We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay. Awesome value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay. Awesome value!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Perfect place for a relaxing weekend get-away! The rooms were immaculate and the bed very comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. The community room with daily breakfast was inviting and the breakfast variety was more than expected. Although an older facility, it's obvious that great improvements are being made and will continue. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAMF02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your compliments, we welcome and appreciate all guest feedback. Guest satisfaction is our goal, improvements/updates are a necessary tool for this to happen. I will be sure to pass on to our housekeepers your kind words,I'm sure it will be appreciated, they work hard and do a great job.
Summer is around the corner, hope to see you soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    180
    47
    13
    3
See reviews for
432
303
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a great stay over the weekend. The front desk staff are amazing! So friendly and helpful!!! The room was very, very clean. Comfortable bed. Great view!!! Estes Park is amazingly beautiful. This resort is very close to everything. Front desk staff are very knowledgable regarding good places to eat and visit.

Room Tip: Their are a row of rooms that back to Estes Lake. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Estes Park is awesome, We are fortunate to have a great team here in the front office as well as our housekeeping staff. We strive hard to keep our guest well informed and enjoy meeting everyone, Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

After reading other reviews, I felt that Murphy's Resort was as promised. It is an aging facility that has been recently updated. New paint, carpeting, tvs, etc... are all noticeable. We were in a room with 2 doubles and just the 2 of us and had plenty of room. Had there been 4, we'd have been a bit cramped. We did not go to the continental breakfast - too many great breakfast places in the area. Try NotchTop and Mountain Home Café.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shwrigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing Murphy's Resort. Yes, you noticed, we have made many wonderful changes, including new TV's, beds, furniture etc. I'm sorry I did not know you were interested in a more spacious room than our standard 2 queen, which is comparable to most. I would have recommended one of our 2 room suites or our 2 room king/kitchenette with fireplace and Jacuzzi.
Hope you get the chance to visit this summer or, if you are on a day trip to Estes Park, stop in, I would be happy to show you one of these rooms for a future stay.
Thank you for your input, means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our visit was just amazing! My husband has taken me here yet again for another visit and WOW have the new management just made this place over and have redone everything and it just blew me away and I couldn't even believe my eyes. We will now be returning this summer with our 6 children! We can not wait to get back out there! Bruce has talked about all these trails and hikes and Loretta knows all these little places we have to go and take our children!! Clean and up to date rooms, beautiful view, kind and helpful staff, great prices and perfect location. Nice little nook for breakfast. I can not wait to get back to Murphy's Resort!! Thanks for another awesome stay!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akdmjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We appreciate your business, thank you. Our family rooms are great for large family's. We hope to keep adding more outside activities for family's to enjoy. Bruce & I keep trying to escape to learn more trails. There are so, so many to experience. We look forward to seeing you this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We booked this hotel based uopn the Trip Advisor reviews that praised this place like crazy. It wasn't bad, but I'd like to share a few negatives. The continental breakfast leaves much to be desired. I am pretty fugal and not a picky eater. I always take advantage of continental breakfasts to save money. In the case of this place, we ate it for the first morning and then chose to eat out the other two mornings. The coffee was terrible and the creamers were spoiled. One of them I opened was solidified and greenish brown. Nasty. That really made me question the freshness of the other food. There are no hot items offered other than instant oatmeal.

Secondly, in the middle of our second day at around 1pm, housekeeping knocked on our door. We told them to please come back later. About 20 mins later there was a lound banging on our door. My husband answered and asked if they could come back later and the woman said "no, we can't." It was the front desk lady and her husband. She asked what name we were registered under and treated us like we were criminals. They said they would go check their records.

Needless to say, I called the front desk (with my cell...no phones in rooms) and she said they had their records wrong and she now saw we were booked for another night. She gave a half-hearted sorry and that was it. It was really un-relaxing and annoying to be disturbed like that. We have three kids and were trying to have a relaxing getaway.

After my husband complained further about the incident, she did give us 20% off our rate for that night and a more heart-felt apology. So, I give them credit for that. But, my husband wanted to leave that moment and find another hotel that night. He was really upset about it and said he would never return.

On a positive note, the rooms are clean and we enjoyed the free DVD rentals.

btw-for a three night stay, they never cleaned our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frugalfrieda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank You for your feedback. I wanted to let you know that we really care about our customers and we always want to provide top service for them. Loretta and Bruce do a awesome job and I am really lucky to have such caring managers however in your case we had a hiccup with our computer which created confusion for our staff.
Regarding our breakfast we provide cereal ,bagels ,toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, danish rolls, fresh fruit, oatmeal, hot chocolate , tea ,milk and top of line coffee provided to us by Shamrock Foods. We are not a restaurant and the state does not allow us to serve a Hot Breakfast . Regarding the cream containers we look for expiration dates and throw them away if expired . Sorry for the confusion and I hope you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

As they did when my family has stayed at Murphy's River Lodge, Bruce, Loretta, and other staff made our stay at Murphy's Resort very nice. They are a great team that take care of guests with a smile and positive vibe unmatched. The value at both the Resort and River Lodge are good considering the proximity to town. The "Resort" is nice as it has a huge indoor hot tub, a great view of the lake, and is in walking distance to a descent Mexican Restaurant and a liquor store. The "Lodge" is nice as it is in walking distance to the main street in Estes and has both the indoor pool and hot tub. Thanks again for being our go-to place to stay in Estes.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Richard, You're right! We are very close to town, the walking trial is right outside our entrance leading to both; Lake Estes or the river walk, fantastic in the summertime as well as winter. My desire is that you come back and visit us when the outdoor pool is open, it is huge and the mountains views around it are spectacular. Thanks again for staying with us, our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a beautiful room overlooking lake estes, and the room was decorated with a musical theme based on Jimi Hendrix. The service at the front desk was amazing as Melissa was available during the entire time for great advise on what to do in Estes from recommending great hikes in the National Park to great hole in the wall restaurants for a romantic evening. The rooms were always top notch and very clean. I would highly recommend staying here as I will be staying with them again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over Lake Estes, or various themed rooms depending upon your mood or the purpose of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_B_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate it. Our goal is guest satisfaction, we are also happy you chose Murphy's for your stay and hope to see you return. I'm very proud of our front desk staff, we strive to keep up on Estes Park happenings to better serve you. Come see us when you return to Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
781 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,032 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,404 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Property: Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Address: 1650 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing