We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay~!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay~!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Murphy's was a fantastic place to stay. The only reason I am not rating it as excellent is because it was under renovation....but not our room. Our room was fantastic! Loved it! A lot of the resort was being renovated though and the hot tub didn't work...but it didn't stop me from sitting in it. It was clean and it was warm...it just didn't bubble. I was bummed by the outdoor pool...BUT...even on the cold days my kids swam in it because it is heated very nicely, so it ended up being great! The breakfast wasn't as good as even the Comfort Inns that I have stayed in, but it was breakfast and what was there was good. I just had to deal with my waffle loving son being upset that there were no waffles. I can deal with him though! All in all, it was a fantastic stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    139
    39
    11
    2
See reviews for
314
214
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As a retired Airline Pilot, I've stayed at numerous of 4 & 5 Star Hotels over the past 35 years. My family and I stayed over night at Murphy's Resort while visiting Estes Park. I found all the amenities I've been used to, especially a nice size room and very comfortable bed. For the money, it was great value and we really enjoyed the breakfast and friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

After traveling for nearly two weeks from Estes Park to Grand Lake to Steamboat Springs, Colorado Springs, and Denver, we ended up back in Estes Park on the busiest weekend of the season. We missed the last room at Murphy's River Lodge and were referred to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park. This is an old time motel that is being renovated. Everyone was genuinely interested in helping us have a great stay. The beds were new and comfy, bathroom small but renovated and when we discovered the television didn't work (lightening strike earlier in week) at 9:15 pm, we had a brand new one installed by 9:30pm. Great breakfast. Terrific view. We will return if we get back to Colorado. Give them a few more months and it will all be renovated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenncornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Drove up and to my surprise we were at an old motel. After seeing the reviews, pictures & 'resort' I was so excited about booking this.

I had the idea that it was new, only to realize it was new to the owners but an old Econolodge Motel (the receptionist informed me of this after I told her I thought it was a new property). Honestly the room was gross...over 20 flies, some alive and others dead on the window sills and smashed on the windows themselves. Room smelled of heavy fragrant deodorizer. A very unpleasant smell of powder/rose airfreshner loaded into every inch of the room,hot tub jets in the distant pool area - didn't work. My sin went in and it was cloudy he found dirty, muddy pool towels in it and got out.

Rundown old econolodge. So disappointed. If they would at least say motel the expectations would be met. No phones in the room, husband had to clean the dead flies off the window as well as the guts that were smeared on the glass so we could look at the view. Ugh! over priced and over rated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MosaicCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We always hate to have a unhappy guest and we will always try our best for people to have a awesome time at Murphy's Resort. You stated that you were surprised that we were not a new Hotel and that you had looked at pictures of us online. Our web site has many pictures of our exterior and interior that we are proud of. Our buildings were a former Best Western then a former Econolodge. We love our 6 acres of land with many of our rooms having beautiful views of Lake Estes and incredible mountain views. We purchased the property in May of 2013 then started our massive remodeling which consisted of new roofs on every building, new exterior paint for each building , new landscaping , new picnic tables,refurbished pool and hot tub, remodeled lobby and community room. Then we purchased all new mattresses,linens,flat screen televisions,dvd players.and lots of new furniture.
Your complaint about flies is one that we take seriously that is why all of our rooms have new s window screens. However if a guest leaves the door open while unloading their car and lets in flies that is their fault. If we have knowledge of flies in a room our staff always removes them immediately or if you just let the front desk know we would have been happy to remove them.
We as owners as well as our managers ,staff and contractors have put our heart and soul into this property to return it to its former glory. FYI - the definition of resort is a place frequented by people for relaxation or recreation. With 6 acres of land, 9 gas grills ,outdoor heated pool and 12 person hot tub, sauna, workout room,childrens playground, numerous picnic tables and chairs, free dvd rentals,free wifi, free outdoors games like baggo and ladder ball , spectacular mountain and lake views that qualifies us as a resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel has been in Estes Park for at least 50 years and you can tell that the new owners really care about this property. Although there are alot of improvements that need to be made, you can tell which ones have been made and the little touches that really make the hotel nice. The beds and lines are all new and you can tell that they have remodeled the breakfast room. This hotel is right up the hill from Lake Estes. I will definitely being going back here next year, I'm sure that there will be many more updates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kraetracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at this motel and wish we were spending even more! The pool and hot tub are great and big enough to really swim in or soak in to relax. Our room was very large and the beds are comfortable. The internet connection was the fastest of our whole vacation. We had a filling breakfast before leaving and if we get back to this area againthis is our place.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tickletoes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very comfortable , and affordable .You will the hot tub and sauna .They have done alot of improvements. Updating the style . It is our new place to stay in Estes Park.The staff is very friendly and helpful,if you need something extra like pillows or coffee in the room no problem.The free breakfast was very good.We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjscrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,096 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Property: Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Address: 1650 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing