We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best place for the money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best place for the money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at this motel and wish we were spending even more! The pool and hot tub are great and big enough to really swim in or soak in to relax. Our room was very large and the beds are comfortable. The internet connection was the fastest of our whole vacation. We had a filling breakfast before leaving and if we get back to this area againthis is our place.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tickletoes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    146
    41
    12
    2
See reviews for
334
226
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very comfortable , and affordable .You will the hot tub and sauna .They have done alot of improvements. Updating the style . It is our new place to stay in Estes Park.The staff is very friendly and helpful,if you need something extra like pillows or coffee in the room no problem.The free breakfast was very good.We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjscrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Murphy's Resort is within walking distance of the lake, good restaurants, and shopping. I followed the lake trail downtown one morning - it's a long, but easy, walk and I avoided traffic and parking. The view from my room was great - a lake view. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the bed was super comfy.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view - you'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We originally booked in for one night but following a wonderful night's sleep we extended our stay to a week. The resort is undergoing significant improvements since the new owners took over in May of this year and they are not sparing any expense when it comes to the finishes and furnishings. The resort has wonderful views over the lake and surrounding mountains and the rooms are very large and well-equipped with fridge, microwave, Flat screen TV and DVD player, safe and coffee machine. The heated outdoor swimming pool and huge indoor hot tub are sparkling and while we were there were receiving attention in the form of new carpet (AstroTurf). The pool area has lots of chairs, tables and umbrellas and pool towels are provided. There is a great play area for kids and 10 propane grills for your use and the rooms are all set well back from the road so there is no road noise. The breakfast was a substantial continental-style; certainly more choice than most other motels offer. All the staff, without exception, were very friendly and helpful and wanted to know if anything could be improved or done to make your stay any better. In the lobby there are hundreds of DVD's you can borrow. The location is less than a mile from the visitors centre but one of the free shuttle lines provided by Estes Park stops right outside the resort every 30 minutes. There is also a very good riding stables opposite (Sombrero), which offers trail rides from one hour to overnight (the 2 hour ride plus steak dinner was very good). We would highly recommend this resort to anybody wanting to stay in the Estes Park area and some of the rooms are connected internally to accommodate larger families or groups.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with a "3" have uninterrupted lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisx2Leeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We choose to stay here after reading all of these wonderful reviews and boy were we wrong. The first room we checked into had not been cleaned so back o the front desk to learn they had new cleaning staff. The 2nd room we were given was clean for the most part mins the trash can full of rotten food which made the room stink. We left the trash out by the room to help remove the odor. The door didn't shut all the way which allowed bugs to enter as thy pleased. Lastly, the air conditioner was freezing up during the night which sounded as if someone was entering the room. After little to no sleep we decided to leave in the early morning but to our surprise the office didn't open til 8am. Needless to say we were not pleased with our stay and not sure where everyone else stayed but we did not have the same experience as the other reviewers a all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I am sorry that you had a bad experience and your feedback is being used to correct the problem of your rooms trash not being emptied. Your air conditioner was replaced as soon as we knew their was a problem. Regarding your early checkout - since you pay when you check in all you have to do when leaving is either leave your key in the room or leave in the drop box by the front office. I really hope you come back again and give us a chance to show you that we have corrected those 2 problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Murphy's Resort offered a very nice stay with lots of space, views, and a great location next to the boat dock on the Lake. Walking distance to Lake Estes and close enough to town to enjoy all that Estes Park has to offer. We woke up to eight beautiful Elk grazing on the property for a perfect photo opportunity! The staff at Murphy's are very friendly and helpful and responsive. They have done a tremendous job renovating this property and creating quality rooms with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was included and a great start to our day in the area. Clean and bright, this place is a gem and perfect family gatherings! Lots of space, complementary grilling and picnic area, large pool, spa, jucuzzi and shower. We can't wait to see when they are done! The improvements are amazing and the service is excellent!

Room Tip: Wake up early and peak out your window to catch the Elk hanging out on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CabinSqueeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

All new rooms that can connect if wished. Spotlessly clean with all new fixtures, beds, bedding, pillows, TV and WIFI. View out over meadow to lake and mountains is beautiful. Staff helpful. The barbecue area, pool area and children's play area make this a very family friendly place. Prior requests can accommodate pets in some units. Friendly congenial people.We recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Lakeview best, roadside least
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rejuvenator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#6 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Property: Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Address: 1650 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing