closer to the shops and lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeandHabaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our terrific location. Hopefully you'll return once again this summer and enjoy our afternoon beer and wine recepetion daily from 3:30-5pm through Labor Day. You can also enjoy a free $20 breakfast buffet credit year-round simply by booking a qualifying rate directly through us! Once booked, we collect no deposits and you can cancel anytime right up until 6pm the day of your arrival should your plans change. We're the ONLY hotel in Estes offering such fantastic amenities!

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed there in July 2012. Room was only fair. Had to call maintenance to have them fix bathroom door as the latch was about ready to fall off. Pillows on the bed were way to small. THERE IS NO HANDICAPPED SERVICE, AS THE ONLY WAY FROM OUR ROOM TO THE LOBBY/RESTAUANT WAS BY CLIMBING DOWN 18 STEPS, WHICH IS A LITTLE DIFFICULT FOR A MAN WITH A BAD BACK.

BUT, the worst came after we left. I left a back brace in the room (my fault for this) but it has been seven days since then, and four phone calls, and I am still waitiing for the delivery of the brace.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to see you saw the value in your stay. Regarding your brace, we were simply waiting for your return call with your credit card info for shipping as our hotel does not keep card numbers on file. Once we had that info, we dropped your item off with the shipper and your brace was sent out. You should already have your brace as of your review posting time.

We offer two accessible ramps down to our lobby in the pool area so stairs would not be necessary for your trips to the restaurant, as you were also on our first floor near the ramps for easy access. We are pleased to help guests with additional needs if you simply let us know, we'll find a way to help! That's what we're all here for!

Thank you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Estes Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle Inn
0.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Property: Rocky Mountain Park Inn
Address: 101 South Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in May 15, 2017. The Rocky Mountain Park Inn is a 100% nonsmoking hotel with everything under one roof! Enjoy free high speed wireless internet access throughout our hotel. We are the only ISO 14001 (environmentally friendly) certified green hotel in Estes Park and have a recycling bin in every room. Located just 3 blocks from downtown & the riverwalk, and surrounded by two national treasures - Rocky Mountain National Park and Roosevelt National Forest. With no mountain passes to cross, Estes Park's ideal location ensures an easy winter or summer 60-mile drive from metro Denver and Denver International Airport, yet we're only minutes from world-class hiking, biking, rock climbing, and fishing. Adjacent to the Estes Park Conference Center and directly across the street from the 4 mile long concrete trail surrounding Lake Estes, we offer amenities such as a large indoor pool, whirlpool, pool tables and arcade games, and LongZ - A Mountain Grill. Enjoy indoor climbing gyms, snow tubing, sledding, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and plenty of nearby wildlife watching in the winter. Summer brings scooter, boat & bike rentals, as well as National Park tours, mini-golf/go-carts, aerial tramway, fishing and rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rocky Mountain Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Park Hotel Estes Park
Holiday Inn Estes Park
Estes Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing